أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

استطلاع رأي جديد يبيّن أنّ الإمارات العربية المتحدة منقسمة في الخاص بشأن قضايا رئيسية


متاح أيضاً في English

17 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018

تظهر بيانات استطلاع نادر للرأي العام في الإمارات العربية المتحدة أجري في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني أنّ الإماراتيين منقسمين أكثر مما يُفترض في كثير من الأحيان بشأن عدد من القضايا الموضوعية، سواء كانت خارجية أم محلية. وتشمل هذه القضايا حقوق المرأة والتعاون مع إسرائيل وحتى علاقات الإمارات العربية المتحدة الوثيقة مع الولايات المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من أنّ هذه النتائج لا توحي بسخط شعبي واسع، فهي تمثّل اختلافاً في الآراء يبيّن أنه ينبغي على الحكومة التعامل مع هذه التقاطعات في المواقف الشعبية.

تصوّر الإمارات العربية المتحدة نفسها في ما يتعلق بالمسائل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الداخلية على أنها واحة من التسامح والحداثة، إلا أنّ حوالى نصف المواطنين غير موافق على الكثير من الإصلاحات التي تقوم عليها سمعة البلاد هذه. على سبيل المثال، قال 47٪ إنّ حكومتهم تقوم "بأكثر من اللازم" من أجل "تعزيز الفرص والمساواة للمرأة"، كما قال 52٪ إنّ السلطات الإماراتية تتدخل بشكل كبير في الشؤون الاقتصادية المحلية ضمن محاولتها الرامية إلى "مشاركة أعباء الضرائب وغيرها من الالتزامات تجاه الحكومة بطريقة عادلة".

وعلى نحو أكثر دلالةً، لا يوافق ثلثا المستطلعين على "ضرورة أن نستمع إلى من يحاولون منّا تفسير الإسلام في اتجاه أكثر اعتدالاً وتسامحاً وحداثة". ووحدها نسبة 28% - وهي نسبة منخفضة جداً بحسب المعايير الإقليمية - تشعر فعلاً بأنه "في الوقت الحالي، الإصلاح الاقتصادي والسياسي الداخلي مهمّ لبلدنا أكثر من أي قضية تتعلق بالسياسة الخارجية". وبشكل عام، يميل الإماراتيون إلى أن يكونوا تقليديين اجتماعياً ومحافظين سياسياً، على الرغم من بهجة وبريق وسط مدينة أبو ظبي أو دبي.

أداء الحكومة تجاه السياسات المحلية الأخرى أفضل بحسب المستطلعين، إذ يعتبر ثلثهم فحسب أنّ جهود الإمارات العربية المتحدة غير كافية في مجال "الحدّ من مستوى الفساد في حياتنا الاقتصادية والسياسية". وتعتقد نفس النسبة المنخفضة نسبياً أن حكومتهم لا تهتم بما يكفي "بحماية حريات المواطنين الأفراد وخصوصيتهم". وبالمقارنة، هذه النسب أعلى بكثير في المملكة العربية السعودية المجاورة، وبخاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالفساد.

ولكن تبقى إشكالية محتملة تتمثل في استمرار بعض التعاطف الشعبي غير المعلن مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، التي تصنّفها الحكومة الإماراتية كمنظمة "إرهابية"، إذ لا يزال موقف ثلث المواطنين السنّة (الذين يشكّلون 90٪ من مجموع السكان) "إيجابياً إلى حدّ ما" تجاه الإخوان المسلمين. لم تتبدّل هذه النسبة في السنوات الثلاث الماضية على الرغم من حملة رسمية عنيفة وثقيلة الوطأة أحياناً ضد الجماعة. وعلى الرغم من أنّ مستوى الدعم السلبي للإخوان المسلمين لا يبدو وكأنه يشكّل تهديداً عاجلاً، إلا أنه يساعد في تفسير يقظة الحكومة ضده – وردّ الفعل العنيف المحتمل الذي قد يخلقه بين أقلية من الجمهور إذا سمحت الظروف الأخرى بذلك.

تتمثّل إحدى القضايا البارزة مؤخراً في السياسة الخارجية في تعاون الإمارات العربية المتحدة المتزايد وغير الرسمي مع إسرائيل – والذي أشير إليه في هذا الاستطلاع من خلال مثال عزف النشيد الوطني لإسرائيل في مكان عام عندما فاز فريق إسرائيلي زائر بمنافسة دولية للجودو على الأراضي الإماراتية. ولكن لم يحبّذ معظم المستطلعين ذلك، إذ وحدها نسبة 20% من المستطلعين – وهي نسبة مماثلة للنسب المحققة في المجتمعات العربية الأخرى التي أجريت فيها استطلاعات رأي مؤخراً - تريد "العمل مع إسرائيل في قضايا أخرى مثل التكنولوجيا ومكافحة الإرهاب واحتواء إيران"، بينما رأي 38% من المستطلعين إيجابي تجاه حماس التي ترفض السلام مع إسرائيل بشكل كامل.

ولكن في حال جرت محادثات سلام بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين في يوم من الأيام، ترغب الغالبية العظمى من المواطنين الإماراتيين (72%) في أن "تلعب حكومتهم دوراً جديداً ... وأن تمنح الطرفيْن محفّزات لاعتماد مواقف أكثر اعتدالاً" – وهذه نسبة مشابهة للنسب في البلدان العربية الأخرى التي جرت فيها استطلاعات رأي في السنوات الثلاث الماضية. ويمنح ذلك بعض الأمل لمفهوم إدارة ترامب القاضي بحشد الدعم العربي الخارجي لعملية صنع السلام الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية. ولكن ليست هذه السياسة الأمريكية الأكثر أولوية بالنسبة إلى الإماراتيين، إذ وحدها نسبة 23% قد اختارت "الدفع بقوة أكبر باتجاه حلّ الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي" كخيارهم الأبرز من قائمة لأهداف الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، بينما ركّز المستطلعون الآخرون على اليمن أو إيران أو مكافحة الإرهاب.

وعلى نطاق أوسع بشأن العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة، اعتبر نصف المستطلعين أنّ هذه العلاقات مهمة لبلادهم – بما في ذلك نسبة 25% التي اعتبرتها "مهمة جداً"، إلا أنّ وحدها نسبة 12٪ تنظر إلى الرئيس ترامب بشكل إيجابي. هذه الأرقام نموذجية إلى حدّ ما بالمقارنة مع نتائج استطلاعات رأي عربية أخرى أجريت مؤخراً، مما يشير إلى أنّ هذه الجماهير قادرة على التفريق بين الدول وقادتها.

وفي ما يتعلّق بواحدة من أهم قضايا السياسة الخارجية الحاسمة بالنسبة إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة اليوم، ألا وهي إيران وحلفائها الإقليميين، فقد دعم المستطلعون الموقف الرسمي بقوة – مع استثناء ثانوي محدّد أدناه. وحدها نسبة 13% من الإماراتيين قد اعتبرت أنّ العلاقات الجيدة مع إيران مهمة، على الرغم من العلاقات التجارية الواسعة بين البلدين في السابق. وقالت نسبة أقل حتى (6 إلى 8%) إنها تتمتع بنظرة إيجابية إلى حزب الله - أو الحوثيين في اليمن والذين تشن عليهم دولة الإمارات في الوقت الراهن حرباً واسعة النطاق. ومع ذلك، كان للأقلية الشيعية الصغيرة من المواطنين الإماراتيين وجهات نظر مختلفة إلى حد كبير، إذ أعرب ما يصل إلى نصف المستطلعين عن رضاهم عن هذه الأطراف الثلاثة المترابطة.

تنبثق هذه النتائج عن استطلاع رأي تجاري ضمن مقابلات شخصية أجرته شركة مهنية إقليمية عالية الخبرة وموثوقة ضمن عينة وطنية تمثيلية من ألف مواطن إماراتي. وقد تبع أخذ العينات طريقة الاحتمالية الجغرافية القياسية. ويمثّل هامش الخطأ الإحصائي نسبة 3% تقريباً كزيادة أو نقصان. تتوفّر التفاصيل المنهجية الكاملة عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

UAE Public Privately Split on Key Issues, New Poll Reveals


Also available in العربية

December 17, 2018

Data from a rare public opinion poll conducted in the United Arab Emirates in November shows its citizens more divided than often assumed on a number of topical issues, both foreign and domestic. These issues include women’s rights, cooperation with Israel, and even the UAE’s close ties with the United States. While nothing in these findings suggests mass popular discontent, they do help quantify the balancing act that the government must perform to deal with these crosscurrents in popular attitudes.

On internal social and economic issues, the UAE portrays itself as an oasis of tolerance and modernity—but around half the public disapproves of much of the reforms underpinning this reputation. For example, 47 percent say their government is doing “too much” in “promoting opportunity and equality for women.” 52 percent say UAE authorities intervene too heavily in domestic economic affairs in their attempt to “share the burdens of taxes and other obligations to the government in a fair manner.”

 

 Even more tellingly, two-thirds disagree that “we should listen to those among us who are trying to interpret Islam in a more moderate, tolerant, and modern direction.” And just 28 percent, very low by regional standards, feel strongly that “right now, internal economic and political reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue.” Overall, then, Emiratis tend to be socially traditional and conservative politically, despite the glamour and glitz of downtown Abu Dhabi or Dubai.

Regarding other domestic policies, the government fares better in the eyes of respondents. Only one-third of the public considers UAE efforts inadequate at “reducing the level of corruption in our economic and political life.” The same relatively low proportion thinks their government is insufficiently concerned with “protecting the freedoms and privacy of individual citizens.” By comparison, these numbers are considerably higher in neighboring Saudi Arabia, especially when it comes to corruption.

A potential sore spot, though, is the persistence of some underground popular sympathy for the Muslim Brotherhood, which the UAE government labels a ‘terrorist’ organization. Fully one-third of the country’s Sunni citizens (90 percent of the total population) continue to have at least a “somewhat positive” attitude toward the Brotherhood. That number has not budged in the past three years, despite a vociferous and at times heavy-handed official campaign against the group. While this level of passive support for the Brotherhood does not appear to pose an urgent threat, it does help explain the government’s vigilance against the organization—and the potential backlash that these policies could conceivably create among a minority of the public, if other conditions allowed.

In foreign policy, one recent high-profile issue is the UAE’s increasing informal cooperation with Israel—symbolized during the period when this poll was conducted by the playing of Israel’s national anthem in public, when a visiting Israeli team won an international judo competition on UAE soil. But most of the country’s public is not impressed: just one-fifth, about the same as in other Arab societies recently surveyed, want to “work with Israel on other issues like technology, counter-terrorism, and containing Iran.” About twice as many, 38 percent, have a favorable opinion of Hamas, which rejects peace with Israel altogether.

But if there are peace talks between Israelis and Palestinians some day, the solid majority of UAE citizens (72 percent), as in the other Arab countries polled in the past three years, would like their government to “play a new role… offering both sides incentives to take more moderate positions.” This offers some hope for the Trump administration’s concept of mobilizing outside Arab support for Israeli-Palestinian peacemaking. However, this is not the highest U.S. policy priority for the Emirati public. A mere 23 percent pick “push harder to resolve the Palestinian-Israeli conflict” as their top choice from a list of U.S. objectives in the region, with others focused more on Yemen, Iran, or counterterrorism.

More broadly on relations with the United States, half of Emiratis see those ties as important for their country—including one-quarter who call them “very important.” Nevertheless, just 12 percent have a positive view of President Trump. These figures are fairly typical of other recent Arab survey findings, suggesting that these publics are quite capable of differentiating between countries and their leaders.

On one final crucial foreign policy question for the UAE today, that of Iran and its regional allies, the public is solidly supportive the official line—with the minor exception noted below. Only 13 percent of Emiratis now consider good ties with Iran important, notwithstanding their formerly extensive business connections. Even fewer (6-8 percent) have a positive view of Hezbollah—or of the Houthis in Yemen, against whom the UAE is currently waging a full-scale war. Still, the small Shiite minority of UAE citizens have substantially different views, with up to half privately voicing approval for all three of these coreligionist parties.

These findings are from a personal-interview commercial survey conducted by a highly experienced and reliable regional professional firm from among a representative national sample of 1,000 UAE citizens.  Sampling followed the standard geographic probability method. The statistical margin of error is approximately plus or minus three percentage points. Full methodological details are available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed