أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الهجرة غير الشرعية للشباب الجزائري معضلة تؤرق الجزائريين


متاح أيضاً في English

14 آذار/مارس 2019

مع إعلان الرئيس الجزائري المنتهية ولايته عبد العزيز بوتفليقة (82 عاما) الترشح لولاية رئاسية خامسة، تعاظمت مخاوف الجزائريين بشكل متزايد على مستقبل بلادهم، وينطبق هذا بشكل كبير على فئة الشباب الذي ترجم تلك المخاوف إلى احتجاجات - انتشرت كالنار في الهشيم - عبر عدة مدن جزائرية رفضا لترشح الرئيس الذي يعاني من أوضاع صحية صعبة منعته من مخاطبة شعبه منذ عام 2014. وتبرر الأحزاب الداعمة لبوتفليقة موقفها بترشيح الرئيس المريض بضرورة استكمال مسيرة التنمية التي جسدها من خلال برنامجه الاقتصادي الذي انطلق مع عهدته الأولى في أبريل/نيسان.

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن هذه الرؤية لم تقنع قطاعات عريضة من الجزائريين وخاصة الشباب منهم الذين يعانون من أوضاع اقتصادية صعبة للغاية بسبب تداعيات تآكل احتياطي البلاد من العملة الصعبة، والذي تراجع من نحو 180 مليار دولار عام 2014 إلى أقل من 90 مليار دولار حاليا، إلى جانب انهيار قيمة العملة المحلية والتي وصلت إلى مستويات متدنية غير مسبوقة أمام العملات الأجنبية، ما تسبب في ارتفاع معدل التضخم من 2.92 في المائة في عام 2014 إلى 5.59 في المائة في عام 2017، اضف إلى ذلك التراجع الشديد للقوة الشرائية نتيجة لارتفاع الأسعار. وفى هذا الصدد، يقول تقرير الرابطة الجزائرية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان وهي منظمة غير حكومية أن فشل السياسات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية التي اعتمدت في الجزائر، وانتشار الفساد مع احتكار الثروة في يد فئة لا تتجاوز 10% من الأشخاص، جعلت نسبة البطالة تتجاوز 35% بين أوساط الشباب ما يدفعهم للهجرة على نطاق واسع.

منذ عام 2009، شددت الجزائر قوانين محاربة الهجرة غير الشرعية، فقد أقرت تجريم من يحاول الهجرة بالسجن لفترة تزيد عن ستة أشهر، وتجريم عناصر شبكات الهجرة غير الشرعية بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات. ومع ذلك، لا يزال الوضع الاقتصادي المتدهور في الجزائر يدفع الشباب إلى الفرار نحو أوروبا على متن "قوارب الموت"، وهي الظاهرة التي يطلق عليها الجزائريون مصطلح "الحراقة". ومن المؤشرات الخطيرة في ظاهرة "الحراقة" بين أوساط الجزائريين هي أنها لم تقتصر فقط على الشباب اليائس بل باتت وسيلة حتى للنساء والأطفال وكبار السن للهروب إلى أوروبا بحثا عن فرص أفضل للحياة. ورغم تغني السلطة بسجل حافل من الإنجازات للحكومات المتعاقبة منذ مجيء الرئيس بوتفليقة وذلك على مستوى السكن، وتوفير فرص الشغل وإنعاش الاقتصاد المحلي، إلا أن المعارضة ووسائل الإعلام الغير حكومية تقول أن ظاهرة الحراقة وحدها تعصف بكل مزاعم السلطة في نجاح الإصلاحات الاقتصادية الكبرى.

وردا على تفشى ظاهرة "الحراقة"، عقدت وزارة الداخلية في يناير الماضي لقاء موسعا دعت إليه خبراء لتسليط الضوء على الظاهرة، والغريب في الأمر أن اللقاء حضرته شخصيات رسمية وحكومية وغاب عنه الشباب المعني بالظاهرة بشكل مباشر. وتوصل المجتمعون إلى اتهام ورصد 51 صفحة في مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي تشجع حسب الوزير نور الدين بدوي الشباب الجزائري على ركوب قوارب الموت باتجاه أوروبا، وذلك عوضا عن تقديم حلول عملية وملموسة للتخفيف من وطأة المشكلة. وكشف الوزير أنه تم تقديم 344 شخصا إلى العدالة وسجن 24 شخصا، مع فتح تحقيق في 200 قضية مشابهة. وأضاف أن السلطات تبحث عن 96 حالة "حراقة" مفقودين، مؤكدا انتشال 119 جثة من البحر، وتسجيل أكثر من 4 آلاف وفاة.

ومن ناحية أخرى، تعمل الحكومة الجزائرية على استخدام المساجد لتوعية الشباب من مخاطر الهجرة غير الشرعية، حيث دعا وزير الشؤون الدينية والأوقاف، محمد عيسى، مؤخراً، أئمة المساجد عبر الجزائر إلى تخصيص فقرات من خطبة الجمعة للتوعية بخطورة الظاهرة وتقديم النصيحة للشباب حتى "لا ينقادوا لهذا الإغراء الآثم".

وعلى الرغم من أن السواحل الجزائرية الممتدة على مسافة 998 كلم مراقبة بعدد كبير من الزوارق والمروحيات التابعة للجيش إلا أن كل الجهود فشلت في احتواء الظاهرة. فوفقا للإحصائيات الصادرة عن الموقع الرسمي لقيادة حرس السواحل التابعة للقوات البحرية، فإن قوات حرس الشواطئ للقوات البحرية سجلت إحباط محاولات هجرة غير شرعية لـ 3983 مهاجرا غير شرعي فقط خلال عام 2018، من بينهم (287) مرأة بينهم (1126) قاصر. وعلى النقيض، تؤكد الرابطة بأن إحصائيات حرس السواحل التابعة للقوات البحرية الجزائرية لا تعكس العدد الحقيقي، حيث أن العدد الحقيقي يفوق سنويا 17500 شخص ممن نجحوا في الهجرة ووصلوا إلى الشواطئ الإسبانية والإيطالية ثم توزعوا منها نحو مختلف الدول الأوروبية.

لا شك أن مكافحة هذه الظاهرة تتطلب تقديم حزمة جديدة من القوانين الصارمة التي تستهدف المهربين الذين يجنون أرباح تقدر بنحو سبع مليارات دولار سنويا، حيث تكلف تذكرة الهجرة غير الشرعية للفرد ما بين ألف إلى 10 آلاف دولار أميركي، فالاتجار بالبشر يحقق مكسبا ماليا يضاهي الاتجار بالمخدرات.

ومع ذلك، فان مواجهة الظاهرة لا يكون إلا بالإسراع في وضع مقاربة شاملة لاحتوائها. ففي ضوء الإحباط واليأس اللذين ولدتهما القيادة السياسية والاقتصادية للجزائر، والتي تتألف في معظمها من الجيل الجزائري القديم "الثوري" الذي شهد حرب الجزائر من اجل الاستقلال، فانه من غير المحتمل أن يتم حل المشكلة إلا من خلال وضع آليات فعالة لمباشرة إصلاح اقتصادي واجتماعي عميق ينهي حالة تهميش الشباب. ومن شأن هذا الإصلاح أن يمكّن الشباب الجزائري، الذين يشكلون حوالي 75 في المائة من السكان، من تقلد المناصب السياسية العليا، كما سيشجعهم على الانخراط بشكل أكبر في العملية السياسية، وهو ما يدعم الشفافية.

الإصلاح السياسي في حال تحقيقه سيدفع نحو تحسين الأوضاع الاقتصادية والاجتماعية للشباب الجزائري. فمثلا، وفى ضوء أزمة الإسكان الطويلة في الجزائر، يجب على الحكومة أن تعمل على توسيع جهودها لزيادة فرص الشباب في الحصول على مساكن عامة ميسورة التكلفة بهدف مساعدة فئة الشباب العزاب والغير متزوجين والذين لا يستطيعون - بموجب القانون الحالي - الاستفادة من مختلف برامج الإسكان. وفي هذا السياق يجب مراجعة آليات التشغيل ومنح القروض البنكية للشباب لإنشاء مؤسسات اقتصادية صغيرة وناشئة، مع مراجعة قانون الصفقات العمومية من خلال إجبار مختلف المؤسسات الحكومية على منح نسبة معينة من إنجاز مختلف المشاريع للمؤسسات الاقتصادية الشبابية، مع توفير فرص الشغل في المناطق الداخلية والمعزولة، ودعم برامج التكوين.

وفي حين أنه من الواضح أن النخب الجزائرية تعمل بالفعل على إجراء بعض التغييرات، وذلك في ضوء الاحتجاجات المستمرة، فإن الإصلاح الحقيقي يجب يأخذ في الحسبان تلك المخاوف ويضع سياسات تعالج مشاكل الشباب إلى جانب فرض عقوبات صارمة على المتاجرين بالبشر. خلاف ذلك، من المرجح أن تستمر ظاهرة "الحراقة" في الجزائر.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Illegal Migration of Algerian Youths: A Haunting Problem


Also available in العربية

March 14, 2019

With eighty-two-year-old president Abdelaziz Bouteflika’s announcement and subsequent retraction of the claim that he will run for a fifth term, Algerians have become increasingly concerned about the future of their country. This is especially true among the country’s youths, who have translated these fears into protest movements across several Algerian cities, rejecting a fifth term for a president who suffers from serious health conditions that have prevented him from addressing the people since 2014. The parties supporting Bouteflika have generally justified another term for the ailing president by emphasizing the need to finish the “development process,” an integral component of the economic plan that Bouteflika launched when he first took office in April 1999.

Yet this vision does not seem to have convinced wide swaths of Algerian society—particularly youths, many of whom are struggling with extremely difficult economic circumstances caused by the erosion of the country’s hard currency reserves, which have diminished from nearly $180 billion in 2014 to less than $90 billion today. Furthermore, the collapse of the value of local currency against foreign currency has reached unprecedented lows, leading to levels of inflation rising from an average of 2.92 percent in 2014 to 5.59 percent in 2017. Algerians also struggle with an extreme erosion of purchasing power as a result of rising prices. In a recently published report by the Algerian League for the Defense of Human Rights, the social, political, and economic policies that Algeria has relied upon have failed. According to the NGO, endemic corruption, monopolization of wealth in the hands of the top 10 percent of society, and the high rate of youth unemployment—which currently stands at 35 percent—are all driving factors for large-scale immigration from the country.

Since 2009, the Algerian government has attempted to prevent illegal emigration from its borders by introducing punitive measures against those who try to leave. Currently, any Algerian seeking to migrate to another country without the required paperwork could face up to six months in prison, while participation in human trafficking networks carries a prison sentence of up to five years. Nevertheless, Algeria’s deteriorating economic situation continues to push youths to flee toward Europe on the “boats of death” in a phenomenon that Algerians call the “harga.” In recent months, the illegal emigration of Algerian youths to Europe has come to the forefront once more. This phenomenon is no longer limited to desperate young men; it has also become a way for women, children, and the elderly to flee to Europe to look for a better life. And although the authorities boast of a long record of successive economic accomplishments since President Bouteflika came to power—such as creating housing, offering job opportunities, and reviving the local economy—the opposition and nonstate media argue that the harga phenomenon alone undermines the state’s claims about the success of its large-scale economic reforms.

In response to this mounting problem, the Interior Ministry held an extended meeting in January and invited experts to shed light on the phenomenon. Ironically, while public officials and governmental figures did attend the meeting, youths who suffer directly from this situation were not in attendance. And instead of presenting practical and tangible solutions to reduce the problem, the participants accused and tracked fifty-one social media websites that then-interior minister Noureddine Bedoui—now appointed to the position of prime minister in the recent cabinet reshuffle—claimed encourage Algerian youths to take the “death boats” to Europe. Bedoui also presented the information that 344 persons had been turned in to the authorities, of whom 24 were imprisoned, while 200 others had investigations opened in similar cases. He added that the authorities were still looking for 96 cases of missing “harragas” while confirming that 119 bodies had been found in the sea, with more than 4,000 total deaths recorded.

Meanwhile, the government is attempting to use mosques to raise youth awareness about the dangers of illegal migration. Minister of Religious Affairs and Awqaf Mohamed Aissa recently called upon mosques throughout Algeria to devote a portion of the Friday sermon to raising awareness about these dangers and to offer advice to youths so that “they do not fall into this sinful temptation.”

Although the 998 kilometers of the Algerian coast are patrolled by a large number of boats and military helicopters, all efforts to contain the problem have failed so far. According to the statistics published by the official website of the Navy Coast Guard, authorities thwarted 3,983 illegal migration attempts in 2018 alone—including 287 by women and 1,126 by minors. Nonetheless, the Algerian League claimed that these official statistics did not reflect the real figures, which exceed 17,500 persons annually. At least some of those migrants succeed in reaching the Spanish and Italian coast, then spreading out toward other European countries.

There is no doubt that in order to fight this phenomenon, it is necessary to introduce stringent laws targeting smugglers, who make a total of nearly $7 billion per year. For these smugglers, who charge between $1,000 and $10,000 per person, human trafficking is just as profitable as drug trafficking.

However, effectively tackling illegal emigration also requires a more comprehensive approach. In light of the frustration and hopelessness generated by Algeria’s political and economic leadership, which is mostly composed of the older “revolutionary” generation from the war for independence, it is unlikely that the problem will be solved without deep economic and social reforms that will put an end to the marginalization of youths. Such reform must enable Algerian youths, who make up almost 75 percent of the general population, to serve in senior political positions, encourage them to become more involved in the political process, and increase transparency.

Likewise, real political reform must create expanded economic opportunities for Algerian youths. For example, government efforts to increase access to affordable public housing in light of Algeria’s prolonged housing crisis should be expanded to better assist single and unmarried youths, who under the current law cannot benefit from the country’s various housing programs. There must also be a review of the mechanisms for employment and for granting bank loans to youths in order to establish small enterprises and startups, along with a review of the law for government contracts. This law should require different government institutions to award a certain percentage of their projects to youth-owned enterprises. Furthermore, Algerian policymakers must introduce initiatives establishing training programs and targeting the shortage of available jobs in the country’s historically marginalized interior and isolated regions.

While it is clear that Algeria’s elites are already implementing some changes in light of continuing protests, true reform will acknowledge these issues and implement policies that address youth concerns along with punishments for human traffickers. Otherwise, Algeria’s harga phenomenon is likely to continue unabated.

Customize your RSS Feed