أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

من خاشقجي إلى الجبري سؤال رئيسي


متاح أيضاً في English

25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020

دأب مجموعة من المعارضين السعوديين على تناول شخصيتي جمال خاشقجي وسعد الجبري بوصفهما شخصيات مناضلة ومشاريع شهداء، متناسين تاريخ الرجلين في العمل الرسمي داخل المملكة. يكشف هذا الموقف عن بعض نقاط الضعف في خطاب هؤلاء المعارضين والذي يفتقر إلى المنطق الواضح الذي تستند عليه مزاعم مطالباتهم بتغييرات حقيقية في بلادهم.

منذ صعود ولي العهد السعودي الحالي الأمير محمد بن سلمان، واجه هو وإدارته موجة من الانتقادات الشديدة والممنهجة من قبل بعض وسائل الإعلام الدولية. وقد ساهم المعارضون السعوديون في تلك الموجة من الهجوم على حكومة بلادهم عن طريق الظهور في وسائل الإعلام المختلفة كضيوف ومحللين وكتّاب. تصاعدت عدوانية هذه الموجة من الانتقادات الموجهة ضد محمد بن سلمان منذ حادثة اغتيال الصحفي السعودي جمال خاشقجي عام 2018، لتتبعها التطورات الأخيرة للدعوى القضائية المقدمة من قبل ضابط الاستخبارات السعودي السابق سعد الجبري ضد حكومة بلاده. 

شكل اغتيال خاشقجي فرصة للعديد من المعارضين السعوديين لتكثيف ظهورهم في وسائل الإعلام العربية والأمريكية والأوروبية مشيدين بخاشقجي كبطل يشاركهم قضاياهم. وقد رفد هؤلاء المعارضون ظهورهم الإعلامي بالترويج لخاشقجي في حساباتهم على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. فجأة بعد واقعة اغتيال خاشقجي، بدأ بعضهم بالادعاء أنه كان على تواصل معه! وآخرون وصفوا خروجه من السعودية إلى واشنطن على أنه عمل شريف ونضالي، ومازال أكثرهم يلقبونه بالشهيد. وكما هو معلوم في الأدبيات الإسلامية، فإن مفردة "شهيد" صفةٌ تدل على الشخص الذي قدّم حياته من أجل قضية ومبادئ نبيلة. وقد أطلق بعض أولئك المعارضين منصة على إلكترونية تحمل اسمه: أكاديمية جمال خاشقجي للحريات والحقوق. توفر هذه المنصة التعليمية -التي لا تمنح شهادات أكاديمية- تعليمًا افتراضيًا مجانيًا يقوم بتدريس مقرراته عدد من الأكاديميين السعوديين المعارضين يتقدمهم مضاوي الرشيد وعبد الله العودة.

وفي الفترة القريبة الماضية، حصل سعد الجبري على دعم مقارب لخاشقجيمن قبل أولئك المعارضين. الجبري الذي يدعي أنه مستهدف من قبل السلطات السعودية، تقدم برفع دعوى قضائية تُنظر حاليا في محكمة فيدرالية أمريكية. بناء على هذه القصة المدعاة، بدأت بعض وسائل الإعلام في تداول قصص حول أولاد سعد الجبري. وذكرت أنهم مُنعوا من زيارة والدهم، مما دفع العديد من المعارضين السعوديين لإعلان تعاطفهم مع وضع الجبري. 

خاشقجي والجبري اللذان حظيا بتعاطف ودعم المعارضين للدولة السعودية، يشتركان في صفة جوهرية هي التاريخ الطويل في خدمة حكومة بلدهما وتنفيذ سياساتها التي يناهضها داعموهم! فقد قضى الرجلان ردحا من عمرهما في تنفيذ سياسة المملكة في أمور تتعلق بمكافحة الإرهاب، وقضايا الأمن القومي.

عمل خاشقجي كمراسل صحفي يغطي حرب أفغانستان في الثمانينيات قبل أن يصبح مستشارًا إعلاميًا للأمير تركي الفيصل، الرئيس السابق للمخابرات السعودية والسفير السعودي السابق لدى المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة. وبالمثل، عمل الجبري وزيرا للدولة وكان أقرب مساعد لولي العهد السابق الأمير محمد بن نايف، حيث اضطلع بمهام خاصة تتعلق بالحرب على الإرهاب.

ممّا سبق، يتضح تاريخ عمل الرجلين في خدمة سياسيات حكومة المملكة قبل أن يفقدا مكانتهما المرموقة مع صعود الإدارة الجديدة بقيادة ولي العهد الشاب ورؤيته الجديدة للبلاد. ومن الجدير بالملاحظة، أنه رغم تفاقم خلافاتهم مع الحكومة السعودية، فإن أيّا منهما، لم يدع علنا أنه معارض لحكومة بلاده. فعلى الرغم من التعليقات السلبية المعدودة التي أدلى بها خاشقجي ضد الحكومة السعودية، فقد ظلّ مصرّا على دعمه لرؤية 2030 وطموحات ولي العهد.

حتى مع الأخذ في عين الاعتبار جريمة قتله الوحشية، فإن تجاهل المعارضين لتاريخ شخصية خاشقجي يطرح أسئلة مهمة حول المبادئ التي ينطلق منهاهؤلاء المعارضين في طرح نقدهم ورؤاهم. نتساءل هنا: ماهي معاييرهم للتميز بين الخيّر والشرير؟ وعلى وجه التحديد، هل النهاية المؤسفة لحياة شخص ما، كفيلة -في نظر المعارضين- بمحو تاريخه الحافل بالسنوات التي قضاها في خدمة حكومة بلاده، والتي لا تتوافق مع أهداف هؤلاء المعارضين الذين يدّعون أنهم ضد السياسات الكبرى للحكومة السعودية؟ نتساءل أيضا، كيف سيكون موقفهم لو أن خاشقجي قد توفي بشكل طبيعي قبل مغادرته البلاد في يونيو 2017، بالنظر إلى أنه كان مؤيدا لمعظم الإجراءات السعودية الرسمية التي ينتقدها هؤلاء المعارضون؟ 

لا يختلف الحال كثيرا مع قضية الجبري. فهؤلاء المعارضون الذين يصادقون على ادعاءاته باستهداف الدولة السعودية له، يتجاهلون العنصر الأهم في الحكاية: شخصية الجبري نفسه! فبالنظر لموقف المعارضين من الإدارة السعودية، يتوقع المرء أن يكون موقفهم تجاه الجبري سلبيا بشدّة، وذلك نظرًا لدوره الرئيسي في التعامل مع من يتبنى معارضة حكومة المملكة من الداخل. وعليه، فإن جميع انتقاداتهم للسياسات الأمنية السعودية يجب أن تطال الجبري أولا بصفته مهندس النظام الأمني الذي يصفونه بأنه قاس وقمعي. يبدو أنموقفهم من الجبري يستند على المثل القائل "عدو عدوي صديقي". 

دعونا نتساءل الآن: ماذا سيكون موقف هؤلاء المعارضين إذا ما توصل الجبري إلى تسوية مع السلطات السعودية في قضيته؟ 

يبدو أن الواقع يقول أن هؤلاء المعارضين يقفون -مؤقتًا- مع عدوهم الأقل خطورة "الجبري" ضد عدوهم الرئيسي "الدولة السعودية". يكشف هذا الموقف المتناقض عن نقضة ضعف منهجية في أوساط معارضي الدولة السعودية. فبغض النظر عن مستواهم الفكري، فإنه من الواضح أن المستند الذي يبنون عليه حججهم في موقفهم هذا يبدو ذاتيًا أكثر منه موضوعيا مبنيا على مبادئثابتة.

نستطيع طرح الأسئلة نفسها على وسائل الإعلام التي تحتفي بخاشقجي والجبري. فقد ركزت قناة الجزيرة -التي اتخذت موقفا عدوانيا تجاه السعودية بعد الأزمة الخليجية- باستمرار على قضية اغتيال جمال خاشقجي، متهمة الحكومة السعودية بالضلوع في جريمة سياسية. إضافة إلى ذلك، فقد أنتجت الجزيرة لحد الآن العديد من التقارير حول مزاعم الجبري، وجعلته الموضوع الرئيسي الذي تتم تغطيته في الأخبار اليومية وبعض البرامج المنتظمة. بل إن برنامجها الأسبوعي "فوق السلطة" وصف الجبري بأنه الشهيد الحي.

بغض النظر عن الموقف من الحكومة السعودية وما يرد في الإعلام حول مزاعم تورطها في أعمال غير أخلاقية ضد هاتين الشخصيتين، فإن تاريخ خاشقجي والجبري لا يمتّ بصلة للأنشطة التي يتبناها المعارضون الذين يصورونهما لنا بأنهما فدائيان. وعليه، فالسؤال يدور حول الأساس -غير الواضح- الذي يبني عليه هؤلاء المعارضون تقييم أعدائهم وأصدقائهم. 

ختاما، فإن الدعم الشديد لرجلين لا يمثلان في الأصل وجهات نظر وأهداف داعميهم من معارضي سياسات الحكومة السعودية يلقي بظلال من الشك على مصداقية الطرح الذي يعبرون عنه. فهؤلاء الأشخاص الذين يطرحون أنفسهم كأكاديميين ونشطاء يرغبون في تغيير المعادلة داخل المملكة ويسعون إلى ما يصفونه بإصلاحات جذرية تحسن من حياة الشعب، يصطفون مع رمزين من الحرس القديم للسياسة السعودية -خاشقجي والجبري- بشكل يثير التساؤل حول كفاءة طرحهم المعارض وقدرتهم على توفير رؤية بديلة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

From Khashoggi to Al-Jabri: A Principal Question


Also available in العربية

September 25, 2020

Vocal Saudi dissidents have taken up figures like Jamal Khashoggi and Saad al-Jabri as literal and figurative martyrs for their causes, but their depiction ignores both men’s histories working inside the Saudi state. These dissidents expose, therefore, some of the weakness in their messaging, and they may lack the robust logical framework to support what they demand for as real change in Saudi Arabia at any point.

Since the rise of the current Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MbS), he and his administration have faced a wave of heavy systematized criticism in some international media outlets, often including opinions or analysis from prominent Saudi dissidents. This wave of anti-MbS critique has only become more aggressive since the 2018 assassination of Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi and the recent developments of the currently unfolding legal suit filed in U.S. federal court by the Saudi former intelligence officer Saad Al-Jabri.

After his assassination, many Saudi dissidents started appearing in Arab, American, and European media outlets praising Khashoggi as a hero for their cause, in addition to promoting him in their social media accounts. Some dissidents also suddenly claimed connections to him after the fact. Others described his flight from Saudi Arabia to Washington as a sign of his honor, while still others began using the term shaheed (martyr) when referring to him, describing him as someone who has given up his life for a cause while upholding his principles and honour. A group of dissidents even launched an online platform named after him: the Jamal Khashoggi Academy of Freedom and Rights. This non-degree granting academy provides free virtual education taught by a number of Saudi dissenting scholars including Madawi Al-Rasheed and Abdullah al-Awdah.

Saad al-Jabri has won a sort of similar affection from the dissident community. Al-Jabri is claiming to be targeted by the Saudi authorities in a case under legal consideration in a U.S. federal court. The media began reporting news stories about al-Jabri's children, reporting that they were barred from visiting their father, and many Saudi dissidents have publicly expressed empathy with al-Jabri’s situation.

However, despite shows of support from dissidents who oppose the Saudi state and its policies, Khashoggi and al-Jabri both share a long history of serving the Saudi government, especially in matters related to anti-terrorism and national security. As a journalist, Khashoggi covered the Afghanistan War in the 1980s before becoming media advisor to Prince Turki Al Faisal, the former head of Saudi Intelligence and former Saudi Ambassador to the United Kingdom and the United States. Similarly, al-Jabri was a state minister and the closest aid to the former Crown Prince Mohammed bin Nayef, serving in special missions related to the war on terrorism. Both Khashoggi and al-Jabri served the Kingdom before losing their prestigious status with the new administration led by the young Crown Prince and his new vision for the country. Curiously, however, neither of them claimed to be a dissident, even when they did have deep differences with the Saudi government. Despite the few negative comments made by Khashoggi against the Saudi government, he has always insisted on his support to the Vision 2030 and the ambitions of Crown Prince.

Even considering his brutal murder, dissidents’ willful disregard of Khashoggi’s complicated past opens significant questions about these well-known dissident pundits and their views. What are their criteria for distinguishing good people from bad? Specifically, does the sad ending of his life justify much of Khashoggi’s former career, which is not favored by those dissidents who claim to be against the major policies of Saudi government? How would they describe Khashoggi had he passed away naturally before leaving the country in June 2017, given that he endorsed most of the formal Saudi actions that the dissidents are criticizing?

The essence of these questions also pertains to al-Jabri’s case. Publicly active dissidents, in their discussion of his claims of being targeted by the Saudi state, are ignoring the major part of al-Jabri’s story, al-Jabri himself. Considering their views on the Saudi administration, one would expect Saudi dissidents to also hold a strongly negative attitude towards al-Jabri given his major role in dealing with domestic opponents to the Saudi state. All of the dissidents’ critiques of Saudi security policies should be applied to al-Jabri, the engineer of the security system they characterize as oppressive and harsh. It seems the dissidents are applying the "enemy of my enemy is my friend" approach in their views of al-Jabri.

Moreover, what would be their response if al-Jabri were to reach a deal with the Saudi authorities in his case? It seems that, in reality, the vocal dissident community is momentarily standing with their less dangerous enemy, al-Jabri, against their major enemy, the Saudi state. This strange positioning suggests a weakness within those publicly dissenting from the Saudi state. Despite the high intellectual level of those dissidents, they are building their public arguments against the state on a personal basis rather than one founded by principles.

The same questions arise with media outlets who commonly celebrate Khashoggi and Al-Jabri. Al Jazeera, which has adopted an aggressive stance toward Saudi Arabia after the Gulf Crisis, has focused constantly on the assassination of Jamal Khashoggi, holding it as evidence in the political crime case against the Saudi government. Al Jazeera has now produced numerous reports on al-Jabri's allegations, and made it the major news story covered on daily news and some regular shows for a period of time. One of its shows, “Above the Power” described al-Jabri as a living martyr.

Regardless of the actions of the Saudi government and their alleged involvement in unethical acts against these two figures, Khashoggi’s and al-Jabri’s histories do not reflect a fierce dedication to the types of opposition espoused by dissidents who claim them as martyrs for their cause. As such, it is unclear what these dissidents look for when evaluating their enemies and their friends.

Indeed, unwavering support for two men who do not necessarily represent their viewpoints is likely to cast doubt on the credibility of those willing to express it. Opposition figures who view themselves as academics or activists claim they want to change the equation in Saudi Arabia and seek radical reform that will bring a better life for their people, but the recent valorization of al-Jabri raises the question of those opposition figures' competency in providing an alternative vision for the country.

Customize your RSS Feed