أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الانتخابات البرلمانية المصرية على المحك


متاح أيضاً في English

22 تشرين الأول/اكتوبر 2020

ستجري مصر انتخابات برلمانية خلال الأسابيع القليلة المقبلة، حيث سيكون موعد المرحلة الأولى من عملية الانتخابات في 24 و25 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر في 14 محافظة، والمرحلة الثانية في 7 و8 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر في 13 محافظة. وقبل بضعة أيام فقط من الانتخابات البرلمانية، صدرت عدة تقارير زعمت أنه تمّ استخدام المال السياسي إلى حدّ كبير لشراء مرشحين مع تسليط الضوء على معدل مشاركة مختلف الأحزاب السياسية المتدني للغاية في الانتخابات.

ويتنافس المرشحون على عدد كبير من المقاعد، حيث أن العدد الإجمالي في مجلس النواب يبلغ 568 مقعدًا، يجري انتخاب 284 منها وفق "النظام الفردي" و284 وفق "نظام القوائم المغلقة المطلقة". وتخصص نسبة لا تقل عن 25 في المائة من المقاعد للنساء، كما لا يحق للرئيس تعيين أكثر من 5 في المائة من أعضاء البرلمان.

وكما حصل خلال انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ في 8 أيلول/سبتمبر من العام الجاري، يعتقد العديد من المحللين أن نسبة الاقتراع خلال الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة ستبقى متدنية. ويمكن أن يعزى ذلك إلى عدة أسباب: الأداء السيئ للمجلس السابق الذي ألحق الضرر بمصداقيته، وسيطرة المال السياسي، والتراجع المستمر لأحزاب المعارضة.

تدهور الأداء والمصداقية

فشل مجلس النواب المصري بشكل عام في تقديم نفسه كمؤسسة عامة قادرة وجديرة بالثقة.، حيث أن تجربة البرلمان الحالي - الذي كان مجلس النواب المكون الوحيد فيه قبل تعديل دستوري أدى الى إنشاء مجلس الشيوخ، أخفق في تمثيل القوى والأحزاب السياسية المعارضة، وهو منحى حوّل البرلمان إلى دمية بيد النظام. كما طغت الأغلبية التابعة للنظام على الأصوات المعارضة القليلة التي علت في البرلمان.

ولسوء الحظ، كان الأداء العام لهذا البرلمان – رغم استمرار موالاته للنظام – مخيب للآمال. فقد شهد المواطنون على قدرة البرلمان على تشريع مئات القوانين التي تساهم في تشديد قبضة النظام الحاكم على العديد من جوانب الحياة السياسية في مصر. واللافت أن مجلس النواب قد وافق على 233 مسودة قانون جديرة بالملاحظة تتضمن بالإجمال 2490 مادةً خلال جلسته التشريعية الخامسة في غضون10 أشهر تخللها توقف كبير للجلسات على خلفية تفشي جائحة فيروس كورونا.

ساهمت آلاف التشريعات التي سنّها البرلمان ضد مصالح المواطنين وزادت من فقرهم. ويعتبر قانون التصالح في مخالفات البناء أبرز مثال على هذا الأمر، وهو قانون دفع بالحكومة في آب/أغسطس 2020 إلى إرسال إنذار إلى المواطنين الذين يقيمون في منازل مبنية بشكل غير قانوني للدخول في عملية تصالح أو يجري هدم منازلهم. وعندما لم يستجب الكثيرون لهذا الإنذار، حذر الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي في خطاب علني من أنه يدرس احتمال نشر الجيش في المحافظات لضمان تطبيق القانون وفق الأصول.

ونتيجةً لذلك، بدأت الحكومة بهدم مئات المنازل، تاركةً آلاف المواطنين مشردين من دون تعويض أو مساعدة حكومية. وقد خرج بعض السكان إلى شوارع العديد من المحافظات والقرى احتجاجًا على هذه الحملة في 20 أيلول/سبتمبر، ما دفع بالحكومة إلى تمديد المهلة النهائية للتصالح من أواخر أيلول/سبتمبر ولغاية أواخر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. لكن من المرجح أن تُستأنف عمليات الهدم مع انقضاء هذا الموعد النهائي الجديد.

كما لم يستخدم البرلمان الاستجواب - الذي يعتبر إحدى أهم الأدوات التشريعية - بغية الحدّ من المشقات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تعصف بالبلاد والتي أدت إلى انتشار الأبنية السكنية غير القانونية أو التصدي للفساد المستشري، ولا حتى لمرة واحدة خلال جلساته. بدلًا من ذلك، أثقل كاهل البلاد بمجموعة ديون هائلة لن تتمكن إيرادات الموازنة المنخفضة من تسديدها. وما يزيد الأمر سوءًا هو تخصيص قسم كبير من موازنة الدولة السنوية لتسديد الديون التي وصلت إلى 121 في المائة من الناتج الوطني بحسب أرقام المصرف المركزي.

كذلك، لم ينجح البرلمان المصري في اتخاذ أي تدابير فعالة للتخفيف من الفقر المستمر أو تحسين الأنظمة الصحية أو التعليمية في البلاد. وخلال الجلسات التي عقدها، مرر 5 موازنات عامة للدولة غير دستورية، لم توفر أي منها نسبة العشرة في المائة من إجمالي الناتج الوطني المخصصة لقطاعات الصحة والتعليم والأبحاث العلمية. ورغم أن الدستور يخوّل البرلمان المصري إعادة النظر في قرارات المصرف المركزي وحتى نقضها، إلا أنه لم يحرك ساكنًا حين قرر المصرف تعويم الجنيه المصري في 2016، وهو قرار فاقم بشكل كبير الفقر والتضخم. فضلًا عن ذلك، عمّقت موافقة البرلمان الحالي على 14 قرارًا أصدره السيسي لتمديد حالة الطوارئ في أرجاء البلاد عدم ثقة الشعب بالبرلمان.

وعلى صعيد السياسة الخارجية، كان نهج البرلمان المصري تجاه السياسة الخارجية ضعيفًا وغير فعال، حيث وافق البرلمان الحالي على اتفاق مثير للجدل إلى حدّ كبير من أجل التنازل عن جزيرتي تيران وصنافير لصالح المملكة العربية السعودية، رغم الحكم الصادر عن "المحكمة الإدارية العليا" بأنهما مصريتان. هذا وعجز البرلمان عن صياغة استجابة أو سياسة مناسبة ضد "سد النهضة الأثيوبي" الذي من المتوقع أن يقلص حصة مصر من مياه النيل.

وفي حين لم تلقَ مساعي البرلمان الحالية تأييدًا شعبيًا كبيرًا، فإن احتمال أن تحدث الانتخابات المقبلة تغييرًا حقيقيًا في السياسة محدود للغاية. ومن خلال السير على خطى خطة نظام مبارك الممنهجة لقمع المعارضة داخل البرلمان من خلال ربط النظام بحزب سياسي، آنذاك "الحزب الوطني الديمقراطي‎"، عيّن النظام الحالي "حزب مستقبل وطن" ليضطلع بالدور نفسه.

وخلال انتخابات عام 2015، شكل "حزب مستقبل وطن" تحالفًا انتخابيًا ووضع قائمة "من أجل مصر" لخوض الانتخابات البرلمانية. وشمل التحالف "حزب الوفد" و"حزب المصريين الأحرار" و"حزب التجمع الوطني التقدمي الوحدوي" إلى جانب "حزب مستقبل وطن". وفاز بأكبر عدد من المقاعد في المجلس (120) مقعدًا، تلاه حزب "مصر الحرة" (65 مقعدًا). كما فاز التحالف نفسه بنسبة 70 في المائة في انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ المشكل حديثًا في آب/أغسطس 2020. وحاليًا، نجح هذا التحالف أيضًا في ضم 12 حزبًا مصريًا سيخوض الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة ضمن قائمته.

المال السياسي

خلال الانتخابات المصرية السابقة، كان استخدام المال السياسي لشراء الأصوات خلال الحملات الانتخابية ممارسة معتادة. غير أن هذه الانتخابات غير اعتيادية من حيث أن المال السياسي الآن يستخدم لشراء المرشحين. وقد أظهرت العديد من التسريبات مؤخرًا أن قائمة "من أجل مصر"، التي يرأسها "حزب مستقبل وطن" الموالي للنظام، اختارت مرشحيها في القائمة مقابل المال. كما أشارت التقارير إلى تورط بعض الأجهزة الأمنية في عملية الاختيار التي أسفرت عن إقصاء نصف أعضاء البرلمان الحالي. وللمفاجأة، نددت بعض الشخصيات الموالية للنظام – على غرار النائب مرتضى منصور الذي استُبعد من قائمة "من أجل مصر" - بـ"حزب مستقبل وطن" واتهمته ببيع الترشيح على قائمته.

ويأتي الهجوم الذي شنه منصور بعد أسبوعين على توقيف قوات الأمن المصرية المحامي طارق جميل سعيد الموالي للنظام وإحالته إلى "نيابة أمن الدولة العليا" التي أصدرت حكمًا بسجنه لخمسة عشر يومًا بعدما انتقد بدوره "حزب مستقبل وطن" متهمًا إياه ببيع الترشيح والمقاعد. وقد تقوض هذه الشهادات الصادرة عن مؤيدين للنظام مصداقية البرلمان المقبل بشكل كبير. علاوةً على ذلك، يميل توسيع الدوائر الانتخابية ضمن النظام الفردي، في إطار القانون الانتخابي التي تمّ إقراره حديثًا، صراحةً لصالح المرشحين الأغنياء ويهمش في الوقت نفسه مرشحين آخرين لا يمكنهم صرف ما يكفي من الأموال لإدارة حملاتهم.

وبالتالي، يبدو أن "حزب مستقبل وطن" أصبح مركز جاذبية بالنسبة لأحزاب المعارضة – أي بوابتها الوحيدة إلى البرلمان. وصحيح أن العديد من الأحزاب السياسية التي انضمت إلى قائمته قد أطلقت اتهامات بحقه منذ ذلك الحين، لكن فوزها في الانتخابات لا يزال محتملًا. 

ومع ذلك، ورغم الشوائب المذكورة أعلاه في مجلس النواب الحالي وفشله في أن يكون الممثل الفعلي للشعب، قد تشهد الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة ارتفاعًا بسيطًا في عدد المقترعين. ويمكن عزو هذا الارتفاع إلى واقع أن الانتخابات البرلمانية في مصر عادةً ما تحظى باهتمام شرائح مختلفة من المجتمع، إذ يعتبر البرلمان تاريخيًا رمزًا للسلطة والنفوذ. ولا تزال الشخصيات السياسية والقبلية مستعدة للتنافس تحت مظلة الأحزاب المقربة من الحكومة أو المعارضة لها أو كمرشحين مستقلين. وعليه، ستكون حملات الحشد المكثفة وعمليات شراء الأصوات المحتملة مسؤولة عن أي زيادة في أعداد المقترعين.

غير أن نسبة المشاركة الإجمالية في الانتخابات ستبقى منخفضة على الأرجح، رغم واقع أن الذين يقاطعون الانتخابات سيحالون إلى النيابة العامة ويدفعون غرامات – كما حصل خلال انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ السابقة عندما أحالت لجنة الانتخابات المصرية نحو 54 مليون شخص ممن قاطعوا الانتخابات إلى النيابة العامة.

وحاليًا، تسود رؤيتان في الدوائر الرسمية بشأن مستقبل البرلمان ما بعد الانتخابات الحالية. وتدعو الرؤية الأولى إلى الانفتاح والسماح بتشكّل جو سياسي جديد ونظيف في البرلمان من شأنه أن يحفظ ماء الوجه بالنسبة للنظام ويحسن صورته. أما الرؤية الثانية، فترفض هذا الاقتراح خوفًا تسلل العناصر التي تدعم جماعة الإخوان المسلمين سرًا الى البرلمان. لكن الآن، يبدو أن النظام سيعتمد الرؤية الثانية ويواصل تشديد قبضته على الجهاز التشريعي لتجنب أي عرقلة محتملة قد يتسبب بها المعارضون لعملية تشريع القانون.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Egypt's Parliamentary Election at Stake


Also available in العربية

October 22, 2020

Egypt is expected to hold its parliamentary elections in the next few weeks, with the first phase of Egypt’s parliamentary election process taking place between October 24 and 25 in 14 governorates, and the second phase taking place on November 7 and 8 in 13 governorates. Several reports have claimed that the elections have already seen the extensive use of political money to buy candidacies and underscore the rare participation of several political parties in the elections.

Candidates are vying for a large number of seats. The total number of seats up for election in the House of Representatives is 568, of which 284 seats are elected by the ‘individual system’ and the other 284 seats are elected by the system of ‘absolute-closed lists.’ Women are allocated no less than 25% of the seats, and the president may appoint no more than 5% of the members.

Like in the Senate elections held on September 8 this year, several analysts believe that voter turnout in the upcoming elections will remain low. Such a low turnout arises from several causes: the poor performance of the previous House which damaged the House's credibility, dominance of political money, and the consistent decline of opposition parties.

Deteriorating Performance and Credibility

The Egyptian House of Representatives has generally failed to present itself as a capable and trustworthy public institution. The experience of the current parliament—of which the House of Representatives was the only component before a constitutional amendment established a senate—has been marred by its failures to represent oppositional political forces and parties, a trend that has turned the parliament into a puppet of the regime. The few opposition voices that have appeared in parliament have been curbed by the regime-affiliate majority.

Unfortunately, the general performance of this parliament—despite its pro-regime continuity—has been disappointing. Citizens have watched their parliament legislate hundreds of acts that have tightened the ruling regime's grip on many aspects of Egyptian political life. Remarkably, the House of Representatives approved 233 draft laws with a total of 2,490 articles during its 10-month fifth legislation session, despite interruptions due to the spread of Covid-19.

These thousands of pieces of legislation enacted by parliament have often worked against citizens' interests and deepened their poverty. The Construction Violations Reconciliation Law is a prime example of this kind of legislation. In August 2020 the law pushed the government to send a warning to citizens residing in illegally constructed houses to engage in a reconciliation process or see their houses demolished. When the government received few responses to the warning, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi warned in a public speech that he would consider deploying the army to enforce the proper application of the law.

As a result, the government began demolishing hundreds of houses, leaving thousands of citizens displaced without any compensation or governmental assistance. The campaign was met by rare protests on September 20 in several governorates and villages, pushing the government to extend the deadline for reconciliation from the end of September to the end of October. Nevertheless, demolitions are likely to return once this new deadline has passed.

The current parliament has failed to make use of interrogations—one of its most important legislative checks on the government—even once during its session. Instead, the parliament burdened the country with a series of huge debts that ailing state revenue streams will not be able to fulfill. To make matters worse, the debt burdens devour a large part of the annual state budget, which has reached 121% of the gross national product according to the figures of the Central Bank.

The Egyptian parliament has failed to take any effective steps to alleviate persistent poverty or improve Egypt’s health and education systems. During its sessions, Egypt's parliament passed five unconstitutional state general budgets, none of which met the ten percent of the gross national product allocated to the sectors of health, education, and scientific research. Though the Egyptian parliament is constitutionally entitled to review and even abrogate the Central Bank's decisions, it remained silent when the Bank decided to float the Egyptian pound in 2016, a decision that significantly intensified poverty and inflation. In addition, the current parliament's approval of fourteen decisions by Sisi to extend the state of emergency throughout the country has also intensified people distrust in the parliament.

The Egyptian parliament’s approach to foreign policy has been similarly weak and ineffective. The current parliament approved of the highly controversial agreement to cede the islands of Tiran and Sanafir to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, despite the Supreme Administrative Court’s ruling that "Tiran and Sanafir" are Egyptian lands. The parliament has also failed to formulate a proper response or policy against the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam, which is expected to decrease Egypt's share in the Nile’s waters.

As such, the Egyptian parliament has not accrued a great amount of support among Egyptians, but while the current parliament’s efforts have been far from popular, the likelihood of a true policy shift through the upcoming elections is highly limited.

The current government is looking back to the Mubarak regime’s systematic plan to suppress opposition within Parliament by affiliating the regime with a political party, then the National Democratic Party. The current regime has appointed the Nation’s Future Party (NFP) to play the same role. In the 2015 elections, The NFP formed an electoral coalition entitled For the Love of Egypt list to compete for the parliamentary elections. The coalition included the Alwafd Party, The Free Egyptians Party, National Progressive Unionist Party, and the NFP. This coalition managed to win the highest number of seats in the House (120) seats, followed by Egypt Free party (65 seats). The same coalition managed to win 70 percent of the newly formed Senate elections in August 2020. Currently, the same coalition has managed to mobilize 12 Egyptian parties which will run under its list in the upcoming parliamentary elections.

Political Money

In Egypt’s previous elections, it was usual to see the use of political money for buying votes during the electoral campaigns. However, this election is unusual in that various actors are now using political money to buy candidacies. Several leaks have recently shown that the For the Love of Egypt list, headed by the pro-regime NFP, has accepted the inclusion of certain candidates in return for money. Reports also indicated that various security agencies have been involved in the selection process that resulted in the exclusion of half of the members of the current parliament from the candidate list. Surprisingly, some pro-regime figures—such as MP Mortada Mansour, who had been excluded from the For the Love of Egypt list—denounced the NFP and accused the party of selling candidacy on its list.

Mansour’s attack comes two weeks after the Egyptian security forces arrested lawyer Tariq Jamil Saeed, who is loyal to the regime, and referred him to the Supreme State Security Prosecution, which decided to imprison him for 15 days after he had also criticized the NFP of selling candidacy and seats. Those testimonies from among the supporters of the regime may significantly undermine the credibility of the next parliament. Moreover, the expansion of electoral districts in the individual system, part of the newly enacted electoral law, explicitly favors rich candidates while undermining other candidates who cannot generate sufficient money to run their campaigns.

Therefore, it seems that the NFP has become the center of gravity for opposition parties—their only gate to the Parliament. Several political parties who had joined the NFP list have since made accusations against them, but their success at the polls is nevertheless likely.

The current House has largely failed to act as a genuine representative of the public. Nonetheless, despite the legislature’s above-mentioned deficiencies, the upcoming parliamentary elections may witness a slight rise in voter turnout. This potential increase is likely due to the fact that the parliament is historically considered a symbol of power and influence in Egypt, and political actors will put a lot of effort into their campaigns. Political and tribal figures still do not hesitate to compete for power under the umbrella of political parties close to the government, opposing it, or independently. Therefore, intensive mobilization campaigns and the potential buying of votes will likely be responsible for any increase in voter turnout.

Overall, however, voter turnout is likely to remain low. This is despite the fact that those who boycott the elections will be referred to prosecutors and pay fines—as was the case in the previous Senate elections. Then, Egypt’s election commission referred about 54 million people who boycotted the elections to prosecutors.

Currently, there are two prevalent visions among the official circles on the future of parliament beyond the current elections. The first vision calls for openness and the allowance of fresh faces into parliament that would save the reputation of the regime and improve its image. The second vision refuses that proposal for fear of elements who may be secretly supporting the Brotherhood. As for now, it seems that the regime will adapt the second vision and continue to tighten its grip on the legislative body, avoiding potential oppositionist disruptions to the currently entrenched legislative process. 

Customize your RSS Feed