أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ميزان باكو: كيف تتلاعب أذربيجان بإسرائيل وإيران


متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

7 تشرين الأول/اكتوبر 2020

مثل الصراع الحالي الدائر في القوقاز بين أذربيجان وأرمينيا حالة استثنائية حيث تميل إسرائيل وإيران فعليًا - رغم زعمهما باعتماد الحياد - نحو الطرف نفسه: أذربيجان. فإسرائيل تشتري نفط البلاد وتبيعها أسلحة متطورة، تُستخدم الآن لإحداث آثار قاتلة؛ في المقابل تزعم إيران بأنها تدعم "سلامة أراضي" أذربيجان – في كلمات مشفرة للإشارة إلى مطالبتها بناغورنو كاراباخ وقطع أرض محاذية يملكها انفصاليون أرمن. فكيف تدير هذه الدولة الصغيرة (إنما الغنية للغاية بالنفط والغاز) التي يبلغ عدد سكانها 10 ملايين نسمة معظمهم من المسلمين الشيعة والواقعة تمامًا على الحدود الشمالية لإيران، هذا الإنجاز الجيوسياسي الكبير؟      

قبل بضع سنوات، وبحثًا عن إجابة على هذا السؤال، توجهت إلى باكو لإلقاء محاضرة في مؤتمر تنظمه شركة بحوث حول "الدراسات الاستراتيجية" وفي أكاديمية دبلوماسية محلية، ولا أزال على اتصال مع بعض الزملاء الأذريين منذ ذلك الحين. وهم غالبًا أشخاص مبهرون للغاية، جادون ولكنهم في الوقت نفسه ودودون، قوميون متعصبون وإنما مؤمنين بالعولمة، كما أن العديد من بينهم يتحدث عدة لغات بلهجات غير مرتبطة ببعضها تمامًا: فهم يجيدون إلى جانب الأذرية لغتهم الأم، القريبة للغاية من التركية، اللغة الروسية والإنكليزية والفارسية وحتى العربية في بعض الأحيان. ولكن هذه الميزات الشخصية لا تساهم سوى في شرح قدرة بلادهم على مواجهة التنافسات الإقليمية الأكبر للدولة المجاورة لهم.       

ومن الأشياء التي اكتشفتها خلال زيارتي الأولى تلك هي أن الديمقراطية ليست الحل لبحث أذربيجان عن الأمن أو الاستقرار أو الدعم من قوى خارجية متنافسة. فمنذ الاستقلال عن بقايا الاتحاد السوفييتي في العام 1991، خضعت البلاد لحكم عائلة واحدة فقط: أولًا حيدر علييف، رجل قوي احتفظ بمنصبه منذ الحقبة الشيوعية، والآن الهام علييف، نجله الذي يوازيه استبدادًا. وفي حال بروز أي أصوات انشقاقية، عادةً ما تكون البترودولار والشعور المعادي للأرمن كافيين لإسكاتها. ولخص أحد معارفي المحليين التهكم السائد بشأن الديمقراطية بالشكل التالي: "أجل، لدينا برلمان، لكن بعض أعضائه لا يتكبدون عناء الحضور إليه حتى. لا أفهم الأمر – على الأقل بيعوا أصواتكم!".     

وبدلًا من ذلك، يكمن نجاح سياسة أذربيجان الخارجية لغاية الآن في توازن دقيق للغاية ومتعمد بين المصالح والتهديدات. فالحكومة والنخبة، اسميًا من المسلمين الشيعة ولكن العلمانية بشكل منتظم تقريبًا من حيث الممارسة، تزدري ثيوقراطية إيران القمعية. ولكنها تخشى في الوقت نفسه عملاء إيران ووكلاء "حزب الله" على أراضيها، الذين سعوا بشكل متكرر إلى ضرب أهداف إسرائيلية أو أمريكية هناك.  

والأمر الأقل وضوحًا ولكن ليس أقل أهميةً، يهتم الأذريون بالملايين من أقربائهم من الإثنية نفسها الموجودين وراء الحدود – الأقلية الأكبر في إيران إلى حدّ كبير، نحو ثلاثة أضعاف عدد الأذريين في أذربيجان نفسها. لذا يحرصون جيدًا على الحفاظ على علاقات دبلوماسية وتجارية صحيحة مع إيران، من أجل حماية أنفسهم وأقربائهم البعيدين في تبريز أو طهران. كما يحرصون على ألا يهدد الإسرائيليون مباشرة إيران من الأراضي الأذرية بشكل كبير.    

هذا وبرز مثال كلاسيكي آخر في هذا الإطار، لم يعترف به رسميًا قط أي طرف معني، قبل عقد تقريبًا من الزمن. ففي أوج توترات لم يصر إلى حلها حينها بشأن برنامج إيران النووي، بدأت شائعات خطيرة تسري مفادها أن إسرائيل كانت توشك على قصفها. حتى أنه نُشر تقرير في الصحف عن نقل بعض الطائرات العسكرية الإسرائيلية إلى قواعد قريبة في أذربيجان. غير أن التقرير بذاته وضع حدًا لهذا المخطط، إذا ما كان قائمًا فعلًا؛ وأفادت المعلومات المسربة أن باكو أو ربما واشنطن أو الاثنين معًا اعترضتا على خطوة مماثلة وقررتا كشفها وبالتالي منعها.     

في الوقت نفسه، تعتمد أذربيجان جزئيًا على إسرائيل لمواجهة تهديدات أمنية داخلية محتملة أو غيرها من التهديدات المتأتية من إيران. ويكمن بعضها في مجال الاستخبارات، والتحذير المبكر، والأمن السيبراني، والمعدات المتطورة والتدريب، وما شابه. أما بعضها فهو سياسي أكثر بطبيعته: فالمسؤولون والخبراء الأذريون يعتقدون، وربما هم محقون بذلك، أن روابطهم الوطيدة مع إسرائيل تساعد على تمتين علاقاتهم الجيدة مع الولايات المتحدة – التي تشاركهم بالطبع اهتمامها الكبير الخاص باحتواء إيران وحماية أذربيجان منها. وتمثلت خطوة رمزية إلى حدّ كبير اتُخذت في الآونة الأخيرة في إطار هذا التحرك الدبلوماسي في مشاركة سفير أذربيجان في واشنطن العلنية للغاية، النادرة ضمن الوفود ذات الأغلبية المسلمة، في الحفل الذي أقامه البيت الأبيض لتوقيع اتفاقي السلام الجديدين بين إسرائيل والإمارات والبحرين.

وتؤدي هذه الصلة الأمريكية الوثيقة مباشرةً إلى الوضع المتضارب الجيوسياسي الأكبر الذي يتعين على باكو الحفاظ عليه: بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا. ففي نظر الأذريين، يكتسي الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة مع الطرفين أهمية كبيرة ليس فقط من أجل الاحتماء من أي مخططات إيرانية محتملة ولكن أيضًا من طموحات روسيا الخاصة، سواء في أرمينيا المجاورة أو في المنطقة الساحلية المشتركة لبحر قزوين الغنية بموارد الطاقة أو داخل أذربيجان نفسها. وأخبرني المضيفون الأذريون أنه من دون الدعم العسكري الروسي الفعلي، لا يمكن للأرمن الذين يفوقهم الأذريون عددًا بشكل كبير الاحتفاظ بناغورنو كاراباخ. مع ذلك، ما من خيار أمام أذربيجان سوى التكيّف مع روسيا في كافة الأحوال، ولا سيما لتجنب نتائج أمنية أسوأ حتى.       

لذا تستمر باكو، وبما يخدم مصلحتها الخاصة، في إقامة توازن بين هؤلاء اللاعبين الإقليميين والعالميين المتنافسين فيما بينهم: إسرائيل وإيران من جهة وأمريكا وروسيا من جهة أخرى. ويتمثل العنصر الأساسي في عدم المواءمة مطلقًا سواء بشكل كلي أو حصري مع أي منهم، كي لا يُستفز أي طرف منهم ويشنّ ضربة قاسية وكي يبقى للجميع مصلحة في التعاون الظاهري. وفي النزاع الحالي، تدخلت تركيا لصالح أذربيجان أيضًا، رغم أن دعمها لغاية الآن كان أقوالًا وليس أفعالًا.     

غير أنه وللوقت الراهن، ليس من المؤكد أنه حتى هذا المزيج غير الاعتيادي فعلًا من الحلفاء سيمكّن أذربيجان من استعادة كامل أراضيها المتنازع عليها. وقد تبقى دائمًا معرضة لبعض المخاطر المحتملة من الدول المجاورة الأقوى منها بكثير، أو ربما فقط من اندلاع معارضة داخلية. إلا أن السيناريو الأكثر ترجيحًا هو أن مهارة باكو في جمع حلفاء لا يجتمعون عادةً ستبقى تساعدها في الحفاظ على مصالحها الرئيسية الخاصة – ولكن من دون تغيير التوترات الجوهرية القائمة. فلا إسرائيل ولا إيران مستعدة لتحقيق مكسب حاسم من روابط أي منهما مع أذربيجان، وهو المسار الذي تريده باكو تمامًا.     

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Baku Balance: How Azerbaijan Juggles Israel and Iran


Also available in العربية

October 7, 2020

The current conflict in the Caucasus between Azerbaijan and Armenia is an extraordinary case where Israel and Iran, while both claiming neutrality, are actually tilting toward the same side: Azerbaijan. Israel buys Azerbaijan's oil and sells it advanced weapons, now being used to deadly effect; while Iran proclaims its support for Azerbaijan’s “territorial integrity”—code words for its claim to Nagorno-Karabakh and adjoining bits of territory held by Armenian separatists. How does this small though oil- and gas-rich country of 10 million mostly Shia Muslims, right on Iran’s northern border, manage this remarkable geopolitical feat?

A few years ago, in search of the answer, I journeyed to Baku to lecture at a “strategic studies” think tank conference and at the local diplomatic academy, and I have since then kept up with some Azerbaijani colleagues. They are often serious yet affable and stridently nationalist while also cosmopolitan, and many of them are multilingual in totally unrelated tongues: their native Azerbaijani—very close to Turkish—plus Russian, English, Farsi, and sometimes even Arabic. But such personal qualities go only so far in explaining their country’s ability to navigate its much larger neighbor’s regional rivalries.

One thing I discovered on this first visit is that democracy is not the answer to Azerbaijan’s quest for security, stability, or support from competing outside powers. Ever since independence from the ruins of the Soviet Union in 1991, the country has been ruled by men from just one family: first Heydar Aliyev, a communist-era strongman holdover, and now Ilham Aliyev, his equally autocratic son. If there are rumblings of dissent, petrodollars and anti-Armenian sentiment usually suffice to suppress them. One local acquaintance summed up the prevailing cynicism about democracy this way: “Yes, we have a parliament, but some of its members don’t even bother to show up. I don’t understand it—at least, sell your vote!”

Instead, the secret of Azerbaijan’s foreign policy success so far lies in a very delicate, deliberate balancing of interests and threats. Its government and elite, nominally Shia Muslim but almost uniformly secular in practice, generally despise Iran’s oppressive theocracy, but they also fear Iranian agents and Hezbollah proxies on their soil, who have periodically attempted to hit Israeli or American targets there.

Less obviously but no less importantly, Azerbaijani people care about their millions of ethnic kinsmen across the border who constitute Iran’s largest minority by far, around double the number of Azeris in Azerbaijan itself. Conversely, Iran’s regime views with some concern the potential “nationalist” sympathies of its subject ethnic Azeris for their wealthier, healthier, and socially freer kinfolk just across the border in Azerbaijan. As such, both governments take good care to maintain healthy diplomatic and commercial relations in order to protect both themselves and their distant relatives in Tabriz or Tehran. And they make sure that the Israelis do not directly threaten Iran too much from Azerbaijani territory.

A classic case in point, never officially acknowledged by any interested party, occurred around a decade ago. At the height of unresolved tension back then over Iran’s nuclear program, serious rumors began to circulate that Israel was on the verge of bombing it. A report even appeared in the press that some Israeli military aircraft were moving to bases nearby in Azerbaijan. But that report itself ended the plot, if indeed it existed. The leak signaled that Baku, or perhaps Washington, or both, were opposed to any such action and had decided to expose and thereby preempt it.

At the same time, Azerbaijan relies partly on Israel to counter potential internal security or other threats from Iran. Some of this lies in the realm of intelligence, early warning, cybersecurity, high-tech equipment and training, and the like. Some cooperation is more political in nature: Azerbaijani officials and experts believe, probably with good reason, that their close ties with Israel help solidify their good relations with the United States—which of course shares its own strong interest in containing Iran and protecting Azerbaijan against Iranian influence. A recent, highly symbolic step in this diplomatic dance was the very public participation by Azerbaijan’s ambassador to Washington, rare among Muslim-majority delegations, in the White House ceremony celebrating the new peace accords between Israel, the UAE, and Bahrain.

This tight American connection leads straight to the larger geopolitical juggling act that Baku must maintain between the United States and Russia. Decent relations with both are essential, in Azerbaijani eyes, for protection not only against possible Iranian designs, but also against Russia’s own ambitions, whether in neighboring Armenia, in the common energy-wealthy Caspian littoral, or inside Azerbaijan itself. Without actual Russian military backing, my Azerbaijani hosts told me, the vastly outnumbered Armenians could not hold on to Nagorno-Karabakh. Yet Azerbaijan has little choice but to accommodate Russia anyway, precisely in order to avoid even worse security outcomes.

So Baku, in its own interest, continues to balance these opposing regional and global players against each other: Israel and Iran, American and Russia. The key is never to align fully or exclusively with any of them, so that none is provoked to lash out too harshly, and all keep an interest in playing along. In the current conflict, Turkey has also entered the fray on Azerbaijan’s side, though so far its support is more rhetorical than real.

Nevertheless, for now, it seems doubtful that even this truly unusual combination of allies will enable Azerbaijan to recapture all of its disputed territory. And it may always remain in some potential jeopardy from its much more powerful neighbors, or, just possibly, from some outburst of internal opposition. The most likely scenario, however, is that Baku’s skill at keeping unlikely bedfellows together will continue to preserve its own core interests without altering the fundamental tensions at stake. Neither Israel nor Iran is poised to gain a decisive advantage from either one’s ties with Azerbaijan, which is just the way Baku wants it.

Customize your RSS Feed