أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

عشر سنوات على "الربيع العربي": لم يصبح اليأس أكثر إلفةً


متاح أيضاً في English

27 تشرين الأول/اكتوبر 2020

ظهر في الآونة الأخيرة استطلاعان جديدان وواسعا النطاق للرأي العام العربي، هدفهما قياس الاتجاهات الإقليمية الأولية، بالإضافة إلى هدف جزئي آخر هو الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة للربيع العربي. أجري الاستطلاع الأول من خلال  مؤشر الرأي العربي لعامي 2019-2020، وهو السابع في سلسلة استطلاعات الرأي العام السنوية التي يجريها المركز العربي للأبحاث ودراسة السياسات في الدوحة، قطر. أما الثاني فهو يتمثل في الاستطلاع السنوي الثاني عشر للشباب العربي، الذي تديره وكالة الاتصالات شركة أصداء بيرسون كون وولف، ومقرها دبي. يستند كلا من التقريرين البحثيين إلى تحليل الردود التي احتوتها الاستطلاعات والتي تم جمعها خلال العام الماضي من عشرات الآلاف من الأشخاص في 15 دولة عربية.

كما هي حال معظم الاستطلاعات العربية، لا بد من مقاربة الأسئلة المتعلقة بالشق السياسي بحذرٍ يلامس حدّ الارتياب. فهي غالبًا ما تعكس اهتمامات الجهة التي نظّمت الاستطلاع، بينما يبدي المشاركون أنفسهم كثيرًا من الحذر في إجاباتهم. لذلك ليس من المستغرب، في استطلاع أُجري برعاية قطرية، أن يُعرب معظم العرب عن عدائهم تجاه المملكة العربية السعودية، ويتحاشون الاعتراف بإسرائيل (بهامش 88 في المائة في هذا الشأن)، ويتوقون إلى التضامن بين كل العرب. ففي النهاية، مَن يرأس معهد الأبحاث هذا ما هو إلا السياسي العربي الإسرائيلي المنشقّ والقومي العربي المتشدد عزمي بشارة. ولكن في نفس الوقت، في استقصاءٍ أجري برعاية دبي، وُصفت السعودية بالقوة الصاعدة في المنطقة، في حين أن الإمارات نالت للسنة التاسعة على التوالي لقب المكان المفضل للعيش بين كل العرب، متفوقةً على الولايات المتحدة وكندا وبريطانيا.

في المقابل، أكثر ما يلفت النظر في معظم الاستطلاعات العربية (بما فيها تلك التي تُجرى مع الفلسطينيين) هو الشق المتعلق بالقضايا الاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية، كونه يبقى بعيدًا نسبيًا عن الحسابات السياسية وبالتالي يعكس اتجاهات أساسية أكثر صدقًا وواقعية. وبالفعل، يتّسم هذان الاستطلاعان للرأي العام العربي، اللذان يختلفان بشكل حاد من نواحٍ أخرى، بتشابهٍ نادر في وجهات النظر المتعلقة بالمجالات غير السياسية تحديدًا.

وهذا هو إجماعها المؤسف: بعد مرور عقدٍ على اندلاع الشرارة المتفائلة للربيع العربي، يشعر معظم سكان تلك المنطقة، لا سيما الجيل الأصغر، بمزيج من الحرمان المادي والقلق أو حتى اليأس بشأن مستقبلهم – فضلاً عن انعدام الثقة بشكل تام في قدرة أنظمتهم أو استعدادها لحل مشاكلهم الأساسية سواء في المجال الاجتماعي أم في المجال الاقتصادي.

من المؤكد، كما سبق وأشار ديفيد بولوك للمرة الأولى منذ سنوات، أنه ما من "شارع عربي" واحد بل ثمة عدة "شوارع عربية" مختلفة في بلدان مختلفة – أو حتى داخل الدولة العربية الواحدة في بعض الأحيان. واليوم أيضًا، يمكن إيجاد بعض الاستثناءات المشرقة لهذا الشتاء العربي العام من السخط. لكنّ الصورة الكبرى تقدم الاستنتاجات البارزة التالية.

أولاً، أصبحت الوقائع الاقتصادية اليوم محور أجندة العرب وجوهر رغباتهم الشخصية والجماعية. فحين سُئل المشاركون في الاستطلاع عن الأسباب الرئيسية لاندلاع الموجتين الأولى والثانية من الربيع العربي - الأولى قبل عقد من الزمن والثانية في دول أخرى خلال العام الفائت - جاءت الإجابات التالية في الطليعة: البطالة والديون الشخصية والفساد الحكومي. وجدير بالذكر أنه في العام 2015، أفاد 15 بالمائة فقط من الشباب العربي بأنهم غارقون في الديون، أما اليوم فيبلغ متوسط هذه النسبة 35 في المائة، وترتفع النسب بشكل خاص بين السوريين والأردنيين والفلسطينيين. هذا وصرّح 80 في المائة من المشاركين في الاستطلاع أنهم يعتبرون الأنظمة العربية فاسدة.

ثانيًا، وفي تناقضٍ حاد مع ما سبق، لا تظهر قضايا الديمقراطية أو الحريات السياسية إلا على هوامش الإجابات. ويتجلى هذا الاستبعاد في الوقت الحاضر بشكل خاص، أي في خضم الموجة الثانية من الاحتجاجات الشعبية في المنطقة هلال عامي 2019-2020، الأمر الذي يدل على الوعي بأن ثورات العقد الماضي أتت بثمارٍ مُرّة، ألا وهي الحرب الأهلية والمحن الإنسانية وظهور العناصر المتطرفة القوية وانهيار ضوابط الحكم.

 واليوم، بدلاً من السعي إلى تغيير العالم، يُظهر العرب بمعظمهم (وخصوصًا جيل الشباب) أن تحسين وضعهم المادي فحسب يكفيهم. وهم في غالب الأحيان يعطون الأفضلية للمصالح الفردية على حساب المصالح الجماعية، كأنهم يستلهمون من الحساسية الفردية المفرطة التي تسود اليوم العالم أجمع.

إذًا، يرسم هذان الاستطلاعان صورة الجيل العربي الشاب في القرن الواحد والعشرين. إنه جيلٌ سئم من شعارات النضال والثورة التي عرفها العالم العربي في القرن العشرين والتي لم تُفضِ إلى إنجازات مهمة تُذكر. وعلى العكس، يشعر معظم العرب أن هذه الحقبة لم تؤدِّ إلا إلى تدهور أوضاعهم. كما أن هذا الجيل على اتصال سلكي ولا سلكي ببعضه البعض وبالعالم الخارجي، ولذلك فهو مدرك للعالم الأوسع وللهوة بين ما يحدث في الخارج ووضعه الداخلي. ويتوق أيضًا إلى تحقيق ذاته، لكنه مستاء من عجزه عن تحقيق رغباته.

من هذا المنطلق، يواجه الجيل العربي الشاب صعوبةً في تحديد موقع ممثليه في أي قيادة وطنية، ويشعر بأنه مستبعد عن خصائص النظام أو أهدافه؛ حتى أنه يشعر إلى حدٍ كبير أنه يتحدث لغة ويتبنى مفاهيم مختلفة تمامًا عن الأجيال السابقة.

وفي هذا السياق، أفادت أكثرية المشاركين في كلا الاستطلاعين بأنهم لا يجدون تشابهًا بينهم وبين أي حزب أو حركة سياسية، وأن ثقتهم في أيٍّ من تلك الأحزاب أو الحركات ضئيلة. إنه إذًا جيلٌ غير سياسي بالدرجة الكبرى، ويكاد يكون معاديًا للأيديولوجية. وفي توجّهٍ أخذ يتنامى خلال العقد الماضي، أصبح ملاذه الرئيسي هو ببساطة الهروب من المنطقة بأسرها. وبذلك، يُعرب نصف أبناء الفئة العمرية الصغرى، ولا سيما في لبنان وليبيا والعراق، عن رغبتهم في الهجرة من العالم العربي، ويقول 40 في المائة منهم إنهم لن يعودوا أبدًا.

ثالثًا، على الصعيد الثقافي، يعكس الاستطلاعان نظرةً إلى العالم ملؤها التناقضات الداخلية أو أقله التضارب. فمن جهة، تقول نسبةٌ كبيرة ومتزايدة من العرب إنهم إما متدينون إلى حد ما (63 في المائة) أو متدينون جدًا (23 في المائة)، وأن الدين هو العنصر الأساسي في هويتهم: وهذا رأي 40 في المائة، ويأتي الدين في هذه الحالة قبل العائلة أو الانتماء الوطني.

من جهة أخرى، ثمة معارضة شديدة (70 في المائة) لمشاركة رجال الدين في إدارة شؤون الحكم، ويعود ذلك على ما يبدو إلى خيبة الأمل الواسعة النطاق من كل الحالات التي تولّت فيها أطرافٌ إسلامية السلطة في الدول العربية: من حركة "حماس" في غزة عام 2007، فحكم "الإخوان المسلمين" في مصر بين 2012 و2013، وصولاً إلى نظام "داعش" المرعب والمدمّر في أجزاء من سوريا والعراق خلال الأعوام 2014-2018. بهذا الصدد، خرج الاستطلاعان بمزيج غريب آخر من المواقف الجديرة بالملاحظة، وهو النفور العارم (بنسبة 88 في المائة) من ظاهرة "داعش"، والادعاء (بنسبة 55 في المائة) بأنها تطورت برعاية قوى خارجية وليس من اعتلالات داخلية في العالم العربي (27 في المائة).

رابعًا، يحتل العالم السيبراني/الإنترنت مكانةً مركزية في الحياة العربية المعاصرة، لا سيما بين جيل الشباب. وبشكل عام، أصبحت نسبة مستخدمي الإنترنت اليوم وفقا لتقرير مؤشر الرأي العام 73 في المائة من العرب، مقارنةً بـ 55 في المائة فقط عام 2011. ومن بين هؤلاء، يملك 865 في المائة ممّن يستخدمون الإنترنت حسابًا على فيسبوك، فيما يملك 55 في المائة حسابًا على إنستغرام و43 في المائة على تويتر. والواقع أن هذا العالم يعرّف الشباب العربي على العالم بطريقة لم تكن ممكنة لمن يكبرهم سنًّا. وهذا بدوره يجعل من الصعب على الأنظمة العربية إخفاء الحقيقة أو فصل شعبها عن العالم الخارجي – لا بل يزيد عليها صعوبة إقناعهم بمظاهر كاذبة. فنشرات الأخبار والأفكار الجديدة تنتشر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط بسرعة نقراتٍ قليلة أو رسالة على تطبيق واتساب، حتى لو كان معظم هذه التبادلات مجرّد شعارات أو محتوى سطحي.

عند النظر إلى كلا الاستطلاعين مجتمعَين، يمكن التوصل إلى استنتاج مركزي وهو أن التقلبات الإقليمية لا تزال موجودة. فمعظم المشاكل الأساسية التي "تفتّح" فيها زهر الربيع العربي للمرة الأولى لا تزال بدون معالجة، لا بل إن الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي للشباب العربي تدهور فعليًا من نواحٍ كثيرة، باستثناء دول الخليج العربية حيث أتاح الاستقرار الاقتصادي النسبي مرور هذه التقلبات بهدوء.

وهذا هو "الشرق الأوسط الجديد" الحقيقي، لكنه شرق أوسط يفتقر إلى الاستقرار بشكل كبير، وأُسسه المتزعزعة هي وجود عدة ملايين من الشباب الذين يتعارض طموحهم بالتغيير في تجاربهم اليومية مع إحباطات الواقع غير المتغير الذي يجب أن يتحمّلوه.

بالرغم من انشغال العالم العربي بفيروس كورونا خلال العام الماضي، لا تزال هذه الاضطرابات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأعمق تصيب جيل الشباب في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، ومن الممكن أن تتجسّد في موجة ثالثة من الربيع العربي، موجة قد تتطور في عدة مواقع مختلفة وربما تتجدد في دول سبق أن شهدتها. وفي طليعة هذه الفئة مصر التي يُعتبر وضعها الاقتصادي الحساس على شفير الانهيار دائمًا. ولبنان مرشح آخر، فهو اليوم أشبه ببركان قد يثور في أي لحظة.

في المقابل، قد تنشب الاضطرابات في أماكن جديدة لم تختبرها حتى الآن. وأبرز منطقة مرشحة هنا هي الأردن، حيث يمكن أن يصبح الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي، مقرونًا بالنقد العلني المتزايد للنظام الملكي، نموذجًا لاحتجاجات داخلية حادة. وثمة أيضًا الساحة الفلسطينية حيث يتعرّض النظام الحاكم في كلٍّ من غزة ورام الله لضغوط شديدة من أجل التجاوب بشكل حقيقي مع المشاكل الأساسية لشبابه – وليس واضحًا حتى متى سينجح كلا النظامين في إبعاد الاحتجاجات الداخلية عنه من خلال تحويل محور الإحباط والغضب الشعبيَّين نحو "العدو الإسرائيلي".

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذا التقلب في غالبية العالم العربي، وخصوصًا في الدول المجاورة، يثير قلق إسرائيل، ولكنها لا تملك إلا القليل من الأدوات الفعالة التي تستطيع من خلالها ممارسة أي تأثير كبير في تلك الساحات. غير أن احتمال حدوث اضطرابات على الساحة الفلسطينية يشكل خطرًا حقيقيًا على إسرائيل، وقد يكون له تداعيات مباشرة على وضعها الاستراتيجي. وهذا هو بالتحديد المجال الذي تملك فيه إسرائيل، بخلاف ظروف الدول العربية المجاورة، عددًا أكبر من الأدوات المتاحة، ولا سيما تلك المتعلقة بالشؤون الاقتصادية والمدنية، من أجل التأثير على الأحداث.

يدرك معظم الناس في الضفة الغربية بالدرجة، أنه بالرغم من ظروفهم الصعبة، لا يزال وضعهم أفضل من وضع الأماكن الأخرى في المنطقة التي كان عليها أن تعيش الربيع العربي. وبحسب استطلاع خليل الشقاقي لشهر كانون الأول 2019، فإن 65٪ من الفلسطينيين لا يريدون أن يمتد الربيع العربي إلى الساحة الفلسطينية.

ومن ثم، يمكن لإسرائيل أن تعمل على دعم الاستقرار هناك من خلال تشجيع المشاريع الاقتصادية الكبيرة في الضفة الغربية مع الاستمرار في تحويل الإيرادات والأموال وإصدار التصاريح للعمال، حتى مع استمرار الأزمة السياسية. يجب أن تركز إسرائيل أيضًا على الحفاظ على مستوى مرتفع نسبيًا من جودة الحياة في الضفة الغربية مع العمل على إقناع المجتمع الدولي بإرسال المزيد من الاستثمارات أو التبرعات للسلطة الفلسطينية.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Ten Years Since the “Arab Spring”: Despair Has Not Become More Comfortable


Also available in العربية

October 27, 2020

Two new, wide-ranging Arab public opinion polls were released recently, designed to measure underlying regional trends and, in part, to mark the tenth anniversary of the Arab Spring. The first is the 2019-20 Arab Opinion Index, the seventh in a series of annual public opinion surveys conducted by the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies in Doha, Qatar. The second is the 12th Annual Arab Youth Survey, administered by the Dubai-based ASDA’A BCW communications agency. Both research reports are based on the analysis of survey responses collected in the past year from tens of thousands of people across 15 Arab countries.

As with most Arab surveys, one must examine any questions touching on the political arena with caution, verging on suspicion. Such polls often reflect the interests of the survey organizer, and the respondents themselves are likely to display much caution in giving their answers. As such, it is not surprising to see, in a survey conducted under Qatari auspices, that the results indicate that most Arabs express hostility toward Saudi Arabia, shun recognition of Israel (by a margin of 88% in this account), and yearn for pan-Arab solidarity; after all, Azmi Bishara, the renegade Israeli Arab politician and hardline Arab nationalist, heads this research institute. In contrast, in the Arab Youth Survey, Saudi Arabia is described as a rising power in the region; and the UAE, for the ninth year in a row, earns the title of favorite place to live among all Arabs, surpassing the United States, Canada, or Britain.

As such, the more interesting parts of these polls, as in most Arab surveys (including among the Palestinians) are the sections about social, cultural, and economic issues. These questions remain relatively free of political calculations and are therefore likely to reflect more authentic underlying trends. Indeed, these two Arab surveys, sharply different in other ways, exhibit a rare uniformity of views in precisely those more apolitical areas. 

Their sad consensus is this: a decade after the optimistic eruption of the Arab Spring, most inhabitants of these Arab states—especially among the younger generation—sense a combination of material privation, apprehension, or even despair about their future. They also express a total lack of confidence in the ability or will of their regimes to solve the basic problems they face in either the social or the economic sphere.

To be sure, as David Pollock first pointed out several years ago, there is not just one but many different “Arab streets” in different countries—or even, at times, within one Arab state. One can also find some bright exceptions to this general Arab winter of discontent. The overall picture, however, presents the following stark conclusions.

First, economic realities now stand at the center of Arab publics’ agendas and at the core of their personal and collective desires. When respondents of the Arab Opinion Index were asked about the main reasons behind the eruption of the first and second waves of the Arab Spring—the first one a decade ago, and the second one in other countries during the past year—the following responses led the list: unemployment, personal debt, and government corruption. In 2015, 15% of Arab Youth Survey respondents reported that they were mired in debt; today, the corresponding average figure has leapt to 35%, with especially high proportions among Syrians, Jordanians, and Palestinians. Moreover, 80% of all Arab Youth Survey respondents say they think Arab regimes are corrupt.

Second, in sharp contrast, issues of democracy or political freedoms appear only on the margins of responses from either survey. The relegation of such issues to the sidelines is particularly pronounced right now, as the responses are given in the midst of a second regional wave of popular protests during 2019-2020. This evinces a realization that the past decade of revolutions has borne rather bitter fruit: civil war, humanitarian distress, the rise of powerful extremist elements, and the collapse of governing restraints.

Today, rather than seeking to change the world, most Arabs (especially the younger generation) demonstrate that mere improvements in their material condition would suffice. Often enough they prioritize self realization over collective interests, as if inspired by the extreme individualist sensibility now prevalent around the world.

These two survey responses, then, can help provide a rough profile of the shared concerns and priorities of the young, twenty-first century Arab generation. It is tired of slogans about struggle or revolution that characterized the Arab world in the twentieth century but yielded few meaningful achievements. On the contrary; most Arabs feel that era produced only a decline in their condition. This generation is also wired and networked, and therefore well aware of the wider world, including the gap between what transpires out there and its own internal situation. It yearns for self-realization yet is frustrated by the inability to realize its desires.

From this vantage point, the younger Arab generation has a hard time locating its representatives in any national leadership; it feels alienated from establishment values and objectives. To a great extent, there is the sense that this new generation speaks an entirely different language, and grasps a wholly separate conceptual world, from those of previous generations.

This is suggested by the fact that the majority in both surveys report that they do not identify with any political party or movement, and that their confidence in any of them is minimal. This, then, is a generation that is largely apolitical, indeed almost anti-ideological. Its main refuge, in a growing trend over the past decade, would be simply to escape from the region altogether. It’s no surprise, then, that a majority of respondents in the Arab Youth Survey, most notably those in Lebanon, Libya, and Iraq, express a strong desire to emigrate from the Arab world, including 40% who have considered leaving their country of origin permanently.

Third, in the cultural realm, the two surveys sketch the outlines of a worldview replete with internal contradictions, or at least ambivalence. As the Arab Opinion Index demonstrates, a large and increasing proportion of Arabs claim that they are either traditional (63%) or very religious (23%), and that religion is the central ingredient in their identity: 40% chose religion as the most important aspect of identity ahead of either family or national affiliation.

On the other hand, there exists sweeping opposition (70%) to clerical involvement in managing government affairs, apparently in view of widespread disillusionment with all those cases in which Islamist elements took over power in Arab countries: from Hamas in Gaza in 2007, to Muslim Brotherhood rule in Egypt in 2012-13, to the terrifying, ruinous regime of ISIS in parts of Syria and Iraq in 2014-18. 

In this connection, another curious combination of attitudes emerging from the Arab Opinion Index is worthy of note: overwhelming repulsion (88%) regarding the ISIS phenomenon, alongside the claim (by 55%) that it developed under the auspices of outside powers rather than from maladies internal to the Arab world (27%).

Fourth, the online domain unsurprisingly lies at the epicenter of contemporary Arab life, particularly among the younger generation. As the Arab Opinion Index shows, 73% of Arabs are now Internet users, compared to just 55% in 2011. Of those, 86% of those who use internet have a Facebook account; 55% are on Instagram; and 43% are on Twitter. 

This domain exposes younger Arabs to the world in a way that was simply not possible for their elders. That, in turn, makes it difficult for Arab regimes to keep things secret, or to detach their publics from the outside world—and even harder to sell them false facades. News bulletins and new ideas spread across the entire Middle East at speed of a few clicks or a WhatsApp message, even if most of that traffic consists only of slogans or superficial content.

Taken together, the central conclusion that emerges from this pair of polls that regional volatility is still with us. Most of the basic problems in whose ‘garden’ the Arab Spring first blossomed have not been resolved. In fact, the socioeconomic status of Arab youth has actually regressed in many respects. The exceptions are the Gulf Arab states, where relative economic stability has allowed this volatility to pass quietly over them.

The shaky foundations of the real “New Middle East,” could be easily destabilized by the many millions of young people, in whose everyday experience their aspirations for change clash incessantly with the frustrations of the unchanging reality they must endure.

Despite the general preoccupation with the coronavirus around the Arab world in the past year, this deeper socioeconomic unrest continues to swirl around the younger generation across the region. It could find expression in a third wave of the Arab Spring, which could develop in any of the countries suffering from the maladies outlined by young respondents, including those that already witnessed revolution a decade before. First and foremost in this category is Egypt, whose sensitive economic situation lies perennially on the precipice. Lebanon is another such candidate, currently likened to a volcano that could erupt at any moment.

Alternatively, unrest might flare up in some new places that avoided the first round. The prime possibility here is Jordan, where the combination of its socioeconomic situation and widening public criticism of the monarchy are liable to become a template for severe internal protests. Then there is the Palestinian arena, where the regimes in both Gaza and Ramallah are hard pressed to provide real answers to the core problems of their young population—and it is unclear how much longer they will succeed in deflecting internal protest against them by turning the focus of popular frustration and rage against “the Israeli enemy.”

Though lacking much practical influence, volatility in much of the Arab region—especially in neighboring countries—is also worrisome news for Israel. Viewed as particularly threatening is the prospect of unrest in the Palestinian arena, which potentially has direct implications for Israel’s strategic posture. And that is precisely where, in contrast to conditions in surrounding Arab states, Israel does have more tools available, especially in economic and civil affairs, in order to exert an influence upon events.

Particularly in the West Bank, there is already an understanding that notwithstanding their already difficult circumstances, their current situation remains better compared to other parts of the region that have had to live through an Arab Spring. According Khalil Shikaki`s Poll from December 2019, 65% of the Palestinians don’t want the Arab spring to spread into the Palestinian arena.

Israel can further support stability by promoting broad economic projects in the West Bank while continuing the transfer of revenues, money and a large amount of permits for workers, even if the political crisis continues. Israel should also focus on keeping a relatively high standard of life in the West Bank while working to convince the international community to make further investments in or donations to the Palestinian Authority.

Israel has already made effective use of some of these tools over the course of the past decade to help stabilize the situation, primarily in the West Bank though in Gaza as well. Continued application of these tools promises to help ensure that the Arab Spring keeps skipping over the Palestinian Territories and preventing some of the more dire outcomes evidenced elsewhere in the Arab world.

Customize your RSS Feed