أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

السعودية وكرة القدم: أكثر من مجرد لعبة


متاح أيضاً في English

13 تموز/يوليو 2018

ها قد اقترب موعد المباراة النهائية في بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم، ولعل أبرز ما تميّزت به البطولة هذا العام هو مشاركة أربع دول شرق أوسطية في البطولة للمرة الأولى منذ سنوات عديدة. فقد نجحت كلٌّ من مصر والمغرب وتونس والسعودية في التأهل للبطولة بعد فشلها لسنوات في تحقيق ذلك، مع أن فِرق تلك الدول لم تتأهل إلى ما بعد دور المجموعات. ومع ذلك، وعلى غرار الكثير من الدول، حققت السعودية بفضل مشاركتها في المباريات مكاسب سياسية أكبر ممّا يوحيه أداء فريقها، إذ استخدمت المملكة كأس العالم للترويج لمبادرتها السياحية وكسب زخم سياسي مع استعراض صورة التقدم والإنماء الحديثين للدولة، وإثارة حرب دبلوماسية بينها وبين قطر.

فقد وطأ فريق "الصقور السعودية" الوطني الأراضي الروسية بعد عجزه عن التأهل لكأس العالم منذ العام 2006. والواقع أن السعوديين لم يهتمّوا سابقًا بالبطولات ولم يجعلوا من كرة القدم أولوية.  ومع أن فريق "الصقور السعودية" أنشئ في خمسينات القرن العشرين، لم يشارك في أي منافسة حتى عام 1984 حين شارك في بطولة كأس آسيا. بيد أن هذا الاهتمام المفاجئ بالبطولات الدولية تصادف مع نهوض الاقتصاد السعودي نتيجة ارتفاع عائدات النفط. وهكذا، يبدو أن مشاركة المملكة في البطولة كان مرتبط بالتطورات المحلية التي طرأت على المملكة، مما يفسر جزئيا كيفية نجاح المملكة في الوصول إلى روسيا هذا العام.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن تجدّد الاهتمام بكأس العالم يعكس تحوّلاً مماثلاً في الأولويات السعودية: فقد بدأ ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان يروّج لخطته التي تحمل عنوان "الرؤية 2030" والساعية إلى دعم الاقتصاد في مرحلة ما بعد النفط وحكومة تُصنَّف بأنها أكثر شفافيةً وقائمةً على التكنولوجيا. والرؤية 2030 مصممة لتغيير صورة البلاد السيئة في الخارج واستقطاب الاستثمارات الأجنبية واتخاذ مكانة ريادية في المنطقة. ونظرًا لشعبية كأس العالم المنتشرة في كل مكان، فقد كانت رؤية الأمير محمد بن سلمان الظاهرية إزاء البطولة استراتيجيةً بالقدر نفسه.

والواقع أن تدريب فريق قادر على التأهل لكأس العالم هو استثمار جدّي، وخصوصًا بالنسبة إلى الدول التي تفتقر إلى المنشآت الحديثة والمدربين الموثوقين. وهاتان مشكلتان عانت منهما المملكة حيث بدّلت ثلاثة مدربين خلال السنة الماضية وافتقرت إلى البنية التحتية المحلية اللازمة لفريق ذي مستوى عالمي. ولكن في بطولة كأس العالم هذه، كان واضحًا أن الحكومة السعودية رأت في "الصقور السعودية" استثمارًا جديرًا، حيث دفعت للاعبين للانضمام إلى الأندية الإسبانية منذ شهر تشرين الأول من السنة الفائتة – وهذا مشروع مكلف حسّن العلاقات السعودية-الإسبانية.

ولكن يبدو أن هذه الاستثمارات أتت ثمارها، أقله على صعيد السياسات الخارجية. فقد قام ولي العهد بإطلالته العلنية الأولى منذ شهرين حين جلس مع الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين لحضور المباراة الافتتاحية بين فريقَي دولتيهما. وفي حين مُنيت "الصقور السعودية" بالخسارة الكبرى في البطولة هذه السنة بمعدل خمسة مقابل صفر، استغلّ الأمير محمد بن سلمان الفرصة للتحدث مع بوتين حول اجتماع أوبك في حزيران/يونيو، علمًا أن الزعيمين انتقلا في وقت لاحق من اليوم نفسه إلى الكرملين لاستكمال النقاش.
وتقرر في اجتماع أوبك فرض سقف إنتاج النفط الخام جزئيًا، حيث يرى بعض المحللين انه يمكن زيادة الإنتاج إلى 600 ألف برميل في اليوم. وقد عارضت العديد من الدول هذه الخطوة، خاصة تلك التي لديها امل في أن تحقق زيادة في عائداتها النفطية، بما في ذلك إيران التي تواجه عقوبات أمريكية وشيكة.

والجدير بالذكر أن المخطط السعودي بتوسيع العلاقات مع الدول الخارجية بواسطة سياسة الرياضة لم يتوقف على روسيا. ففي محاولة للارتباط بالقوى العالمية، عمدت السعودية إلى دعم المزايدة التي قامت بها أمريكا الشمالية لاستضافة كأس العالم عام 2026 وقد قاد الحملة رئيس "الهيئة العامة للرياضة" في السعودية تركي الشيخ، مع أن غالبية دول الشرق الأوسط بما فيها قطر، التي قطعت السعودية علاقاتها مع العام الماضي بزعم تمويل الإرهاب، أيّدت المزايدة المغربية. وقد انتقد الشيخ المغرب على عدم ووقوفه إلى جانب المملكة العربية السعودية في خلال أزمة مجلس التعاون الخليج، كما أثنى على الولايات المتحدة على تويتر طوال العام الماضي، وأعلن عن دعمه لاستضافة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية كأس العالم 2016، وذلك خلال مقابلة تليفزيونية في أيار/مايو الماضي مع قناة" سي ان ان".

بيد أن الفيفا ألقت المزيد من الأضواء على هذه الدولة الخليجية هذا العام، وسمحت لهم بتقديم أنفسهم على الساحة الدولية بشكل أكثر إيجابية. فقد أظهرت السعودية حماسةً جديدةً إزاء السياحة الدولية بما يتعدى دورها التقليدي كمقصد للحجاج، وجاء كأس العالم ليصب في خدمة هذه الخطط تمامًا. إذ كانت السعودية قد شرعت لتوها بإصدار تأشيرات دخول سياحية عامة – إلكترونية – للمرة الأولى منذ سبع سنوات لتصبح زيارة السعودية أسهل من السابق حين كانت تأشيرات الدخول حكرًا على رجال الأعمال والحجّاج.

ويشار في هذا السياق إلى أن المبادرة السياحية المدرجة في رؤية ولي العهد للعام 2030 تشمل إقامة فنادق جديدة ووحدات سكنية ومنتجعات ووسائل نقل، ومن الممكن ألا يكون بعضها مثل "مشروع البحر الأحمر" خاضعًا لقوانين السعودية بشأن الكحول واللباس، وهذا قرار هدفه زيادة جاذبية الدولة أمام الأجانب. وبالرغم من الظهور المحزن لفريق "الصقور السعودية" في كأس العالم هذه السنة، إن استمرار استعراضاته وازدياد نجاحاته قد يساهمان في إنشاء وبيع ملاعب جديدة ومعدات رياضية خاصة بكرة القدم فضلاً عن الحقوق الدعائية ومبيعات التذاكر. ومع أن كأس العالم لم يكن مفيدًا بالكامل للدول التي حاولت أن تحذو حذو السعودية، تختلف هذه الأخيرة عن غيرها في أنها تستخدم كرة القدم لتشجيع قطاع سياحي جديد تستطيع دعمه بواسطة الأموال المتوافرة لديها.


وإن المشاركة في البطولة هو جزء من طموح الأمير محمد بن سلمان بجعل الفريق السعودي واحد من أهم سبع نوادي في العالم بحلول عام 2020. إن حقيقة احتضان قطر لكأس العالم 2022 ستجعل من الصعب على ولى العهد مواصلة هذه الخطة إذا استمر الصدع بين البلدين. ومع ذلك، فإن الاستفادة من المشاركة في البطولة تعتمد كلياً على تحسين أداء الصقور.

وعلاوةً على دعم العلاقات الدولية، استخدمت السعودية كأس العالم لتعميق خلافها مع دولة قطر التي ستستضيف البطولة عام 2022. حتى أن تركي الشيخ وجّه تهديدات قانونية إلى قطر بسبب طريقة تغطيتها للمباراة الأولى التي خاضها فريق "الصقور السعودية"، فغرّد على تويتر قائلاً إن شبكة "بي إن سبورتس" أساءت إلى السعودية والرياضيين والمسؤولين الرياضيين السعوديين عبر "استغلال الرياضة لتحقيق أهداف سياسية". هذا وقد تسببت التوترات الناتجة عن المباراة بخسارة مالية لقطر: فمع أن شبكة "بي إن سبورتس" القطرية حصلت على الحق الحصري لبث مباريات كأس العالم في الشرق الأوسط، رفضت السعودية بث هذه القناة القطرية بعد انهيار المفاوضات، لتصبح بذلك إحدى قنوات "بي أوت كيو" المقرصنة القناة المحلية الوحيدة التي تبث مباريات كأس العالم في السعودية. ويشار إلى أن "بي أوت كيو" تلقى تغطيةً دعائيةً كثيفةً على الصعيد المحلي، وقد أفيد بأنها حصلت على "موافقة ضمنية" من السلطات بالرغم من المحاولات الفاشلة التي قامت بها الفيفا وقطر لإقفال القناة.

وفي الحادي عشر من يوليو الجاري، أصدرت الفيفا بيانا يفيد بانها تعمل مع شبكة "بي إن سبورتس" لإغلاق قنوات "بي أوت كيو" وطالبت السلطات السعودية بمساعدتها. وقد استجابت وزارة الإعلام السعودية في اليوم التالي، ورحبت بالتحقيق لوقف قنوات "بي أوت كيو" وعمليات القرصنة في المملكة. كما زعمت الحكومة السعودية أن الشبكة المقرصنة ليس لها مقر في المملكة وان موقع الجزيرة الإخباري القطري كان وراء تلك الرسائل الخاطئة. وألقت المملكة العربية السعودية اللوم على قطر واتهمتها بالقرصنة و"القصور التكنولوجي" نظرا لان "بي إن سبورتس" فشلت في حماية شبكتها. كما لفت الإعلان الانتباه إلى مزاعم التزوير التي صدرت عن الفيفا وشبكة "بي إن سبورتس"، ومحاولة التقليل من مزاعم المنظمة.

وأظهرت التحركات السعودية حتى الآن اهتمام الحكومة الجديد بالرياضة كأداة سياسية، وهو تكتيك لم تبدُ الدولة مهتمةً به في السابق. وفيما تستغل المملكة كرة القدم وكأس العالم على حدٍّ سواء، يبقى الواقع أن السعودية تنضم إلى اللعبة متأخرةً لتصبح واحدة من الدول الكثيرة التي سبقتها في استغلال كرة القدم لدعم اقتصاداتها وتحقيق المكاسب السياسية، فالمناقصات التي قامت بها الدول المضيفة الأخيرة كالبرازيل وروسيا وجنوب أفريقيا كانت متداخلة مع آمال النهوض بقطاعاتها السياحية والاقتصادية – لكن هذه الأحلام لم تتحقق دائمًا. كما أن هذه الفرق كانت تسجّل أداءً أفضل من "الصقور السعودية" الذي لم يتخطَّ دور المجموعات إلا مرة واحدة. لذلك، وحتى إذا قدمت السعودية أداءً جيدًا في بطولة كأس العالم، فقد تكون مخططاتها بتحويل النجاح الرياضي إلى مكاسب سياحية محدودة. وإنّ السعي إلى القيام باستثمارات سياسية جدية في كرة القدم يعكس التناقض الحاصل في أن هذه الرياضية المحبوبة لكلفتها الميسورة وروحها الجماعية أصبحت وسيلةً مكلفةً لدى الحكومات للتنافس على النفوذ والسلطة على الساحة العالمية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

After the Match, Saudi Arabia Makes the Real Play


Also available in العربية

July 13, 2018

As the FIFA World Cup final approaches, a highlight this year was the four Middle Eastern countries participating for the first time in years. Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia, and Saudi Arabia each succeeded in qualifying, though their respective teams did not make it further than the first round of the Cup. However, like many countries, Saudi Arabia has gained more through its participation in the games than its team’s performance would suggest. The kingdom has used the Cup to gain political traction and further its tourism initiatives, while broadcasting the country’s new image of modern progress and fomenting the Saudi-Qatari diplomatic war.

The Saudi national team “the Falcons” arrived in Russia after not having qualified for a FIFA Cup since 2006. Moreover, the Saudis have historically been uninterested in tournaments and have not made soccer a priority. Although formed in the 1950s, the Falcons did not enter a competition until the 1984 AFC Asian Cup. This sudden interest in international tournaments coincided with Saudi Arabia’s economic boom from a rise in oil revenues. The Falcons’ participation in this World Cup similarly corresponds with a recent rise in Saudi visibility due to efforts to reform socially and economically. Thus, tournament participation appears to be tied to domestic development, partially explaining why Saudi Arabia has succeeded in reaching Russia this year.

The renewed focus on the World Cup reflects a shift in Saudi priorities: Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MbS) has started pushing his Vision 2030 plan for a post-oil economy and a government billed as more transparent and technologically driven. Vision 2030 is designed to revamp the country’s image abroad, attract foreign investment, and position itself as a regional leader. Given the ubiquitous popularity of the World Cup, MbS’s apparent vision for the tournament has been just as strategic.

Training a team able to qualify for the World Cup is a serious investment, especially for countries that lack existing modern facilities and reliable coaches. Saudi Arabia has struggled with both issues; cycling between three coaches in the last year and lacking domestic infrastructure for a world-class team. But at this Cup, the Saudi government clearly viewed the Falcons as a worthwhile investment, paying for athletes to play in Spanish clubs starting in October of last year—a costly venture that promoted Saudi-Spanish relations.

These investments appear to have paid off, at least on the foreign policy level. The Crown Prince made his first public appearance in two months to sit with President Vladimir Putin as they watched their respective teams play the World Cup’s opening match. The Falcons suffered the biggest defeat at this year’s tournament, losing 5-0. However, MbS took advantage of the occasion to talk about the June OPEC meeting with Putin, and the two leaders continued the discussion at the Kremlin later that same day.

The following week, OPEC agreed to a partial lift on their production cap that analysts say could increase oil output by 600,000 barrels per day. Hoping to see an increase their oil revenue, many countries opposed this move, including Iran, which is facing impending U.S. sanctions.

Saudi Arabia’s play to expand relationships with foreign countries through the politics of sports has not stopped at Russia. In an effort to tie itself to global powers, Saudi Arabia backed the North American bid for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, with the head of the Saudi General Sports Authority, Turki al-Sheikh, leading the campaign. However, most Middle Eastern countries promoted the Moroccan bid, including Qatar, which Saudi Arabia cut ties with last year for allegedly financing terrorism. Al-Sheikh criticized Morocco for not siding with Saudi Arabia on the Gulf Cooperation Council rift and praised the United States on Twitter throughout the last year. When asked by CNN this May, al-Sheikh voiced support for the United States to host the 2026 World Cup.

This year’s World Cup has allowed for the Gulf state to present itself on the international stage in a positive light. Saudi Arabia has demonstrated a new enthusiasm for foreign tourism beyond its traditional role as the destination of the Hajj and Umrah, and the World Cup plays right into those plans. The country has just started issuing general tourist visas for the first time in seven years, making Saudi Arabia more accessible. In the past, visas were reserved for businessmen and pilgrims traveling to Mecca.

The Crown Prince’s tourism initiative in Vision 2030 involves new hotels, residential units, resorts, and transportation. One of the resort destinations, titled the Red Sea Project, may not follow Saudi Arabia’s laws on alcohol and dress, a decision designed to make the country more enticing to foreigners. Despite the Falcons’ dismal showing in this World Cup, continued exposure and increased success of the team could help create and sell new stadiums, soccer gear, advertising rights, and ticket sales. This plan, however, has not been successful for countries attempting to follow the same path as Saudi Arabia. But the kingdom differs in that they are using soccer to boost a new tourism industry that is already supported financially.

Being part of the tournament is a component of MbS’ ambition to be one of the top seven leagues in the world by 2020. The fact that Qatar is holding the 2022 World Cup will make it difficult to continue this plan if the rift between the two countries persists. Nevertheless, capitalizing on participation in the tournament will depend on the improvement in the Falcons’ performance.

While advancing foreign relationships, Saudi Arabia has used the World Cup to further deepen its schism with Qatar. Al-Sheikh has even made legal threats against Qatar for their pointed reporting of the Falcons’ first game, tweeting that the Qatari soccer broadcasting network, beIN Sports, wronged Saudi Arabia, its athletics, and its sports officials by “exploiting sports to achieve political goals.” Tensions over the game have also caused financial loss for Qatar: while beIN acquired rights as the single registered broadcaster of the World Cup for the Middle East, Saudi Arabia has refused to broadcast the Qatari channel and pirated beIN to create the network beoutQ, which is now the single domestic broadcaster of the World Cup in Saudi Arabia. BeoutQ is heavily promoted domestically and is reported to have received the “tacit consent” of authorities, even as both FIFA and Qatar have unsuccessfully tried to shut beoutQ down.

On July 11, FIFA released a statement that they are working with beIN to shut down beoutQ, calling on Saudi authorities to help them. The Saudi Ministry of Media responded the next day, welcoming the investigation to stop beoutQ and piracy in the kingdom. The Saudi government claimed that the pirated network was not located in their country and that Qatari news site Al-Jazeera was behind the miscommunication. Saudi Arabia blamed the piracy accusations on Qatar’s embarrassment of their “technological shortcomings,” since beIN had been unable to protect their network. The announcement also drew attention to allegations of fraud by FIFA and beIN, attempting to debase the organization’s allegations.
 
So far, Saudi Arabia’s plays have shown the government’s new interest in sports as a political tool, a tactic that did not seem to appeal to the country previously. And while the Gulf kingdom is capitalizing on both soccer and the World Cup, the reality is that Saudi Arabia is coming late to the game, joining the many countries who have exploited soccer for boosting their own economies and political weight; recent hosts Brazil, Russia, and South Africa’s bids were intertwined with the hopes for a rise in their tourism industries and economies—and these dreams were not always fulfilled. Those teams have also historically done better than the Falcons. Therefore, even if Saudi Arabia performs well at the World Cup, their plans to turn athletic success into touristic gains may be limited. Examining the serious investments of politics into soccer reflects the paradox that a sport beloved for its affordability and team spirit has become a costly, possibly ineffective, means for governments to vie for influence and prestige on the world stage.

Customize your RSS Feed