أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

ما قد يعنيه فوز ترامب بالنسبة للعلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة وروسيا

آنا بورشفسكايا

متاح أيضاً في English

"فوربس"

11 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2015


اهتزت الدوما الروسية (البرلمان) بالتصفيق لدى إعلان فوز دونالد ترامب في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 9 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر. وبالفعل، من حقّ الكرملين أن يكون سعيداً. فقد عبّر ترامب في حملته الانتخابية، وبإصرارٍ كبير، عن إعجابه بالرئيس الروسي بوتين أكثر من أي دكتاتور آخر. كما صرّح أنّه سوف "يبحث في" رفع العقوبات المفروضة على روسيا والاعتراف بشبه جزيرة القرم كجزءٍ منها. ووصف ترامب حلف شمال الأطلسي بالـ "قديم والمكلِف" وأشار إلى أنّ الولايات المتحدة قد لا تساعد حلفاءها الضعفاء في حلف "الناتو" إذا ما تعرّضوا للهجوم، على الرغم من أن المعاهدة تلزمها القيام بذلك. وقد أحاط ترامب نفسه بمجموعةٍ من الشركاء المقربين من موسكو، في حين خدم الاختراق الروسي لنظام البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بـ "اللجنة الوطنية الديمقراطية" الحملة الانتخابية لترامب.

فما هي الإجراءات التي سيتخذها ترامب تجاه روسيا بعد تولّيه منصب الرئاسة؟ والجواب البسيط على هذا السؤال أننا لا نعلم. فترامب رجلٌ يصعب التنبؤ بخطواته. أضف إلى ذلك أننا لا نعلم خططه للسياسة الخارجية، إذ لم يقدّم سوى رؤوس أقلامٍ حتى الآن، وكان معظم تركيزه يصبّ في الشؤون االمحلية.

لذلك، ونظراً لخطابات ترامب حول روسيا وميله لعقد الصفقات وافتقاده لأي مبدأ إيديولوجي وتفضيله الواضح للأهلانية، من المحتمل جداً أن يرفع العقوبات عن روسيا مقابل تعاون الرئيس بوتين في سوريا، حيث ينظر كلاهما إلى الوضع السوري من الزاوية نفسها، ويعتبران أنّ كلّ من يحارب الدكتاتور السوري بشار الأسد يكون إرهابياً. وسيكون هذا الاحتمال مرعباً لو تحقق، إذ سيستمدّ بوتين عند ذلك الحين المزيد من الجرأة للتسلّط على البلدان المجاورة لروسيا وإثبات نفسه في الشرق الأوسط وتعزيز حملة التضليل التي يقودها من أجل إضعاف أوروبا والاستمرار في قمعه للشعب الروسي. وسيشاهد باقي الدكتاتوريين في العالم ذلك.

لكن في الوقت نفسه، وعلى الرغم من حماسة موسكو ودعمها لترامب خلال الحملة الانتخابية، سيتعين على الروس اليوم أن يتعاملوا مع هذا الأخير. إنّ بوتين على خير يقينٍ من أنّ الكلام لا قيمة له إلى أن يقترن بالفعل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، علينا أن لا ننسى أنّ النظام الأمريكي سيستمر في تقييد ترامب. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا، على مَن سيلقي بوتين لوم مشاكل روسيا في المستقبل إذا أعلن أنّ الولايات المتحدة لم تعد العدو؟

من الناحية التاريخية، نلاحظ أنّ القادة السوفيت فضّلوا التعامل مع الجمهوريين الذين اتسموا بالتوافق [في السياسة] والواقعية، إذ دائماً ما كانوا يفون بوعودهم. لذلك، لطالما عرف الكرملين ما الذي يمكنه توقّعه من الجمهوريين ومكانته بالنسبة إليهم. واحترم الكرملين الجمهوريين لتحلّيهم بهذه الصفات واعتبر أنّ الديمقراطيين ضعفاء، حتى لو لم يتناسب هذا الاعتبار بالضرورة مع الواقع. إلّا أنّ ترامب تحرّرٌ من الكثير من التقاليد الجمهورية - وفي الحقيقة كان ديمقراطياً معظم حياته - وقد يشكّل سلوكه الخاطئ وغير المتوقّع إشكالاً جديداً. وقد يتّفق ترامب وبوتين فيما بينهما إلى أن تتغيّر الأوضاع، ولكن الضرر لمصداقية الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها قد يكون قد حصل بالفعل.

ويشكّل فوز ترامب مشكلةً اليوم، ولكن كما سبق وذكرنا، ليست لدينا أدنى فكرة عن مخططه المستقبلي حتى الآن. وستكشف الأسابيع القليلة القادمة عن المزيد في هذا الصدد.

 

آنا بورشفسكايا هي زميلة "آيرا وينر" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

What Trump's Victory Might Mean for US-Russia Relations

Anna Borshchevskaya

Also available in العربية

Forbes

November 11, 2016


Given his campaign rhetoric about Russia, Putin, and NATO, Trump could decide to pursue a number of problematic policy moves, such as lifting Crimea-related sanctions in exchange for Moscow's cooperation in Syria.

Upon learning that Donald Trump won the American presidency on November 9, the Russian Duma (parliament) broke out in applause. The Kremlin had every reason to be happy. During his campaign Trump repeatedly -- and consistently -- expressed admiration for Russian president Vladimir Putin above all other dictators. He said he would "look at" lifting sanctions against Russia and recognizing Crimea as part of Russia. He described NATO as "obsolete and expensive" and suggested America may not come to the aid of vulnerable NATO allies if they are attacked, even though the US is treaty-bound to do so. Trump surrounded himself with associates close to Moscow while Russian hacking into the Democratic National Committee's email system helped Trump's campaign.

What is Trump going to do with regard to Russia now that he is president? The short answer is we don't know. Trump is unpredictable. Moreover we simply don't know his foreign policy plans because he barely sketched them out. Most of his focus was domestic.

That said, given Trump's Russia rhetoric, his penchant for making deals, his lack of ideological principle, and a clear preference for nativism, it is highly possible he will lift sanctions in exchange for Putin's cooperation in Syria, since Trump and Putin see the situation similarly -- everyone who is fighting Syrian dictator Bashar Assad is a terrorist. This would be frightening. Putin will feel further emboldened to bully Russia's neighbors, assert himself in the Middle East, intensify his disinformation campaign to weaken Europe, and continue his domestic crackdown. And other dictators of the world will be watching.

At the same time, for all of Moscow's enthusiasm for Trump during the campaign, they will now have to deal with him. Putin knows well that talk is nothing until it is backed up by action. Furthermore, the US system will still restrain Trump. And down the road, if Putin says America is no longer the enemy, who will he blame for Russia's problems?

Historically, Soviet leaders preferred to deal with Republicans who were consistent and pragmatic; they did what they said they would do. Thus, the Kremlin always knew what to expect and where it stood with Republicans. The Kremlin respected them for that and saw Democrats as weak, even if perception did not necessarily match reality. Trump has broken away from many Republican traditions -- indeed he was a Democrat most of his life -- and his unpredictability and erratic behavior may become problematic. Trump and Putin may get along until they don't -- but the damage to US credibility and allies may already be done.

Trump's victory is bad, but to repeat, we don't know anything yet. The next several weeks will reveal more.

 Anna Borshchevskaya is the Ira Weiner Fellow at The Washington Institute.