أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1414

قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 1701: رؤية لبنانية

نيكولاس بلانفورد

متاح أيضاً في English

21 أكتوبر 2008


"هذا العدد من نشرة المرصد السياسي هو الجزء الثاني من سلسلة من ثلاثة أجزاء حول دراسة الوضع في لبنان بعد عامين من تطبيق قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701. تتزامن هذه السلسلة مع الذكرى السنوية الخامسة والعشرين لتفجير حزب الله ثكنات مشاة البحرية الأمريكية في لبنان في 23 تشرين أول/أكتوبر، 1983، وهو هجوم ما يزال حاضراً في أذهان صناع السياسة الأمريكية في لبنان وجميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط".

«اقرأ نشرتي المرصد السياسي المرافقتين، "قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 1701: رؤية إسرائيلية" و "قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 1701: رؤية أمريكية».

بعد عامين من حرب صيف عام 2006، يواصل حزب الله وإسرائيل بالتظاهر بالولاء والاحترام لقرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701 بينما يركزان على الأعمال التحضيرية للجولة الثانية الحتمية من الصراع. ورغم أن حزب الله لم يشن عملية حدودية واحدة ضد إسرائيل منذ الحرب، أنشأت المنظمة الشيعية خطاً دفاعياً جديداً شمال نهر الليطاني واستكملت حملة تجنيد وتدريب وإعادة تسليح واسعة النطاق، لم يسبق لها مثيل من قبل. وفي الوقت نفسه، أظهرت إسرائيل استياءها من عجز كل من الأمم المتحدة والمجتمع الدولي عن وقف التعزيزات العسكرية لحزب الله.

تهريب الأسلحة

بعد أسبوع من انتهاء القتال في 14 آب/أغسطس، 2006، نُقل بأن السلطات التركية اعترضت خمس طائرات شحن إيرانية وطائرة سورية واحدة كانت تحمل أسلحة إلى حزب الله. ووفقاً لصحيفة تركية، شملت الأسلحة قاذفات صواريخ وشحنات من صواريخ C-802 المضادة للسفن، وهو السلاح نفسه الذي أعطب زورقاً صاروخياً إسرائيلياً في اليوم الثالث من الحرب. ورغم أنّ الحدود اللبنانية الشرقية مع سوريا هي الممر التقليدي لمرور الأسلحة إلى حزب الله، فقد ابتكر الحزب وسائل بديلة لشراء الأسلحة في حالة إغلاق الطرق البرية.

وفي أيلول/سبتمبر 2006، بعد شهر من انتهاء القتال، زعم الأمين العام لحزب الله حسن نصر الله، أنّ "المقاومة تمكنت من إعادة تسليح نفسها في غضون بضعة أيام وهي الآن أقوى مما كانت عليه في 12 تموز/يوليو،" أول أيام الحرب. وبكشفه عن تجديد القوة العسكرية للمنظمة، يكون نصر الله قد اعترف ضمناً بأن حزب الله كان يخرق القرار 1701، الذي تلزم الفقرتان 14 و15 منه الحكومة اللبنانية إلى تأمين حدودها ضد تهريب الأسلحة وتلزم الحكومات الأخرى بمنع بيع أو نقل الأسلحة والذخائر والمعدات "لكيانات أو أفراد" في لبنان.

وبالرغم من قيام الحكومة اللبنانية بنشر حوالي 8,000 جندي من القوات المسلحة اللبنانية على طول الحدود الشرقية، فإن بيروت ما تزال غير قادرة سياسياً على إغلاق الحدود بالكامل. وإنّ من شأن إغلاق الحدود إثارة رد فعل عكسي من قِبل سكان وادي البقاع الشرقي الفقراء وأغلبهم من الشيعة الذين يعتمدون على الحدود الوعرة لكسب العيش عن طريق تهريب السلع التجارية. وعلى هذا الاساس، فقد أبلغ فريق تقييم الحدود التابع للأمم المتحدة في تقرير المتابعة لشهر آب/أغسطس 2008، أنّ "الحدود الخضراء [أي المعابر غير النظامية] ما تزال قابلة للاختراق كما كانت خلال بعثة الفريق الأول [في عام 2007]."

التعزيزات العسكرية جنوبي الليطاني

إنّ الإستعدادات العسكرية لحزب الله شمال نهر الليطاني وفي وادي البقاع معروفة جيداً. فقد أُعلنت مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي في هذا الشريط الجبلي الممتد شمالاً من الليطاني إلى أطراف جبال الباروك كمنطقة محظورة. وأصبحت أصوات الانفجارات ونيران الرشاشات أمراً مألوفاً في أجزاء من وادي البقاع حيث يجري حزب الله تدريباته.

أما الأمر الأقل وضوحاً فهو مستوى الاستعدادات العسكرية لحزب الله بالقرب من الحدود الجنوبية. فبالرغم من أن الفقرة 8 من القرار 1701 تعيّن المنطقة الواقعة بين الخط الأزرق (خط الحدود الذي رسمته الأمم المتحدة عام 2000 بين إسرائيل ولبنان) ونهر الليطاني "منطقة خالية من أي أفراد مسلحين ومصادر قوى عسكرية وأسلحة" غير تلك التابعة للحكومة اللبنانية وقوات الأمم المتحدة المؤقتة في لبنان (اليونيفيل)، فقد قيل إنّ حزب الله يجري استعدادات عسكرية سرية في المنطقة. ففي أواخر آذار/مارس، حاولت دورية مدرعة تابعة لليونيفيل إيقاف قاطرة زراعية تسير في القطاع الغربي من الحدود في ساعة متأخرة من الليل، لكنّ سيارتين وخمسة رجال مسلحين سدوا عليها الطريق، وسمحوا للقاطرة بالفرار بما تحمل من محتويات مجهولة. وفي أيار/مايو، واجه أفراد من قوة اليونيفيل مجموعة رجال تمد كابلات في القطاع الشرقي من المنطقة التابعة للقوة، حيث تعرضوا للهجوم بالحجارة، كما اعترضتْ سبيلهم سيارات عندما واجهوا مجموعة من الرجال يمدون الكابلات في القطاع الشرقي من منطقة إنتشار قوات اليونيفيل. يُفهم من ذلك أنّ الكابلات كانت جزءاً من شبكة اتصالات الألياف البصرية التابعة لحزب الله.

بعد حرب عام 2006، أهمل حزب الله معظم مخابئه النائية بالقرب من الحدود. أمّا تلك المخابئ التي حُدّد موقعها من قبل قوات اليونيفيل والقوات المسلحة اللبنانية، فيتم تفقدها بصورة دورية للتأكد [من خلوها] من أي نشاطات مجددة. ومع ذلك، لا أحد يعلم كم مخبأ وموقع إطلاق صواريخ ومراكز مراقبة لا تزال غير مكتشفة. وتزعم مصادر مدنية في جنوب لبنان أنّ حزب الله يواصل تموين بعض مخابئ أسلحته وتكديس مخزوناته الاحتياطية فيها ويكلف سكاناً محليين بمراقبتها لقاء أجر. ولا تزال منطقة الحدود عنصراً هاماً من مكونات خطة حزب الله القتالية في حرب محتملة مع إسرائيل، حتى لو أعادت المنظمة انتشارها على خط الجبهة شمالي الليطاني. ويعمل حزب الله الآن في تكتم قرب الحدود بدافع من المصلحة السياسية ولتحاشي إحراج القوات المسلحة اللبنانية المسؤولة عن أمن المنطقة.

هذا وقد قدّم مؤخراً الشيخ نعيم قاسم، نائب الأمين العام لحزب الله، تأييداً فاتراً بما يتعلق باحترام الحزب لقرار 1701، قائلاً في مقابلة تلفزيونية إنّ حزب الله كان من البداية على "توافق تام" مع القرار، واضاف "نعتقد أننا قد نفذناه." وبالرغم من التأييد الفاتر للقرار 1701، تبقى الخلاصة نفسها بالنسبة لحزب الله: أنه لن يعرقل برنامج التحضير للمواجهة القادمة مع إسرائيل بسبب مراسيم فرضت من قبل مجلس الأمن الدولي التابع للأمم المتحدة.

الغضب الإسرائيلي

اشتكت إسرائيل مراراً لدى الأمم المتحدة واليونيفيل بشأن المزاعم عن تهريب الأسلحة عير الحدود اللبنانية-السورية واعترضت على إعادة بناء حزب الله لبنيته التحتية العسكرية في جنوب لبنان. لكن مع ذلك، تصر قوات اليوينيفيل على أنها لم ترَ ما يؤيد المزاعم الإسرائيلية. وكما نُقل عن قائد اليونيفيل اللواء كلاوديو غراتزيانو أنه أبلغ مسؤولي وزارة الخارجية الإسرائيلية في منتصف أيلول/سبتمبر، "ليس لدى اليونيفيل دليل على عمليات حزب الله جنوبي الليطاني، وإنْ كانت لدى إسرائيل مثل هذه المعلومات الاستخبارية، فلترسلْها إلينا على الرحب والسعة." وتأكيداً لخيبة أمل إسرائيل من الأمم المتحدة، نُقل عن وزير الدفاع الإسرائيلي إيهود باراك أنه أبلغ جلسة لمجلس الوزراء في أوائل آب/أغسطس إنّ القرار 1701 "لم يحل المشكلة، وأنه فاشل،" بالنظر إلى أنّ سوريا وإيران قد نقلتا "ذخائر وصواريخ وغيرها من منظومات الأسلحة" إلى لبنان.

ومع ذلك، كان من المحتمل أن تجد إسرائيل آذاناً صاغية أكثر من قبل الأمم المتحدة لو كفّت عن الانتهاكات الخاصة بالقرار المذكور. لقد مضت سنتين، وما يزال الجنود الإسرائيليون يقومون بدوريات في القسم اللبناني من قرية الغجر الواقعة على الخط الأزرق. وتحاول اليونيفيل التوسط لإخراج إسرائيل من الجانب اللبناني من قرية الغجر، ولكن دون نجاح حتى الآن.

كما تواصل الطائرات الإسرائيلية انتهاك المجال الجوي اللبناني بصورة شبه يومية، وهو خرق كثير ما يستشهده حزب الله. وقد ذكر التقرير الأخير للأمم المتحدة حول القرار 1701، أنّه في نيسان/إبريل وأيار/مايو سجلت قوات اليونيفيل في المتوسط أكثر من عشرين خرقاً جوياً في اليوم، من ضمنها اثنان وسبعون انتهاكاً ارتكبتها طائرات بدون طيار في يوم واحد فقط. وبما أنّ إسرائيل تدعي باستمرار أنّ عمليات التحليق توفر لها معلومات استخبارية حيوية ويجب أنْ تستمر ما دام حزب الله يهرّب الأسلحة إلى لبنان، فمن غير المرجح أن تُوقف إسرائيل هذه العمليات في المستقبل القريب.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وعلى الرغم من المناشدات المتكررة من قبل الأمم المتحدة، ترفض إسرائيل تسليم بيانات قصف القنابل العنقودية في حرب عام 2006. إن من شأن تلك المعلومات أن تساعد في الجهود المبذولة لإزالة ما تبقّى من الذخائر الصغيرة غير المتفجرة، التي تسببت حتى الآن في وقوع أكثر من ثلاث مائة إصابة.

الخلاصة

بالنظر إلى ما حدث في لبنان في السنتين الماضيتين -- في الأرض والجو على حد سواء -- يبدو أن حزب الله وإسرائيل سوف يواصلان خرق، وعدم احترام، قرار مجلس الأمن الدولي رقم 1701. فقد أعطيت الأولوية – من قبل كلا الطرفين – للإستعدادات للجولة الثانية الحتمية من الصراع على الامتثال لقرار الأمم المتحدة.

نيكولاس بلانفورد

نيكولاس بلانفورد صحفي مقيم ببيروت ومتابع قديم لحزب الله. وهو مؤلف كتاب "قتل السيد لبنان" (الناشر I.B. Taurus، 2006)، وصف حادثة اغتيال رئيس وزراء لبنان الأسبق رفيق الحريري عام 2005.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1414

UN Resolution 1701: A View from Lebanon

Nicholas Blanford

Also available in العربية

Policy #1414

October 21, 2008

This PolicyWatch is the second in a three-part series examining the situation in Lebanon two years after the implementation of UN Security Council Resolution 1701. This series coincides with the twenty-fifth anniversary of the bombing of the Marine barracks in Lebanon on October 23, 1983, an attack that continues to inform U.S. policymaking in Lebanon and throughout the Middle East.

Read the two companion PolicyWatches, "UN Resolution 1701: A View from Israel" and "UN Resolution 1701: A View from the United States."

Two years after the 2006 summer war, Hizballah and Israel continue to pay lip service to UN Security Council Resolution 1701 while focusing on preparations for the inevitable second round of conflict. Although Hizballah has not mounted a single border operation against Israel since the war, the Shiite organization has developed a new line of defense north of the Litani River and completed a massive, unprecedented recruitment, training, and rearmament drive. Meanwhile, Israel has signaled its displeasure with the inability of both the UN and the international community to halt Hizballah's military buildup.

Arms Smuggling

A week after the fighting ended on August 14, 2006, Turkish authorities reportedly intercepted five Iranian cargo planes and a Syrian aircraft carrying weapons to Hizballah. According to a Turkish newspaper, the arms included rocket launchers and crates of C-802 anti-ship missiles, the same weapon that disabled an Israeli missile boat on the third day of the war. Although Lebanon's eastern border with Syria is the traditional arms conduit for Hizballah, the party has devised alternative means of procuring weapons in the event of a closed land route.

In September 2006, a month after the fighting ended, Hizballah's secretary general, Hassan Nasrallah, claimed that "the resistance was able to rearm itself in a few days and is now stronger than it was on July 12," the first day of the war. By revealing the organization's renewed military strength, Nasrallah admitted tacitly that Hizballah was in breach of Resolution 1701. Paragraphs 14 and 15 of the resolution mandate the Lebanese government to secure its borders against arms smuggling and mandate other governments to prevent the sale or transfer of weapons, ammunition, equipment, and training to "entities or individuals" in Lebanon.

Although the Lebanese government has deployed about 8,000 Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) troops along the eastern border, Beirut is politically incapable of sealing off the frontier. Closing the border would provoke a backlash from the impoverished, mainly Shiite residents of the eastern Bekaa Valley who rely on the porous frontier to earn a living smuggling commercial goods. As such, a UN border assessment team reported in a August 2008 followup that the eastern "Green Border [the illegal crossings] remains as penetrable as it was during the mission of team one [in 2007]."

Buildup South of the Litani?

Hizballah's military preparations north of the Litani River and in the Bekaa Valley are well known. Vast tracts of land in this mountainous spine running north from the Litani to the lower reaches of the Barouk Mountains have been placed off-limits. The sound of explosions and machine gun fire has become commonplace in parts of the Bekaa Valley where Hizballah conducts its training.

What is less evident is the scale of Hizballah's military preparations near the southern border. Although Resolution 1701, paragraph 8, designates the area between the Blue Line (the UN's 2000 border demarcation between Israel and Lebanon) and the Litani River "free of any armed personnel, assets, and weapons" other than those of the Lebanese government and the UN Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL), Hizballah is reportedly carrying out clandestine military preparations in the area. In late March, an armored UNIFIL patrol attempted to stop a tractor trailer driving through the western border sector late at night, but two cars and five armed men blocked the road, allowing the truck and its unknown contents to escape. In May, UNIFIL personnel encountered a group of men laying cables in the eastern sector of the UNIFIL area, where they were attacked with stones and their passage blocked by cars when they encountered a group of men laying cables in the eastern sector of the UNIFIL area. The implication was that the cables were part of Hizballah's fiber-optic communications network.

After the 2006 conflict, Hizballah abandoned most of its remote bunkers near the border, and those that UNIFIL and the LAF have located are periodically checked for renewed activity. No one knows, however, how many bunkers, rocket-firing positions, and observation posts remain undiscovered. Civilian sources in southern Lebanon claim that Hizballah continues to provision some of its war bunkers, keeping them stockpiled and paying local residents to monitor them. The border district remains an important component of Hizballah's battle plan in a potential war with Israel, even though the organization has repositioned its front line north of the Litani. Hizballah operates discreetly near the border out of political expediency and to avoid embarrassing the LAF, which is responsible for the area's security.

Sheikh Naim Qassem, Hizballah's deputy secretary general, recently gave an unenthusiastic endorsement of the party's observance of Resolution 1701, stating in a television interview that Hizballah originally was in "overall agreement" with the resolution, and "we think we have implemented it." Despite the tepid endorsement of 1701, Hizballah's bottom line remains the same: it will not scale back its preparation for the next encounter with Israel because of UN Security Council edicts.

Israeli Ire

Israel has complained repeatedly to the UN and UNIFIL about allegations of arms smuggling across the Lebanon-Syria border and objected that Hizballah is rebuilding its military infrastructure in southern Lebanon. UNIFIL, however, insists it has seen nothing to support the Israeli claims. As UNIFIL commander Maj. Gen. Claudio Graziano reportedly told Israeli foreign ministry officials in mid September, "UNIFIL does not have proof of Hizballah operations south of the Litani, and if Israel has such intelligence, they are welcome to send it to us." To emphasize Israel's frustration with the UN, Israeli defense minister Ehud Barak reportedly told a cabinet session in early August that Resolution 1701 "did not work, doesn't work, and is a failure," given that Syria and Iran had moved "munitions, rockets, and other weapon systems" into Lebanon.

Israel, however, would likely gain a more sympathetic ear from the UN if it were to desist from its own breaches of the resolution. Two years on, Israeli troops still patrol the Lebanese end of Ghajar, a village that straddles the Blue Line. UNIFIL has been mediating an Israeli exit from the Lebanese side of Ghajar, so far without success.

Israeli aircraft continue to violate Lebanese airspace on a near-daily basis, a violation that Hizballah frequently cites. The UN's latest report on 1701 stated that UNIFIL had recorded an average of more than twenty violations per day in April and May, including seventy-two violations by unmanned aerial vehicles in one day alone. Since Israel maintains that overflights provide vital intelligence and must continue as long as Hizballah smuggles arms into Lebanon, it is unlikely Israel will cease such operations in the near future.

In addition, despite repeated entreaties from the UN, Israel refuses to hand over the cluster bomb strike data from the 2006 war. That information would assist the effort to remove the remaining unexploded submunitions, which so far have caused over three hundred casualties.


Given what has transpired in Lebanon over the past two years -- both on the ground and in the air -- it would appear that Hizballah and Israel will continue to breach, and not honor, Resolution 1701. Preparing for the inevitable second round of conflict has taken priority -- for both parties -- over complying with the UN resolution.

Nicholas Blanford is a Beirut-based journalist and long-time observer of Hizballah. He is author of Killing Mr. Lebanon (I.B. Taurus, 2006), an account of the 2005 assassination of former Lebanese prime minister Rafiq Hariri.