أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1679

السياسة الأمريكية تجاه «حزب الله»: مسألة التعاطي

آش جين

متاح أيضاً في English

14 يوليو 2010


قبل حوالي أربع سنوات شنت إسرائيل حملة عسكرية في لبنان رداً على هجوم سافر قام به «حزب الله» ضد جنودها. ووفقاً لمسؤول إسرائيلي كان الهدف من تلك العملية: "القضاء على قدرات «حزب الله»". بيد، لم تنجح الحرب ولا الجهود الدبلوماسية الأمريكية اللاحقة التي كانت تهدف إلى إضعاف المجموعة. ويبدو أن البعض في إدارة أوباما يرى الآن أن التعاطي المباشر هو خيار يستحق الدراسة. ومع ذلك، فإن التواصل مع «حزب الله» في الوقت الذي تكون فيه المجموعة مُشجعة سياسياً وعسكرياً سيكون عبثاً لا طائل من ورائه بل ربما يأتي بنتائج عكسية.

الجهود الحالية

منذ انتهاء حرب عام 2006، سعت الولايات المتحدة لمواجهة «حزب الله» بالتقدم على ثلاثة محاور سياسية رئيسية: إنهاء نقل الأسلحة، ونزع السلاح، وتحقيق سيطرة كاملة للحكومة اللبنانية على أراضيها (أي إنهاء كون «حزب الله» "دولة داخل دولة"). ولا يزال نهج واشنطن لتحقيق هذه الأهداف متطابقاً إلى حد كبير خلال إدارتي الرئيسين بوش وأوباما على حد سواء.

أولاً: استمرت الولايات المتحدة في دعمها لـ «تحالف 14 آذار» السياسي الذي عارض وضع «حزب الله» كميليشيا مسلحة. ثانياً: أنفقت واشنطن مبالغ كبيرة من المال لتعزيز قدرة الحكومة اللبنانية بتخصيصها أكثر من 600 مليون دولار كمساعدة أمنية بالإضافة إلى 500 مليون دولار أخرى كمساعدة لبرامج مدنية منذ عام 2006. ثالثاً: عززت الولايات المتحدة جهودها لتشويه صورة المجموعة وتقييد أنشطتها المالية من خلال توسيع قائمة المرتبطين مع «حزب الله» المصنفين وفق نظام التصنيف الصادر بالقرار التنفيذي رقم 13224. وأخيراً سعت واشنطن لتقليل الدعم الشعبي لـ «حزب الله» من خلال الضغط بدرجات متفاوتة لتسوية الشكاوى العالقة بما في ذلك الطلعات الجوية الإسرائيلية، والسيطرة على قرية الغجر ومزارع شبعا.

ويبدو أن هذه الجهود قد بدأت تؤتي ثمارها في حزيران/يونيو 2009، عندما فشل التحالف السياسي لـ «حزب الله» في الحصول على مقاعد الأغلبية في الإنتخابات البرلمانية. بيد، لم تُترجم الهزيمة الإنتخابية للمجموعة إلى تقليص قوة «الحزب» السياسية. بل على العكس من ذلك، فبعد حصوله على صيغة "الثلث المعطل" المؤثر في التشكيل الوزاري، ثبَّت «حزب الله» نفوذه وعزز شرعيته كحركة مقاومة مسلحة. إن «تحالف 14 آذار» قد تمزق تقريباً، ويقف الآن «حزب الله» كأقوى حركة فاعلة "مشابهة لدولة" في المنطقة، ويملك ترسانة عسكرية أكبر حجماً وأكثر تطوراً، ويتمتع بنفوذ سياسي أعظم من أي وقت مضى منذ تأسيسه.

حدود التعاطي

في الوقت الذي يدرك فيه دعاة التعاطي حدود السياسة الأمريكية الحالية، يؤكدون أن الوقت الحالي هو المناسب لاتباع أسلوب بديل. وفي أيار/مايو المنصرم، اقترح نائب مستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي جون برينان أن التواصل مع عناصر معينة من «حزب الله» يمكن أن يؤدي إلى اعتدال المجموعة إيديولوجياً. ووفقاً لتقارير وسائل الإعلام طرح مؤخراً تقييم مسرب لـ "الفريق الأحمر" التابع لـ «القيادة المركزية الأمريكية» خطاً مماثلاً من التفكير. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يبدو أن تعليقات برينان (التي تم التراجع عنها منذ ذلك الحين) وبحث «القيادة المركزية الأمريكية» على حد سواء، يعكسان إعادة نظر رسمية في السياسة الأمريكية، إلا أنهما يشيران إلى أن الإهتمام بهذا الخيار آخذ في الإزدياد.

ومع ذلك، تعتمد مثل هذه الحجج على افتراضين مضللين بصورة أساسية. أولاً: إن استعداد «حزب الله» للمشاركة في العملية السياسية غالباً ما يتم الاستشهاد به كدليل على تراجع «الحزب» عن دعائمه القائمة على العنف. وفي الواقع، لا تزال المجموعة ملتزمة -- كما كانت دائماً -- بدورها كحركة مقاومة مسلحة. وفي بيانها الرسمي الذي تم تحديثه ونشره في عام 2009، والذي اعتبره بعض المراقبين كعلامة على الإعتدال، أعاد زعيم «حزب الله» حسن نصر الله التأكيد على رفضه لإسرائيل ("نحن نرفض رفضاً قاطعاً أية تسوية مع إسرائيل أو الإعتراف بشرعيتها") كما أعلن أن المقاومة هي "ضرورة وطنية" مستمرة.

ويظل الإرهاب والعنف والتخويف الأصول الإستراتيجية الرئيسية لـ «حزب الله»، ليس فقط ضد إسرائيل بل أيضاً ضد دولة لبنان نفسها. فاستيلاء المجموعة في أيار/مايو 2008 على بيروت قد حطم [تلك] الخرافة بأنها لن تستخدم الأسلحة ضد الشعب اللبناني. وعلاوة على ذلك، لو صدقت الشكوك المثارة حول حكم المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان حول تورط «حزب الله» في اغتيال رئيس الوزراء اللبناني السابق رفيق الحريري، فإنها ستوضح أن «حزب الله» لا يجد غضاضة/ليس لديه أي هواجس في تحويل مهاراته الحاذقة في الاغتيالات القاتلة ضد خصومه السياسيين المحليين. وتسعى المنظمة أيضاً إلى استمالة القوات المسلحة اللبنانية لكي تعمل كذراع للمقاومة، كما تبدو المجموعة مصممة على استخدام أية وسيلة ضرورية لبسط سيطرتها على الدولة.

والفرضية الثانية الخاطئة هي أن «حزب الله» قد تراجع عن عدائه التاريخي تجاه الولايات المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من أن المجموعة كانت حريصة في السنوات الأخيرة على تجنب أي استفزاز مباشر، إلا أنها ظلت متمسكة بتحدي الولايات المتحدة ومصالحها في المنطقة. وقد أعاد بيانها لعام 2009 التأكيد على أسس المجموعة المعادية للولايات المتحدة، التي أوجزت لأول مرة في عام 1985، مما يوسع نطاق مبررات المقاومة كرد على "الإرهاب" الأمريكي وخططه "للهيمنة على الدول (العربية والإسلامية)، سياسياً واقتصادياً وثقافياً وفي جميع المجالات".

وثمة أدلة قليلة على أن نصر الله أو أي شخص حوله يسعى إلى تغيير التوجه الاستراتيجي لـ «حزب الله» أو فك تحالفه الوثيق مع إيران وسوريا. ولن يؤدي التعاطي الأمريكي إلا إلى المصادقة على القدرات المتزايدة للمنظمة، والتعزيز من شرعيتها المحلية والدولية. وسوف يزيد أيضاً في إضعاف ما تبقى من الحكومة المنتخبة ديمقراطياً والموالية للغرب في بيروت. وعلى نطاق أوسع، سيشير مثل هذا التحول الجوهري في السياسة، إلى عزم واشنطن المتناقص عن مواجهة الإرهاب وتقويض موقفها القائم منذ مدة طويلة ضد مكافأة الجماعات الإرهابية على أفعالها.

نهج أكثر صرامة

ينبغي على المسؤولين الأمريكيين التطلع إلى تكثيف الجهود الرامية إلى تقييد أنشطة «حزب الله»، والحد من نفوذه المزعزع للإستقرار، بدلاً من السعي للتعاطي مع المجموعة. وعلى الرغم من أن زيادة الضغط على «حزب الله» قد يثير رد فعل [سلبي] عنيف، إلا أن المنظمة ستزيد فقط من قوتها، وتتحرك بصورة أقرب نحو أهدافها الطويلة المدى، ما لم يتم اتخاذ إجراءات متضافرة ضدها. ومن شأن اتباع نهج أكثر صرامة أن يشمل الإجراءات التالية:

زيادة الضغط على سوريا وإيران: لكي تتم زيادة تكاليف الدعم لـ «حزب الله»، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة شن حملة لفرض عقوبات من قبل الأمم المتحدة على سوريا بسبب انتهاكاتها الواضحة لقرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1701 الذي يحظر نقل الأسلحة إلى «حزب الله». وبالمثل، ينبغي على واشنطن أن تضغط من أجل فرض عقوبات على إيران لانتهاكها قرار رقم 1747 حول حظر نقل الأسلحة. (وقد أحيلت ثلاثة انتهاكات إلى لجنة عقوبات تابعة للأمم المتحدة لكن بدون إجراءات متابعة). إن قيام مثل هذه الحملة من شأنه أن يساعد أيضاً على إضفاء الشرعية على الضربات الجوية المحتملة ضد المنشآت السورية على طول الحدود اللبنانية إذا ما استمر نقل صواريخ «سكود» أو غيرها من الأسلحة المتطورة [إلى «حزب الله»].

تحديد دور «حزب الله» في الحكومة: ينبغي على المسؤولين الأمريكيين أن يبدؤوا النقاش مع حلفائهم في لبنان والمنطقة فيما يتعلق بشروط استمرار مشاركة «حزب الله» في حكومة الوحدة الوطنية، على غرار مبادئ "اللجنة الرباعية الدولية حول الشرق الأوسط" المفروضة على «حماس». إن مثل هذه الشروط يمكن أن تشمل نبذ العنف، واتخاذ خطوات ملموسة نحو نزع السلاح، والإعتراف بسلطات الحكومة اللبنانية. ورغم أن المبادرة بمثل هذه النقاشات ربما لا يكون لها أي تأثير فوري، إلا أن بإمكانها أن تساعد على إعادة ترتيب التوقعات فيما يخص الدور المستقبلي لـ «حزب الله» في الحكومة وتؤدي إلى إعادة النظر في هذه القضية في اللحظة السياسية الآنية التالية (على سبيل المثال، إذا قامت المحكمة الخاصة بإصدار لوائح اتهام ضد نشطاء «حزب الله»).

تقوية الشيعة المستقلين: سيتطلب إضعاف «حزب الله» كسر الإحتكار الذي يتمتع به «الحزب» وحلفائه على المجتمع الشيعي في لبنان. ينبغي على إدارة أوباما أن تبني على جهود الإدارة السابقة للوصول إلى نشطاء الشيعة المستقلين، وأن تعزز قدرتهم على تشكيل حركة سياسية بديلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، بإمكان واشنطن أن تسهل الإتصال بجهات تمويل، وتشجع [قيام] روابط أقوى بين الشيعة المعتدلين في لبنان، والعراق، وغيرهم في المنطقة.

تعزيز التنسيق مع الحلفاء: مع تصاعد التوترات بين إسرائيل و«حزب الله»، ينبغي على الولايات المتحدة المبادرة بإجراء مشاورات مع إسرائيل -- وبصورة منفصلة، مع الحلفاء العرب الذين يشاركونها نفس القلق مثل مصر والأردن والسعودية -- لوضع الأساس العملي لاتباع أسلوب دبلوماسي مشترك في حالة نشوب صراع بين الطرفين. ينبغي على واشنطن أن توضح بأنها ستقف إلى جانب إسرائيل لو وجدت الأخيرة نفسها مضطرة إلى التحرك والعمل ضد القدرات العسكرية لـ «حزب الله»، لكنها ستسعى أيضاً إلى الحد من الإجراءات التي يمكن أن تقوض الحكومة أو القوى الموالية للغرب في لبنان.

الخاتمة

في الوقت الذي كان مساعد وزير الخارجية الأمريكية جيفري فيلتمان يدلي بشهادته أمام الكونغرس الأمريكي في الشهر الماضي، أكد بأن الولايات المتحدة "لن تتعامل مع، أو [ليس] لديها أي اتصال مع" «حزب الله». ونظراً لعدم جدوى هذا الإتصال، فإن ذلك هو موقف سليم [ينبغي] الحفاظ عليه. وربما يستحق التفكير في اتباع سياسة التعاطي في وقت معين في المستقبل، عندما يكون قد تم إضعاف المجموعة، وتبدو مستعدة عندئذ لقبول تسوية يكون لها مغزى. ولكن، حتى ذلك الحين، فإن اتباع أسلوب أكثر شمولاً ومفعماً بالحيوية لمواجهة توسع نفوذ «حزب الله»، من شأنه أن يخدم مصالح واشنطن على نحو أفضل.

آش جين هو عضو سابق في فريق تخطيط سياسة وزارة الخارجية، ويعمل الآن زميل زائر في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1679

U.S. Policy on Hizballah: The Question of Engagement

Ash Jain

Also available in العربية

Policy #1679

July 14, 2010


Four years ago this week, Israel launched a military campaign in Lebanon in retaliation for a brazen Hizballah attack on its soldiers. The goal, according to an Israeli official, was "to put Hizballah out of business." But neither war nor subsequent U.S. diplomatic efforts aimed at weakening the group have succeeded, and some in the Obama administration now appear to view direct engagement as an option worth exploring. Reaching out to Hizballah, however, at a time when it is politically and military emboldened, would be an exercise in futility that could prove counterproductive.

Current Efforts

Since the end of the 2006 war, the United States has sought to counter Hizballah by advancing three main policy goals: arms transfer termination, disarmament, and full Lebanese government control over its territory (i.e., an end to Hizballah's "state within a state"). Washington's approach to achieving these goals has remained largely consistent through both the Bush and Obama administrations.

First, the United States has maintained its support for the March 14 political coalition, which has opposed Hizballah's status as an armed militia. Second, Washington has spent considerable sums to strengthen the Lebanese government's capacity, committing more than $600 million in security assistance and an additional $500 million for civilian assistance programs since 2006. Third, the United States has strengthened efforts to stigmatize the group and constrain its financial activities by expanding the list of Hizballah associates designated under Executive Order 13224. Finally, Washington has sought to minimize popular support for Hizballah by pressing, to varying degrees, for the resolution of outstanding grievances, including Israeli overflights and control over Ghajar and Shebaa Farms.

These efforts appeared to bear fruit in June 2009, when Hizballah's political alliance failed to capture a majority of seats during parliamentary elections. Yet the group's electoral defeat did not translate into diminishing political power. To the contrary, after attaining an effective blocking minority in the cabinet, Hizballah has consolidated its influence and strengthened its legitimacy as an armed resistance movement. March 14 has all but fractured, and Hizballah now stands as the region's most powerful substate actor -- with a larger and more sophisticated military arsenal and greater political influence than at any time since its inception.

Limits of Engagement

Recognizing the limits of current U.S. policy, advocates of engagement contend that now is the time to pursue an alternative approach. In May, Deputy National Security Advisor John Brennan suggested that outreach to certain elements of Hizballah could lead to the group's ideological moderation. According to media reports, a recently leaked U.S. Central Command (CENTCOM) "red team" assessment sets forth a similar line of thinking. Although neither Brennan's comments (which have since been walked back) nor the CENTCOM paper appear to reflect a formal reconsideration of U.S. policy, they indicate that interest in this option is growing.

Such arguments, however, rely on two fundamentally misguided premises. First, Hizballah's willingness to participate in the political process is often cited as evidence of a move away from its violent underpinnings. In fact, the group remains as committed as ever to its role as an armed resistance movement. In its updated manifesto, released in 2009 and seen by some observers as a sign of moderation, Hizballah leader Hassan Nasrallah reaffirmed his rejection of Israel ("we categorically reject any compromise with Israel or recognizing its legitimacy") and proclaimed the resistance to be a continuing "national necessity."

Terrorism, violence, and intimidation remain key strategic assets for Hizballah, not just against Israel, but against the state of Lebanon itself. The group's May 2008 takeover of Beirut shattered the myth that it would never use arms against the Lebanese people. Moreover, if the Special Tribunal on Lebanon's reported suspicions of Hizballah involvement in the murder of former prime minister Rafiq Hariri are validated, it would make clear that Hizballah has no qualms in turning its well-honed skills of lethal assassination against its domestic political opponents. The organization also seeks to co-opt the Lebanese Armed Forces into serving as an arm of the resistance and seems determined to use any means necessary to expand its control over the state.

The second mistaken premise is that Hizballah has moved away from its historic animosity toward the United States. Although the group has been careful in recent years to avoid any direct provocation, it remains committed to challenging the United States and its interests in the region. Its 2009 manifesto reemphasized the movement's anti-American foundations first outlined in 1985, expanding the rationale for resistance as a response to U.S. "terror" and plans for "dominating the nations [of the Arab and Islamic world] politically, economically, culturally and through all aspects."

There is little evidence that Nasrallah or anyone around him seeks to alter Hizballah's strategic orientation or loosen its close alliance with Iran and Syria. U.S. engagement would only validate the organization's increasing capabilities and boost its domestic and international legitimacy. It would also further weaken what is left of the democratically elected pro-Western government in Beirut. More broadly, such a fundamental shift in policy would signal Washington's diminishing resolve to confront terrorism and undermine its long-held stance against rewarding terrorist groups for their actions.

A More Robust Approach

Rather than pursuing engagement, U.S. officials should instead look to intensify efforts aimed at constraining Hizballah's activities and limiting its destabilizing influence. Although increased pressure on Hizballah could provoke a violent backlash, the organization will only increase in strength and move closer toward its long-term aims unless concerted action is taken against it. A more robust approach would involve the following measures:

Increasing pressure on Syria and Iran. To raise the costs of support for Hizballah, the United States should mount a campaign to impose UN sanctions on Syria for clear violations of Security Council Resolution 1701, which prohibits arms transfers to Hizballah. Likewise, it should press for sanctions against Iran for violating Resolution 1747's prohibition on arms transfers. (Three violations have been referred to a UN sanctions committee, but with no follow-up action.) Such a campaign would also help legitimize potential airstrikes against Syrian facilities along the Lebanon border should transfers of Scud missiles or other sophisticated weapons continue.

Conditioning Hizballah's role in government. U.S. officials should begin discussions with allies in Lebanon and the region regarding conditions for Hizballah's continuing participation in a national unity government, similar to the Quartet principles imposed on Hamas. Such conditions could include a renunciation of violence, concrete steps toward disarmament, and recognition of the Lebanese government's authority. Although initiating such discussions may not have any immediate impact, it could help reset expectations regarding Hizballah's future role in government and lead to reconsideration of the issue at the next politically opportune moment (e.g., if the special tribunal issues indictments against Hizballah operatives).

Empowering independent Shiites. Weakening Hizballah will require breaking the monopoly that both it and its allies have over the Shiite community in Lebanon. The Obama administration should build on its predecessor's efforts to reach out to independent Shiite activists and strengthen their ability to forge an alternative political movement. For example, Washington could facilitate access to funding and encourage stronger links between moderate Shiites in Lebanon, Iraq, and other communities across the region.

Enhancing coordination with allies. With tensions between Israel and Hizballah rising, the United States should initiate consultations with Israel -- and, separately, with Arab allies that share its concerns, such as Egypt, Jordan, and Saudi Arabia -- to lay the groundwork for a common diplomatic approach in the event that conflict breaks out. Washington should make clear that it will stand by Israel if the latter is forced to act against Hizballah's military capabilities, but will also seek to limit actions that could undermine the government or pro-Western forces in Lebanon.

Conclusion

While testifying before Congress last month, Assistant Secretary of State Jeffrey Feltman emphasized that the United States "will not deal with or have any contact with" Hizballah. Given the futility of such outreach, this is a sound position to maintain. Engagement could merit consideration at some point in the future, when the group has been weakened and appears willing to accept a meaningful accommodation. But, until then, a more comprehensive and vigorous approach to counter Hizballah's expanding influence would better serve Washington's interests.

Ash Jain, a former member of the State Department's Policy Planning Staff, is a visiting fellow at The Washington Institute.