أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

تحديات مكافحة الإرهاب الفريدة من نوعها التي يشكلها التطرف المحلي العنيف

ماثيو ليفيت

متاح أيضاً في English

"الحرّة"

18 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017


نُشرت هذه المقالة في الأصل من على موقع "الحرّة" بعنوان "تحديات الإرهاب المحلي غير المسبوقة".

 

بالرغم من هزيمة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، أولا في الموصل والآن في الرقة، يتصاعد خطر التطرف المحلي العنيف. وكما يقول المدير السابق للمركز الوطني الأميركي لمكافحة الإرهاب ماثيو أولسن هناك احتمال كبير جداً بأن تشهد الولايات المتحدة تنفيذ هجمات إرهابية نابعة من الداخل في العامين المقبلين. وقد دعا قادة كل من تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» و «القاعدة» الجماعات التابعة لهما إلى تنفيذ هجمات في البلدان التي ينشطون فيها بل ونشروا تعليمات ونصائح حول كيفية استهداف المدنيين بفعالية، وقد فاقم الإرهابيون الأجانب العائدون لبلدانهم خطر تلك الظاهرة. وهناك تحقيق جار حول نحو 1,000 متطرف عنيف محتمل نابع من الداخل في خمسين ولاية في مختلف أنحاء الولايات المتحدة، ولا يشكل هؤلاء حول العالم تهديداً أمنيا فقط، ولكن أيضاً عدداً من التحديات الفريدة لأجهزة إنفاذ القانون ولوكالات الاستخبارات.

لنأخذ في الاعتبار، على سبيل المثال، الأداة ذات الفعالية الطويلة الأجل لتعقب أنماط سفر المشتبه في كونهم إرهابيين والمرتبطين بهم. ولا تزال هذه أداة فعالة، خاصة في الحالات النادرة المتزايدة المرتبطة بالمتنقلين الإرهابيين الأجانب. ولكن التهديد المتنامي لإرهاب المتطرفين المحليين لا يحتاج في الغالب إلى تنقل خارجي، ووفق تقرير لوزارة الأمن الداخلي الأميركية فإن "معظم المتطرفين المحليين المولودين خارج الولايات المتحدة يتشددون بعد سنوات عديدة من دخولهم أميركا". وتماثل نتائج وزارة الأمن الداخلي الأمريكية تقرير لجنة الأمن الداخلي في مجلس النواب الأمريكي من كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016، والذي خلص إلى أن "الولايات المتحدة تواجه مناخاً إرهابياً هو الأخطر منذ 11 أيلول/سبتمبر 2001، وأن معظم ذلك ينجم عن الأفراد الذين تشددوا في الداخل". وهكذا، فإن أشد سياسات الهجرة صرامة تفشل في التعامل مع هذه القضية لأن التشدد يتم هنا.

ولكن أبرز التحديات التي يمثلها المتطرفون المحليون بالنسبة للمحققين هي مواجهة تمويل الإرهاب. فعندما يتشدد شخص أو خلية ويقرر تنفيذ هجوم إرهابي، تكون هناك طرق عديدة يستطيعون من خلالها تمويل الهجوم. وعلى النقيض من هجمات 11 أيلول/سبتمبر بالغة التنظيم والتي كلفت حوالي 500 ألف دولار وسنوات من التخطيط، فإن الإرهابيين المنفردين والجماعات الصغيرة يمكنهم تنفيذ الهجمات بسرعة وبتكلفة وتجهيزات بسيطة.

ويمكن لهؤلاء أن يخفضوا تكلفة الهجمات لأن لديهم عدد أقل من الأفراد الذين يحتاجون إلى التدريب والتجهيز، ويعتمدون على أسلحة بسيطة مثل السكاكين في مقابل المنظمات الإرهابية الكبيرة التي ترتبط بتكاليف غير مباشرة للحفاظ على كياناتها الإرهابية وتطويرها.

وبسبب الكلفة الضئيلة نسبياً للهجمات، يلجأ المهاجمون المنفردون والخلايا الصغيرة عادة إلى التمويل الذاتي وهو ما قد يشمل الرواتب الشخصية وتلقي الدعم من أفراد الأسرة والأصدقاء والانخراط في أنشطة إجرامية أو استغلال قروض شرعية. وعلى نحو أقل شيوعاً، قد يتلقى بعض المهاجمين المنفردين والخلايا المرتبطة بمنظمات إرهابية أكبر، دعماً مالياً من الخارج.

وفي حالة محمد مراح الذي نفذ عمليات إطلاق نار في فرنسا في عام 2012، اعتمد المهاجم بشكل كبير على الأنشطة الإجرامية ومنها السرقة وتجارة المخدرات ليمول هجماته، إذ حصل مراح على 58 ألف دولار من تهريبه للمخدرات بين إسبانيا وفرنسا، وكان عضواً في شبكة إجرامية كبيرة في فرنسا. وبالإضافة إلى الأموال التي حصل عليها من الجريمة، تلقى مراح دعماً مالياً من أفراد أسرته وكذلك أموالاً في إطار نظام المعونات الحكومية.

إن نقل الأموال أمر هام للمهاجمين المنفردين والخلايا الصغيرة التي تتلقى دعماً من منظمات إرهابية أكبر. وقد قال تقرير لمجلس الأمن الدولي في آب/أغسطس: "بالرغم من الضغوطات العسكرية وتراجع المدخولات، لا يزال تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» يرسل أموالاً إلى فروعه في جميع أنحاء العالم باستخدام مزيج من خدمات نقل الأموال وكذلك نقل الأموال نقداً". وأضاف التقرير الأممي أن " تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» أرسل أموالاً إلى أماكن لا يوجد له فروع فيها وهو ما يعد، وفق تقدير إحدى الدول الأعضاء، محاولة للاستعداد لهزيمته العسكرية" في سوريا والعراق. ومن الواضح أن تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لا يتهيأ فقط لنقل الأموال إلى أماكن وجوده الأخرى، بل إلى أماكن يمكن لأتباعه الجدد فيها أو للمقاتلين العائدين تنفيذ هجمات في أوطانهم.

وفي الوقت الذي قد تعني فيه الهزائم العسكرية أن مركز تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» قد أصبح أضعف، ستستمر عمليات المهاجمين المنفردين والخلايا الصغيرة في تشكيل تحد للأدوات التقليدية التي تستخدمها سلطات مكافحة تمويل الإرهاب.

وبما أن الهجمات الصغيرة يمكن أن تنفذ في وقت ضئيل نسبياً وبأقل قدر من التجهيزات، فإن لدى السلطات وقت قليل لإجراء تحقيق فعال وقد لا تتمكن أيضاً من تتبع مسارات مهمة كالتنقلات والاتصالات والأموال المستخدمة في تنفيذ تلك العمليات الصغيرة.

وغالباً ما يكون الإرهاب المحلي أقل تعقيداً على مستوى التخطيط بالمقارنة مع الإرهاب الذي تقوم به الجماعات المنظمة، ولكن من المرجح أن يكون أكثر تكراراً، وكما أكدت الهجمات الأخيرة حول العالم، قد يكون أكثر نجاحاً. ومن شبه المؤكد أن الانتصارات العسكرية ضد تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» لن تؤدي في الغالب إلى تراجع في النشاط الإرهابي في الغرب. يجب أن تكون مواجهة التحديات التي تمثلها خطط المتطرفين المحليين أولوية بالنسبة لأجهزة إنفاذ القانون وضباط الاستخبارات، خصوصاً الآن بعد أن تم تحرير الموصل والرقة من سيطرة تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية».

 

ماثيو ليفيت هو زميل "فرومر - ويكسلر" ومدير "برنامج ستاين للاستخبارات ومكافحة الإرهاب" في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

The Unique Counterterrorism Challenges Presented by Homegrown Violent Extremism

Matthew Levitt

Also available in العربية

Alhurra

October 18, 2017


The liberation of Mosul and Raqqa does not mean that the terrorist threat to the West will decrease, so addressing the HVE challenge for law enforcement and intelligence officials should be a top priority.

Even as the Islamic State faces battlefield defeat, first in Mosul and now in Raqqa, the threat of Homegrown Violent Extremism in on the rise. In the words of former Director of the National Counterterrorism Center, Matthew Olsen, said there is a "very significant chance" homegrown terrorist attacks will be carried out in the United States over the next couple of years. Both Islamic State and al Qaeda leaders have called for affiliates to carry out attacks in their home countries, and have even published guides, offering advice on how to effectively target civilians. Returning foreign terrorist fighters (FTFs) have only exacerbated this phenomenon. Today there are open investigations on about 1,000 potential homegrown violent extremists (HVEs) in all 50 states across the United States. Around the world, HVEs present not only pressing security threats but also a series of unique challenges to law enforcement and intelligence agencies.

Consider, for example, the long-effective tool of tracking the travel patterns of suspected terrorists and their associates. That remains an effective tool in some cases, especially the increasingly rare cases of foreign terrorist travelers. But the increasing threat of HVE terrorism rarely relies on foreign travel. According to a Department of Homeland Security (DHS) report, "most foreign-born, U.S.-based violent extremists likely radicalized several years after their entry to the United States." DHS's findings echo a U.S. House Homeland Security Committee December 2016 report, which concluded that "the United States faces its highest Islamist terror threat environment since 9/11, and much of the threat now stems from individuals who have been radicalized at home." Thus, even the strictest immigration policies fail to address this issue, because radicalization happens here.

But the most prominent challenge HVEs present to investigators comes in the area of combating terror finance. Once an individual or small cell radicalizes and decides to carry out a terrorist attack, there are several ways they may fund their attack. In contrast to the highly sophisticated attacks of September 11th, which cost about $500,000 and took years of planning, lone offender and small group attacks can be carried out quickly, with minimal funding and preparation.

Lone offender and small terror cells can minimize costs for attacks because they have few members to train and equip, rely on simple weapons such as knives, and in contrast to larger terrorist organizations, they are not subject to the high and indirect costs of developing and maintaining terrorist organizations.

Due to the relatively low cost of attacks, lone offenders and small cells often self-fund their attacks. Self-funding may include using one's own salary, receiving support from family and friends, engaging in criminal activities, or taking advantage of various types of legal financial loans. Though less common, some lone offenders and small cells with ties to larger terrorist organizations receive external monetary support for attacks.

In one case, Mohammed Merah, who carried out a series of shootings in France in 2012, relied heavily on criminal activities, including robbery and drug trafficking, to finance his attacks. Merah earned $58,000 as a drug courier between Spain and France, and was heavily involved in an established criminal network in France. In addition to the money he earned from crime, he received some financial support from family members and government welfare payments.

Transferring money is particularly important for lone offenders and small cells that receive external funding from larger terrorist organizations. The U.N. Security Council reported in August that "despite military pressure and falling revenues, the ISIL core continues to send funds to its affiliates worldwide, using a combination of money or value transfer services and the transport of bulk cash." The UN report added that "ISIL core has also sent money to places where it does not have affiliates, which according to a Member State assessment, is an attempt to prepare for its eventual military defeat" in Syria and Iraq. Evidently, not only is ISIL preparing to move funds to its other provinces, it is also sending funds to locations where newly inspired followers or returning foreign fighters can use such funds for attacks at home.

While battlefield defeats in Syria and Iraq may mean a weaker ISIL core, lone offenders and small cell attacks will continue to challenge counterterrorism authorities' traditional counter-terror finance tools. Since small scale attacks may be carried out relatively quickly and with minimal preparation, authorities are left with little lag time to run an effective investigation. Furthermore, authorities may not be able to follow key tripwires, such as the travel, communications and financial trails of individuals involved in smaller plots.

Homegrown terrorism may often be less sophisticated than terrorism carried out by organized groups, but it is likely to be more frequent and, as recent attacks around the world have underscored, painfully successful. Military success against the Islamic State will almost certainly not lead to a drop in terrorism in the West. Addressing the challenges HVE plots present for law enforcement and intelligence officials should be a top priority now that Mosul and Raqqa have been liberated.