أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

تنبيه سياسي

العطلة النووية في إيران: محاولة أخيرة لثني ترامب

عومير كرمي

متاح أيضاً في English

9 نيسان/أبريل 2018


يُعرف يوم العشرين من شهر الحَمَل [الشهر الأوَّل في التقويم الهجري الشمسي] أو فَروَردین في إيران الذي يصادف عادةً يوم 8 أو 9 نيسان/أبريل بـ"اليوم الوطني للتكنولوجيا النووية". وقد بدأ الاحتفال غير المألوف في عهد الرئيس السابق محمود أحمدي نجاد الذي أعلنه يوم عطلة رسمية عام 2006 بعد أن حققت إيران معلماً هاماً في مساعيها لتخصيب اليورانيوم. ومنذ ذلك الحين، مثّل هذا اليوم فرصةً للنظام لتسليط الضوء على وضع برنامجه النووي من خلال الإعلان عن إحراز تقدم وإنجازات جديدة مبالغاً فيها في بعض الأحيان.

من التهديدات إلى الاحتفال

خلال عهد أحمدي نجاد، كانت العطلة تُستخدم عادةً لتهديد الغرب من خلال كشف النقاب عن منشآت نووية جديدة والإعلان أن إيران قد انضمت إلى "نادي الدول النووية". ففي عام 2007، على سبيل المثال، أعلنَ الرئيس الإيراني أن إيران قد أتقنت تخصيب اليورانيوم على نطاق صناعي. وفي عام 2009، افتتح مصنعاً لإنتاج الوقود النووي بالقرب من أصفهان. وفي عام 2010، بينما كان الغرب يناقش مجموعةً جديدة من العقوبات، كشف أحمدي نجاد عن "جهاز طرد مركزي من الجيل الثالث".

واستمر هذا الاحتفال الاعتيادي إلى حين إبرام الاتفاق النووي عام 2015. وفي أعقاب الموافقة على «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة» في صيف ذلك العام، تبدّلت رواية العطلة لتُركّز على المساهمات التي وفرتها الصناعة النووية إلى الشعب الإيراني. وفي محاولة لإبعاد الانتقادات المتشددة لـ «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة»، حاولت حكومة الرئيس حسن روحاني تصوير الاتفاق على أنه خطوةً ناجحة. كما سعى روحاني إلى إثبات أن البرنامج النووي لا يزال ناشطاً رغم الاتفاق، مع فوائد تعود على الأمة الإيرانية على غرار الأبحاث في مجال الأدوية المشعة.

والعودة ثانية إلى التهديدات

لكن هذا العام، يبدو أن عدداً كبيراً من المسؤولين الإيرانيين يعتقدون أن الرئيس ترامب سيبطل "خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة" في أيار/مايو، وهو الموعد النهائي الذي أعلنه لاتخاذ القرار حول ما إذا كان سيتم تجديد العقوبات الكبرى. من هنا، أصبح "اليوم الوطني للتكنولوجيا النووية" مجدداً منصةً للتهديدات. وقد كشف النظام في 9 نيسان/أبريل عمّا لا يقل عن ثلاثة وثمانين مشروعاً نووياً جديداً، وهو ضعف عدد مشاريع العام الماضي، ومن بينها عملية النقل الأولى لكعكة اليورانيوم الصفراء [اليورانيوم المخصب] المنتجة في مناجم إيران الجديدة، والتحسينات التي أجريت على برنامج النظام للتخصيب ومفاعلاته.

وعلى الرغم من أن أياً من الإنجازات المعلنة لا ينتهك على ما يبدو «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة» أو يشير إلى تحسين ملحوظ في البرنامج النووي، إلّا أنّ خطاب النظام سعى بوضوح إلى خلق جو من التهديد. وقد حذر روحاني قائلاً: "في حال فسخ الاتفاق، سوف يشهدون التداعيات في أقل من أسبوع"، زاعماً أن إيران ستكون الرابحة في محكمة الرأي العام الدولي. كما ردّ على النقد المتشدد والمستمر من خلال تأكيده على أن البرنامج النووي لم يتوقف خلال فترة ولايته، ولكنه في الواقع يتحرك بشكل أسرع.

وبالمثل، حذّر رئيس "منظمة الطاقة الذرية الإيرانية" علي أكبر صالحي مراراً في الأيام الأخيرة من أن طهران تعدّ "مفاجأةً مميزة" للولايات المتحدة إذا انسحب ترامب من «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة». بل إنه وعد باستئناف التخصيب بنسبة تصل إلى 20 بالمائة - وهي مرحلة مهمة لإنتاج اليورانيوم المستخدم في تصنيع الأسلحة - في غضون أربعة أيام من الانسحاب الأمريكي. وقد شرح المتحدث باسم "منظمة الطاقة الذرية الإيرانية" تصريحات صالحي بشئ من التفصيل حيث أكّد أن محطة "فوردو" الإيرانية تحتوي على 1600 جهاز طرد مركزي عامل لا تحتاج سوى إلى ضخ الغاز لبدء التخصيب، "مثل سيارة جاهزة للتحرك ولكنها تحتاج إلى الوقود فقط" (وهو ادعاء يتعارض مع استنتاجات "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية" في شباط/فبراير بأن محطة "فوردو"  لا تضم أكثر من 1044 جهاز طرد مركزي، في ما يتوافق مع أحكام «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة»).

التداعيات السياسية

على الرغم من أن الخطب المتشددة التي تحيط بعطلة هذا العام تعكس على ما يبدو الرغبة في ثني واشنطن عن الانسحاب من «خطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة»، إلا أن طهران ما زالت تمارس ضبط النفس إلى حدّ كبير فيما يتعلق بقرار ترامب الوشيك في أيار/مايو. وألمح المسؤولون الإيرانيون إلى أنهم لن يهرعوا إلى الرد، لأن ذلك قد يعرّض شرعيتهم الدولية للخطر ويجعل من السهل تشكيل تحالف غربي ضد طهران.

ومن جانبهم، قد يشعر المعسكر المحافظ والجهاز العسكري الإيراني بالارتياح من إعادة إحياء البرنامج النووي المعلنة، رغم أن هذه المقاربة قد تثبت قريباً أنها سيف ذو حدين. وفي ظل استمرار انحدار سعر صرف الريال، فقد يعتبر عدد كبير من الإيرانيين بأن هذه الاحتفالات النووية هي بمثابة مهزلة، حيث يُحتفل بمشاريع جديدة مكلفة لا تحقق فائدة تذكر لهم أو للاقتصاد الإيراني.

 

عومير كرمي هو مدير الاستخبارات في شركة الأمن السيبراني الإسرائيلية "سيكسجيل". وكان زميلاً عسكرياً في معهد واشنطن عام 2017، وقد قاد سابقاً جهوداً تحليلية وبحثية في "جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي" تتعلق بالتطورات في الشرق الأوسط وساحات الأمن القومي.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Policy Alert

Iran's Nuclear Holiday: A Final Attempt to Deter Trump

Omer Carmi

Also available in العربية

April 9, 2018


Hardliners will take comfort in the government's latest nuclear warnings to Washington, but the rhetoric could backfire if more Iranians come to believe that costly new projects hold little economic benefit for them.

The twentieth day of Farvardin, which usually coincides with April 8 or 9, is known in Iran as "National Nuclear Technology Day." The unusual celebration began under former president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, who declared it an official holiday in 2006 after Iran reached a significant milestone in its uranium enrichment efforts. Since then, it has served as an opportunity for the regime to overplay the status of its nuclear program by publicizing new, sometimes exaggerated advancements and accomplishments.

FROM THREATS TO CELEBRATION

Under Ahmadinejad, the holiday was typically used to threaten the West by unveiling new nuclear facilities and declaring that Iran had joined the "nuclear club of nations." In 2007, for instance, he announced that Iran had mastered uranium enrichment on an industrial scale; in 2009, he inaugurated a nuclear fuel manufacturing plant near Isfahan; and in 2010, while the West was discussing a new round of sanctions, he revealed a "third-generation centrifuge."

This routine continued until the 2015 nuclear deal. After the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action was agreed to that summer, the holiday's narrative shifted to focus on the nuclear industry's contributions to the Iranian public. In an attempt to deflect hardliner criticism of the JCPOA, President Hassan Rouhani's government tried to portray the deal as a success. Rouhani also sought to make the case that the nuclear program was still active despite the deal, with benefits for the Iranian nation such as radiopharmaceutical research.

AND BACK TO THREATS AGAIN

This year, however, many Iranian officials seem to believe that President Trump will revoke the JCPOA in May, his declared deadline for deciding whether to renew major sanctions. Accordingly, Nuclear Technology Day has once again become a podium for threats. On April 9, the regime unveiled no less than eighty-three new nuclear projects, twice the number as last year. Among them are the first transfer of uranium yellowcake produced in Iran's new mines, and improvements in the regime's enrichment program and reactors.

Although none of the announced achievements seems to breach the JCPOA or indicate a major improvement in the nuclear program, the regime's rhetoric has clearly sought to create an air of menace. Rouhani warned, "If the deal breaks, they will witness the fallout in less than a week," claiming that Iran would be the winner in the court of international public opinion. He also responded to ongoing hardliner criticism by asserting that the nuclear program has not stopped during his term, but is actually moving faster.

Similarly, the director of the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran, Ali Akbar Salehi, has warned several times in recent days that Tehran is preparing a "special surprise" for the United States if Trump pulls out of the JCPOA. He even promised to resume enrichment up to 20 percent—an important phase in achieving weapons-grade uranium—within four days after a U.S. withdrawal. The AEOI spokesperson elaborated on Salehi's remarks, asserting that Iran's Fordow plant contained 1,600 operational centrifuges that only required gas injections to begin enrichment, "like a car that is ready to move but only needs fuel" (a claim at odds with the IAEA's February finding that there are no more than 1,044 centrifuges in Fordow, as required by the JCPOA).

POLICY IMPLICATIONS

Although the tough rhetoric surrounding this year's holiday seems to reflect a desire to deter Washington from leaving the JCPOA, Tehran is still practicing major self-restraint regarding Trump's looming May decision. Iranian officials hinted that they will not rush to respond, since that could put their international legitimacy at risk and facilitate the formation of a Western coalition against Tehran.

For their part, Iran's conservative camp and military apparatus might find comfort in the nuclear program's declared renaissance, though this approach may soon prove to be a double-edged sword. As the exchange rate of the rial continues to plummet, many Iranians could perceive nuclear festivities as a farce, celebrating costly new projects that hold little benefit for them or the economy.

Omer Carmi is director for intelligence at the Israeli cybersecurity firm Sixgill. A 2017 military fellow at The Washington Institute, he previously led analytical and research efforts in the Israel Defense Forces pertaining to developments in the Middle East and national security arenas.