أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1537

‘الانتخابات‘ الإيرانية: ما الذي حدث؟ وماذا تعنيه؟

مهدي خلجي, , پاتريك كلاوسون, و مايكل سينغ

متاح أيضاً في English

18 يونيو 2009


"في 16 حزيران/يونيو 2009، تحدث كل من مهدي خلجي ومحسن سازيغارا وپاتريك كلاوسون ومايكل سينغ إلى المنتدى السياسي خاص في معهد واشنطن لمناقشة إعادة الانتخاب المثير للخلاف للرئيس الإيراني الحالي محمود أحمدي نجاد في 12 حزيران/يونيو وسط موجة من الاحتجاجات الجماعية والاتهامات بتزوير الانتخابات.

مهدي خلجي هو زميل أقدم في معهد واشنطن، وپاتريك كلاوسون هو نائب مدير المعهد للأبحاث، ومايكل سينغ هو زميل آيرا واينر في المعهد، ومحسن سازيغارا هو منشق إيراني وناشط سياسي. فيما يلي موجز المُقرر لملاحظاتهم".

مهدي خلجي

منذ فترة وإيران تمر بثورة هادئة تغيرت فيها طبيعة النظام من إدارة مدنية دينية إلى حكومة عسكرية. فلم تعد الولايات المتحدة تواجه جمهورية إسلامية، وإنما نظاماً استبدادياً شمولياً يمثله المرشد الأعلى آية الله علي خامنئي والرئيس الحالي محمود أحمدي نجاد ويدعمه "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي" (IRGC).

إن ما يحدث في إيران اليوم هو جزء من صراع على السلطة على مدار عشرين عاماً بين خامنئي، الذي تولى السلطة في عام 1989، والمخضرمين الآخرين من فترة الثورة الإسلامية، مثل الرئيسين السابقين علي أكبر رافسنجاني ومحمد خاتمي، إلى جانب المرشح الرئاسي المعارض الحالي مير حسين موسوي. ولم يشعر خامنئي مطلقاً بالارتياح للتعاون مع قادة ثورة 1979، وإنما يفضل أن يشغل المناصب القيادية أشخاص جاء بهم هو إلى السلطة، أي هؤلاء الذين يدينون له بحياتهم العملية السياسية. لقد أوضح أحمدي نجاد طبيعة هذا الصراع على القوة في المناظرات المتلفزة قبل الانتخابات، عندما أكد الرئيس أنه لا يتنافس فقط مع موسوي، ولكن أيضاً مع خاتمي ورافسنجاني، ومن حولهم. وفي إطار هذا الصراع، يمثل التلاعب في الانتخابات الأخيرة من قبل خامنئي مستوى جديداً من الثقة بالذات وتصميم جديد على قمع منافسيه.

وخلال الأيام القادمة، وفي الوقت الذي تقاوم فيه الحكومة دعوات لإجراء انتخابات جديدة، سوف يزداد حجم الاحتجاجات مع انضمام المزيد من المتفرجين إلى المظاهرات. وسوف تواجه الولايات المتحدة قريباً إما حكومة عسكرية جريئة شجاعة في إيران أو ستشهد تغيرات هائلة في النظام السياسي الإيراني.

محسن سازيغارا

إن الصراع الديمقراطي الذي يحدث في إيران اليوم هو رد فعل على أربع سنوات من الإذلال والقمع [لهذه] الأمة من قبل حكومة أحمدي نجاد وخامنئي. فقد كان الاحتجاج الشعبي في الشوارع في 15 حزيران/يونيو المرة الأولى، خلال 120 عاماً من الكفاح من أجل الحرية في إيران، التي تجري فيها مثل هذه التعبئة الجماعية من دون رجال الدين، وأول تعبئة تركز على مطالب ديمقراطية، وليس مطالب دينية أو ثورية. وقد تحولت المُثُل العليا للثورة الإسلامية إلى مطالب ديمقراطية [تتمثل] بالليبرالية والمجتمع المدني وحقوق الإنسان.

وقد أصدرت الدول الأوروبية والأمين العام للأمم المتحدة استجابات ايجابية لدعوات الجمهور الإيراني من أجل الديمقراطية. والآن ينتظر الشعب الإيراني أن تقوم الولايات المتحدة بعمل ما. وتدور شائعات بين أوساط الجيل الشاب بأن الولايات المتحدة قد أعطت خامنئي الضوء الأخضر لقمع الشعب الإيراني، مقابل الانخراط والوصول إلى حل وسط حول القضية النووية. وللتصدي لمثل هذه الشائعات، يجب على الحكومة الأمريكية أن تقول لإيران بأنها لن تعترف بأي حكومة لا تمثل إرادة الشعب. إن ما قاله الرئيس باراك أوباما في 15 حزيران/يونيو لم يكن كافياً؛ بل يجب عليه أن يعد الشعب الإيراني أنه سيتم احترام أصواتهم.

پاتريك كلاوسون

حذر خامنئي على مدار عشرين عاماً من المخاطر التي تهدد الجمهورية الإسلامية، وخاصة ما يشير إليه بـ "إمبريالية ما بعد الحداثة" من خلال الغزو الثقافي الغربي. [كما] حذر من أن الغرب سوف يثير "ثورة مخملية" مماثلة لتلك التي حدثت في تشيكوسلوفاكيا في عام 1989، والتي شهدت إطاحة سريعة جداً فيما كان يبدو أنها حكومة قوية جداً. وكان المنشق التشيكي، فاكلاف هافيل، قد أشاد بالدور الرئيسي الذي لعبته الإذاعات التي كانت ترعاها الولايات المتحدة في الثورة المخملية، مثلما تحدث المنشقون البولنديون عن الدور الرئيسي للدعم الأمريكي لنقابة التضامن التجاري في إسقاط الحكم الشيوعي في بولندا.

ويرى خامنئي بأن التطورات على مدى الأسابيع القليلة الماضية تثبت صدق بصيرته. وكانت جهود الحملة الانتخابية الأولية لموسوي، وهو شخصية غير كاريزماتية، "مثيرة للشفقة"، ومع ذلك فإننا نجد اليوم مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص يرتدون اللون الأخضر ويعاملونه كأحد نجوم [موسيقى] الروك. وبالنسبة لمن يؤيدون نظرية المؤامرة، فإن هذا يعد دليلاً على القوى المؤثرة وراء موسوي. والواقع أن هناك فعلاً قوى وراءه، لكنها تتمثل في الرئيسين السابقين خاتمي ورافسنجاني، وليس الغرب. ورداً على ذلك، قرر خاتمي أن يحطم آمال التغيير من خلال انتخابات يجري فيها تزوير الأصوات بشكل سافر بحيث يُظهر أنه لن يُسمح لأي انتخابات بأن تغير النظام. وعلاوة على ذلك، يلقي المتشددون اللوم على وسائل الإعلام الأجنبي لكونها سبب الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت. وباختصار، كان خامنئي خائفاً جداً من اندلاع ثورة مخملية لدرجة أنه تسبب في إثارة واحدة منها.

سوف لن تؤدي الاحتجاجات - في رؤية خامنئي - إلا إلى تأكيد ما كان قد ردده كثيراً بأن القضية النووية هي مجرد ذريعة يستخدمها الغرب للمضي قدماً في مخططه للإطاحة بالجمهورية الإسلامية. وسوف يكون أكثر اقتناعاً من أي وقت مضى بأنه لو جرت تسوية القضية النووية، فسوف يجد الغرب مبرراً آخر لدعم هدفه الحقيقي. وهو يرى أن أي حل وسط بشأن القضية النووية لن يؤدي إلا إلى تعزيز جهود الغرب للإطاحة به. ومهما تكرر الحكومة الأمريكية عما تردده عن رغبتها في العيش والتعامل مع جمهورية خامنئي الإسلامية، فإنه لن يؤمن بكلمة من هذا الموضوع. وبطبيعة الحال، كل هذا يجعل من الصعب التفاوض على اتفاق بشأن القضية النووية. [لذلك] يجب بناء سياسة واقعية تكون قائمة على هذه الحقيقة المؤسفة.

مايكل سينغ

تتعامل الولايات المتحدة مع أزمة الانتخابات الإيرانية على أساس معرفتها بأنه من المرجح أن يحتفظ خامنئي بالسيطرة على سياسات إيران الأكثر إثارة للقلق، بغض النظر عن النتيجة النهائية. ومع ذلك، فإن لهذه الأزمة أربع تداعيات على الأمن القومي للولايات المتحدة.

أولاً، توحي الطريقة الوقحة التي عالج بها النظام [عملية] التصويت بأنه ربما يكون غير آمن تماماً، وليس حذراً كما يقترح الكثيرون. وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، فهذا يشير إلى أن إيران أقل استعداداً لتحمل أي انفتاحات تجاه الغرب التي من شأنها أن تصاحب [أي] انخراط أو اتفاق أمريكي إيراني محتمل.

ثانياً، تشير إعادة اختيار أحمدي نجاد إلى أن التواصل مع الولايات المتحدة ليس على رأس أولويات النظام الإيراني. فقد شن حملته الانتخابية ضد الوئام مع الغرب على وجه التحديد، كما جاءت تعليقات خامنئي مؤيدة لهذا الاتجاه. وتؤكد هاتان النقطتان الأوليتان على ضرورة ممارسة الضغط على النظام بدلاً من الاعتماد بشكل حصري على الانخراط.

ثالثاً، تعكس هذه الأزمة تنامي قوة "فيلق الحرس الثوري الإسلامي الإيراني" وانجراف إيران نحو الديكتاتورية العسكرية على حد سواء. وهذا أمر مثير للقلق بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة، حيث أن "الحرس الثوري الإسلامي الإيراني" مسؤول عن بعض من سياسات إيران الأكثر إزعاجاً وضرراً. وعلاوة على ذلك، يشير التركيز المتزايد للسلطة في يد هذه النخبة العسكرية إلى أن النظام [يعمل] - بصورة متزايدة - بمنأى عن الضغط الدولي. وهذا يوضح أن الحد الأدنى لتغيير حسابات التكاليف والفوائد بالنسبة للنظام هو مرتفع، وسوف يحتاج القادة الأمريكيون إلى الكثير من الصبر والشجاعة وهم يحاولون إستمالة القادة الإيرانيين [لتبني سياسة] الانخراط.

رابعاً، يتعين على الولايات المتحدة التحرك بحذر، ولكن يجب عليها أن تكون واضحة جداً في دعمها للشعب الإيراني. [كما] يجب أن تدين قتل المتظاهرين وتطالب بإجراء انتخابات حرة ونزيهة دون انتقاء الفائزين. ورغم أن هذا قد يبدو متعارضاً مع الجهود الأمريكية الرامية إلى إشراك إيران، إلا أن هناك أمثلة عديدة من تاريخ الولايات المتحدة توضح أنه يجب ألا يكون هناك أي تناقض بين الوقوف مع الشعب – ورغباته وتطلعاته المشروعة من أجل الحرية – وتحقيق الأهداف الاستراتيجية للولايات المتحدة مع إيران.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1537

Iran's 'Election': What Happened? What Does It Mean?

Mehdi Khalaji, Mohsen Sazegara, Patrick Clawson, and Michael Singh

Also available in العربية

Policy #1537

June 18, 2009

On On June 16, 2009, Mehdi Khalaji, Mohsen Sazegara, Patrick Clawson, and Michael Singh addressed a special Policy Forum at The Washington Institute to discuss the disputed reelection of Iran's incumbent president Mahmoud Ahmadinezhad on June 12 amid a wave of mass protests and charges of vote rigging.

Mehdi Khalaji is a Washington Institute senior fellow, Patrick Clawson is the Institute's deputy director for research, Michael Singh is the Ira Weiner Fellow at the Institute, and Mohsen Sazegara is an Iranian dissident and political activist. Following is a rapporteur's summary of their remarks.

Mehdi Khalaji

Iran has been going through a quiet revolution for some time, in which the nature of the regime has shifted from a clerical-civilian administration to a military government. The United States is no longer confronting an Islamic republic, but rather an autocratic, totalitarian regime represented by leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei and incumbent president Mahmoud Ahmadinezhad, and backed by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC).

What is happening in Iran today is part of a twenty-year power struggle between Khamenei, who assumed power in 1989, and the other veterans of the Islamic Revolution, such as former presidents Akbar Rafsanjani and Muhammad Khatami, as well as current opposition presidential candidate Mir Hossein Mousavi. Khamenei has never been comfortable working with the leaders of the 1979 revolution; he prefers that leadership positions be held by individuals he elevated to power, that is, those who owe their political careers to him. The nature of this power struggle was made clear by Ahmadinezhad in the televised preelection debates, when the president stressed that he was not just competing with Mousavi, but also with Khatami, Rafsanjani, and those around them. Within this struggle, Khamenei's recent election manipulation represents a new level of self-confidence and a new determination to suppress his rivals.

In the coming days, as the government resists calls to hold a new election, protests will grow in size as more and more onlookers join the demonstrations. The United States will soon face either an emboldened military government in Iran or witness tremendous changes in the Iranian political system.

Mohsen Sazegara

The democratic struggle happening in Iran today is a reaction to four years of the nation's humiliation and oppression by the government of Ahmadinezhad and Khamenei. The popular street protest on June 15 was the first time in the 120-year struggle for freedom in Iran that there was such mass mobilization without the clergy, and the first such mobilization focused on a democratic, rather than a religious or revolutionary, demand. The ideals of the utopian Islamic Revolution have been converted to the democratic demands of liberalism, civil society, and human rights.

European countries and the UN secretary-general have issued positive responses to the Iranian public's call for democracy. Now the people of Iran are waiting for the United States to act. Rumors among the younger generation report that the United States has given Khamenei the green light to suppress the Iranian people, in return for engagement and compromise on the nuclear issue. To counter such rumors, the U.S. government should tell Iran it will not recognize any government that does not represent the will of the people. What President Barack Obama said on June 15 was not enough; he should promise the Iranian people that their vote will be respected.

Patrick Clawson

For twenty years, Khamenei has warned of the dangers threatening the Islamic Republic, particularly what he refers to as post-modern imperialism through the West's cultural invasion. He has warned that the West would provoke a "velvet revolution" similar to that in Czechoslovakia in 1989, which witnessed the very rapid overthrow of an apparently rock-solid government. Czech dissident Vaclav Havel praised the key role of U.S.-sponsored radio broadcasts in the velvet revolution, much as Polish dissidents spoke of the key role of U.S. support for the Solidarity trade union in the overthrow of communist rule in Poland.

From Khamenei's perspective, the developments of the past few weeks demonstrate his prescience. The initial campaign efforts of Mousavi, a rather uncharismatic figure, were "pathetic," yet today hundreds of thousands of people are wearing green and treating him like a rock star. To the conspiratorial mind, this is evidence of powerful forces behind Mousavi. Indeed, forces are behind him, but they are former presidents Khatami and Rafsanjani, not the West. In response, Khamenei decided to crush the hopes of change through an election with vote rigging so blatant as to show that no election would be allowed to change the system. Furthermore, the hardliners blame the foreign media for the protests that have erupted. In short, Khamenei was so afraid of a velvet revolution that he has provoked one.

The protests will only confirm in Khamenei's mind his oft-stated view that the nuclear issue is just an excuse used by the West to advance its plot to overthrow the Islamic Republic. He will be more convinced than ever that if the nuclear issue were settled, the West would find another excuse with which to advance its true goal. To him, any compromise on the nuclear issue will only feed the West's efforts to overthrow him. No matter how often the U.S. government says it is willing to live and work with Khamenei's Islamic Republic, he will not believe a word of it. And, of course, all of this makes it more difficult to negotiate an agreement on the nuclear issue. A realistic policy needs to be based on this unfortunate fact.

Michael Singh

The United States is approaching the Iranian election crisis with the knowledge that Khamenei will likely retain control of Iran's most troubling policies, regardless of the outcome. Nevertheless, the crisis has four national security implications for the United States.

First, the brazen way that the regime handled the voting suggests that it may be quite insecure, rather than cautious as many suppose. If so, this implies that Iran is less likely to brook any openings to the West that would accompany engagement or a potential U.S.-Iranian agreement.

Second, the reselection of Ahmadinezhad indicates that engagement with the United States is not the Iranian regime's top priority. He campaigned specifically against detente with the West, and Khamenei's own comments supported this line. These first two points underscore the need to bring pressure to bear on the regime rather than relying exclusively on engagement.

Third, the growing power of the IRGC and Iran's drift toward a military dictatorship are both reflected in this crisis. This is troubling for the United States, as the IRGC is responsible for some of Iran's most unwholesome policies. Furthermore, the mounting concentration of power in this military elite suggests that the regime may be increasingly insulated from international pressure. This suggests that the threshold for changing the regime's cost-benefit calculation is high, and American leaders will require steel nerves as they try to induce Iran's leaders to engage.

Fourth, the United States needs to tread carefully, but it must be quite clear in its support for the Iranian people. It must condemn the killing of demonstrators and demand free and fair elections without picking winners. While this may seem to run counter to U.S. efforts to engage Iran, multiple examples from U.S. history show there need not be any contradiction between standing with the people -- and their legitimate desires and aspirations for freedom -- and achieving U.S. strategic objectives with Iran.

This rapporteur's summary was prepared by Cole Bunzel.