أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

المرصد السياسي 1904

التدخل غير المباشر في سوريا: صياغة رد فعّال للأزمة

جيفري وايت

متاح أيضاً في English

21 فبراير 2012


 

"تقل احتمالية نجاح التدخل غير المباشر في سوريا عن التدخل المباشر، لكنه قد يكون أكثر قابلة للتحقيق على نحو يمنح أبناء الشعب ما يحتاجونه من الوقت والمساعدة لتحرير أنفسهم."

 

قد يكون للتدخل العسكري الدولي المباشر تأثير حاسم على الوضع في سوريا، مثلما كان الحال في ليبيا، لكن يبدو أن الولايات المتحدة والمجتمع الدولي قد استبعدا ذلك الخيار لأسباب عديدة، من بينها قدرة قوات النظام على الرد، وافتقار المعارضة إلى التنظيم والخوف من نفوذ السلفيين وقدرتهم على مفاقمة العنف وغياب الإرادة السياسية. إن التدخل غير المباشر - وهو توفير المساعدات العسكرية والسياسية لمعارضي النظام المسلحين وغير المسلحين - يوفر خياراً بديلاً يمكن أن يحقق النجاح بتكلفة ومخاطر أقل.

وقد يتطلب هذا النوع من التدخل حملة، سواء علنية أو سرية، لتزويد المعارضة السورية بوسائل لمقاومة النظام وإحداث اضطراب في عملياته العسكرية وإضعاف إرادته للقتال وإعاقة قدرة الدولة على العمل. وقد تم استخدام وسائل لتحقيق هذه الغايات ضد ليبيا في ظل حكم معمر القذافي وكان لها تأثير كبير، وكذلك في أفغانستان ضد السوفيت، وضد قوات الاحتلال الألمانية والمتعاونين معها خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. وتشمل تلك الأساليب والوسائل - المقاومة المسلحة والتخريب والحرب السياسية والمقاومة المدنية. وبالفعل يستخدم الشعب السوري هذه الأساليب، لكن ليس بطريقة مُنسّقة أو مُنظّمة أو مدعومة بشكل جيد. وباستطاعة الولايات المتحدة والبلدان الأخرى أن تقدم للمعارضة المساعدة التي تحتاجها لتدشين جهود مقاومة وطنية يمكن أن تُسقط النظام.

الأسباب المنطقية وراء التدخل غير المباشر

يتعين أن يكون نطاق وطبيعة التدخل ملائمين للنزاع، ولنقاط القوة والضعف لدى النظام، ولقدرات المعارضة واحتياجاتها. إن الوضع في سوريا هو عصيان مسلح - انتفاضة شعبية ضد الحكومة - يحظى بدعم عريض، وإن كان غير عالمي. وتتواصل عناصر المقاومة داخل سوريا - المسلحة وغير المسلحة - على المستوى المحلي وتتعاون فيما بينها، لكنها غير متكاملة تماماً ولا تستجيب لقيادة سياسية أو عسكرية واحدة أو متناسقة. كما أن عناصر المقاومة خارج سوريا ضعيفة ومنقسمة، حيث لا تحظى سوى بنفوذ محدود على الوضع داخل البلاد.

ورغم أن النظام يواجه ضغطاً متزايداً من داخل سوريا وخارجها، إلا أنه ما يزال متماسكاً بدون أي تشققات قاتلة حتى الآن. فهو متمسك "بالحل الأمني" - من أجل كسر المعارضة المسلحة وغير المسلحة بقوة ساحقة. وبقيامها بذلك، تعتمد دمشق على الدعم السياسي والدبلوماسي والعسكري والاقتصادي من بعض الحلفاء، وهم تحديداً روسيا وإيران و«حزب الله». وفي ظل إعطاء وعود بالإصلاح، فإن الموافقة على السماح للجامعة العربية بالقيام بأعمال المراقبة ووقف إطلاق النار المحلي بين الحين والآخر ما هي إلا مناورات هزلية لكسب الوقت من أجل سحق المعارضة والتلاعب بمنتقدي النظام. وبالنسبة للرئيس بشار الأسد ودائرته الداخلية، فإن هذا هو صراع حياة أو موت ينوون الفوز فيه. نقاط القوة والضعف لدى النظام لكي ينجح التدخل غير المباشر يتعين مهاجمة نقاط القوة لدى النظام واستغلال نقاط الضعف لديه. وتشمل نقاط القوة الرئيسية لدى النظام ما يلي:

• عزم وتماسك دائرته الداخلية

• ولاء الأقليات (العلويين والمسيحيين والدروز)

• دعم القطاعات الاقتصادية الرئيسية (مثل مجتمع الأعمال)

• اختراق المجتمع السوري من قبل أجهزة الأمن والاستخبارات

• الحجم والتسليح الثقيل للجيش وقوات الأمن و"الشبيحة" (ميليشيات النظام)

• القدرة على تخطيط وتنسيق العمليات على نطاق واسع (عبر العديد من الألوية والفرق)

• بنية لوجستية ضخمة تدعم قواته

• بنية اتصالات هائلة تتيح القيادة والسيطرة الفعالة على قواته

ورغم أن حكومة القذافي كانت تتمتع بالعديد من نفس نقاط القوة التي تحظى بها القيادة السورية الحالية، إلا أنها خرجت من السلطة. ويمكن مهاجمة جميع نقاط القوة هذه بطريقة أو بأخرى، وبعض تلك النقاط معرّض للهجوم في سوريا فعلياً.

وتشمل نقاط الضعف لدى نظام الأسد ما يلي:

• سكان ذو أغلبية سنية والقدرة على تعبئتهم

• التصدعات في الجيش بين السنة والعلويين

• النطاق الجغرافي للمعارضة (المسلحة وغير المسلحة)

• طبيعة القتال التي هي مدنية إلى حد كبير

• طبيعة المعارضة (الانتشار/عدم المركزية)

• تعرض خطوط الاتصال وبنية الاتصالات التحتية للتعطيل عن طريق الهجوم أو التخريب أو أعمال المقاومة الشعبية

إن الهجوم على أي من نقاط القوة أو الضعف هذه أو استغلالها وحدها سوف لن يُسقط النظام، لكن التعامل معها كمجموعة لديه الإمكانية لتحقيق نتيجة كهذه.

وبالفعل، أظهرت المقاومة قدرات هائلة للانخراط في أعمال المعارضة المسلحة وغير المسلحة. فقد أفرزت قوات قتالية في ما لا يقل عن سبع من محافظات سوريا الأربعة عشر، يتراوح فيها عدد المقاتلين من سبعة إلى عشرة آلاف - كما يحتمل توافر آخرين عديدين في حالة تزويدهم بالأسلحة. ومن جانبها، أظهرت المعارضة غير المسلحة مرونة لا تُصدق خلال أحد عشر شهراً من الصراع المستمر مع النظام. وبإمكانها تنظيم مئات المظاهرات التي تشمل عشرات الآلاف من الأشخاص في جميع أنحاء البلاد في أي يوم من الأيام، كما تُجري حملات إعلامية نشطة تفضح الإجراءات العنيفة من جانب النظام. وهناك قدرات يمكن البناء عليها. ورغم ذلك، ولكي تبقى المعارضة قوية وتُسقط النظام في النهاية، فإنها سوف تحتاج إلى مساعدة كبيرة في مجالات العمليات العسكرية والتخريب والحرب السياسية والمقاومة المدنية.

إن الولايات المتحدة وآخرين ممن يعدون أنفسهم "أصدقاء سوريا" قادرون على توفير هذه الأنواع من المساعدة. وكلما تحرك هؤلاء "الأصدقاء" بسرعة، كلما كان الوضع أفضل حيث يتخذ نظام الأسد تدابير عنيفة لإنهاء التمرد.

تعزيز أساليب المقاومة

تم استخدام مجموعة كبيرة من الأساليب غير المباشرة في الماضي لتقويض الأنظمة غير الشعبية، وجميعها يتطلب موارد تقل بشكل كبير عن تلك التي يتطلبها التدخل العسكري المباشر. وتقع هذه الأساليب غير المباشرة تقريباً ضمن أربع فئات:

1. بناء قوات قتالية فعالة. تُشكل القوات القتالية القوية الجانب الأكثر أهمية من المقاومة المسلحة. ومن خلال التدخل غير المباشر، تستطيع الولايات المتحدة وآخرون توفير الأسلحة والتدريب لمقاتلي المقاومة فضلاً عن إعطاء المشورة والمعلومات الاستخباراتية الاستهدافية والمساعدة في تنسيق العمليات بما يتجاوز المستوى المحلي. كما أن توفير الأسلحة الصغيرة الإضافية سوف يتيح تسليح المزيد من الأفراد وتشكيل المزيد من مجموعات المقاومة وإرغام النظام على نشر قواته - الواقعة بالفعل تحت الضغط - على مساحات أكبر لتصبح أكثر ضعفاً. وسوف تُساعد الأسلحة المقاوِمة للدبابات وقذائف الهاون على الحد من ميزة النظام المتمثلة في الأسلحة الثقيلة. وبشكل إجمالي، فإن القوات القتالية الأكثر قوة سوف تتيح للمعارضة اعتراض عمليات النظام بمزيد من الفعالية مما سيدفع حدوث المزيد من الاستنزاف في قوات النظام وإضعاف معنويات من يبقى منهم في ميدان المعركة، والسماح بتنفيذ هجمات موسعة على قيادة النظام وتحكمه وبنيته التحتية اللوجستية. وبالفعل تنخرط قوات المقاومة القتالية في هذه الأنواع من الإجراءات وتُحدِث بعض التأثيرات. ويمكنها القيام بالمزيد في حالة حصولها على المساعدات.

2. بناء قدرات معززة لتنفيذ عمليات التخريب. سوف تُوجه مثل هذه العمليات ضد قدرات النظام الهامة، بما في ذلك الجيش والأمن والأهداف الاقتصادية، وكذلك الأرصدة الشخصية لمناصري النظام (الشركات والمنازل والسيارات). وهناك بداية لحملة تخريب بالفعل. فقد تم نشر توجيهات "تعليمية" على مواقع الإعلام الاجتماعي السورية حول سد الطرق ومهاجمة المركبات اللوجستية - بما في ذلك ناقلات الدبابات وشاحنات الوقود - مع قطع كابلات الاتصال المحورية التي تخدم المطارات الجوية وتدمير أبراج الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية وتخريب محركات المركبات القتالية وغيرها من المركبات التي تستخدمها القوات الحكومية (عن طريق "تحلية" خزانات الوقود) والهجوم على السكك الحديدية وخطوط الأنابيب. وهناك أدلة تشير إلى أنه يجري تنفيذ هذه التعليمات. ويمكن أن تكون الأعمال التخريبية أكثر فعالية من خلال التخطيط الأفضل والتنسيق وزرع العبوات الناسفة والاستهداف واتباع الأساليب المختلفة. كما يمكن توفير المساعدة في كل من هذه المجالات من جانب أي عدد من أجهزة المخابرات ووحدات القوات الخاصة. ويؤدي التخريب إلى إلحاق الضرر بالنظام وإعاقة قدرته على الحكم وإرغامه على مد خطوط قوته بشكل أكبر.

3. دعم حملة للحرب السياسية. سوف تستهدف مثل هذه الحملة التقويض بصورة أكثر من قدرات النظام على الحكم. ويمكن أن تشمل الإجراءات معلومات وعمليات نفسية تستهدف النظام والتشويش على اتصالات الحكومة السورية (الإذاعة والتلفزيون والجيش) وتقويض الولاء للنظام من خلال منح حوافز أمنية مالية أو شخصية (على سبيل المثال، الإعفاء من المحاكمة وإعطاء التأشيرات ومنح عروض اللجوء).

4. بناء مقاومة مدنية (غير مسلحة) أكثر فاعلية. حالياً، تشترك المعارضة المدنية على الأغلب في نشاط إعلامي ومظاهرات. لكن تنسيق حملة مقاومة مدنية منسقة قد يكون له نطاق أكبر وأوسع تأثيراً. وكما هو الحال مع أعمال التخريب، فإن حملة مقاومة من هذا القبيل يوجد لها بالفعل أساس في سوريا، وتشمل هجمات عامة ومحلية وأنشطة إعلامية للمعارضة ومظاهرات واسعة النطاق. ففي 17 شباط/ فبراير 2012، أحصت منظمة "لجان التنسيق المحلية" في سوريا قيام أكثر من ستمائة مظاهرة ضد النظام في ذلك اليوم. يجب دعم المنظمات المسؤولة عن هذا النشاط بالتمويل ووسائل الاتصال الآمن والموثوق وأي أدوات أخرى قد تكون مفيدة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن تحفيز جماعات أخرى وأفراد في المجال الاقتصادي في سوريا لتنظيم عمليات إبطاء في الإنتاج والقيام بإضرابات، أو تعطيل الآليات المالية وزعزعة استقرار العملة وإعاقة حرك الطرق والسكك الحديدية. وقد تم بالفعل نشر توجيهات على الجمهور حول كيفية المشاركة في هذه الانواع من الإجراءات، وذلك من قبل أشخاص مجهولين عبر الإعلام الاجتماعي السوري، لكن من الممكن القيام بالمزيد.

إن الهدف من هذه الأساليب هو شن حملة منسقة وقوية تخلق تأثيرات متلاحقة تعزز بعضها البعض، مما يجعل النظام في وضع متزايد الصعوبة ويؤدي إلى انهياره في النهاية.

الاحتمالات

حتى في حال شن مثل هذه الحملة، فإنه لا يمكن ضمان النتائج المرجوة. فالتدخل غير المباشر، على النحو المبين هنا، سوف يستغرق بعض الوقت لكي يؤتي ثماره وسوف يواجه بدون شك بعض الانتكاسات. يتعين إعطاء التحذيرات المعتادة حول التبعات غير المقصودة، بما في ذلك احتمالية تفاقم الوضع في سوريا، وهو ما قد يتدهور إلى حالة من الجمود تكون طويلة ودموية وتفضي في النهاية إلى اندلاع حرب أهلية. كما أن أولئك المتدخلين قد يواجهون مخاطر هائلة: مثل التعرض لعمليات واختراق الأنشطة وخسائر في الأفراد والمواد، وخسائر مصاحبة في صفوف المدنيين.

إلا أن التقاعس عن العمل له أيضاً تكاليفه. فالحرب تدور رحاها في سوريا ضد الشعب. ويقاتل النظام وحلفاؤه من أجل الفوز - وسحق المعارضة المسلحة وغير المسلحة بغض النظر عن الخسائر البشرية والمادية. ولا يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يسمح للخوف من النتائج المحتملة بالحيلولة دون اتخاذ إجراء الآن، بالنظر إلى الوضع المزري.

إن احتمالية نجاح حملة التدخل غير المباشر تقل بالتأكيد عن احتمالية نجاح التدخل المباشر، لكن ربما تكون أكثر قابلية للتحقيق. ومن المحتمل أن تكون أيضاً أكثر بُطءاً في تحقيق النتائج من التدخل المباشر، لكنها ستمكِّن السوريين الذين يقاتلون النظام من تحرير أنفسهم في النهاية. إن هذا النوع من الحملات سوف يسمح للولايات المتحدة وشركائها بتجسيد نتيجة الصراع، وليس تقريرها. كما سيساعد في تمهيد الوضع للتدخل المباشر إذا قرر المجتمع الدولي بأنه من الضروري التحرك في مثل هذا المسار. وفي الحالة الأسوأ على الإطلاق، إذا بقي النظام في الحكم، فإن التدخل غير المباشر قد يوفر سبلاً لمواصلة النضال بعد ذلك.

 

جيفري وايت هو ضابط استخبارات كبير سابق، وزميل للشؤون الدفاعية في معهد واشنطن ومتخصص في الشؤون العسكرية والأمنية لبلدان المشرق العربي وإيران

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

PolicyWatch 1904

Indirect Intervention in Syria: Crafting an Effective Response to the Crisis

Jeffrey White

Also available in العربية

February 21, 2012


Indirect intervention in Syria is less sure to succeed than direct intervention, but it may be more doable, giving the people the time and help they need to liberate themselves.

Direct international military intervention could have a decisive impact on the situation in Syria, as it did in Libya, but such an option has seemingly been ruled out by the United States and the international community for a variety of reasons, including the ability of the regime's forces to strike back, the disorganized state of the opposition, fears of the Salafists' influence and ability to exacerbate the violence, and a lack of political will. Indirect intervention -- that is, the provision of military and political assistance to the regime's armed and unarmed opponents -- offers an alternative option that could yield success with less risk and cost.

This type of intervention would require a campaign, either overt or covert, to provide the Syrian opposition with the means to resist the regime, disrupt its military operations, weaken its will to fight, and hinder the state's ability to function. Methods aimed at these ends were used to great effect against Libya under Muammar Qadhafi, in Afghanistan against the Soviets, and against German occupation forces and their collaborators during World War II. The methods and means include armed resistance, sabotage, political warfare, and civil resistance. The Syrian people are already employing such methods, but not in a coordinated, organized, or well-supported way. The United States and other countries are capable of giving the opposition the help it needs to mount a national resistance effort that can bring down the regime.

The Logic of Indirect Intervention

The scope and nature of the intervention must be appropriate to the conflict, the strengths and weaknesses of the regime, and the capabilities and needs of the resistance. The situation in Syria is an insurrection -- a popular uprising against the government -- that has broad, though not universal, support. Resistance elements within Syria, both armed and unarmed, are connected at the local level and cooperate, but they are not fully integrated or responsive to a single, or coherent, political or military leadership. Resistance elements outside Syria are weak and divided, exerting limited influence on the situation inside the country.

Though facing intense pressure from both inside Syria and without, the regime remains cohesive, with no fatal cracks as yet. It is committed to a "security solution" -- to breaking the unarmed and armed opposition with overwhelming force. In doing so, Damascus counts on the political, diplomatic, military, and economic support of a few allies, namely Russia, Iran, and Hizballah. Its promises of reform, agreements to allow monitoring from the Arab League, and the occasional local ceasefire are simply cynical maneuvers to gain time to crush the opposition and to manipulate regime critics. For President Bashar al-Assad and his inner circle, this is a life or death struggle that they intend to win.

The Strengths and Vulnerabilities of the Regime

For indirect intervention to work the regime's strengths must be attacked and its vulnerabilities exploited. Key regime strengths include the following:

  • Determination and cohesion of its inner circle
  • Loyalty of minorities (Alawites, Christians, Druze)
  • Support of key economic sectors (i.e., the business community)
  • Penetration of Syrian society by the security and intelligence services
  • Size and heavy armament of the military, security forces, and shabbiha (the regime's militia)
  • Ability to plan and coordinate large-scale operations (multi-brigade, divisional)
  • Large logistics infrastructure that supports its forces
  • Extensive communications infrastructure that allows for effective command and control of its forces

Despite enjoying many of the same strengths as the present Syrian leadership, the Qadhafi government was driven from power. All of these strengths can be attacked by one means or another, and some in Syria are already under attack.

The Assad regime's weaknesses include the following:

  • Sunni-majority population and its potential to be mobilized
  • Fault lines in the military between Sunnis and Alawites
  • Geographic scope of the opposition (armed, unarmed)
  • Largely urban nature of the fighting
  • Nature of the opposition (diffuse/decentralized)
  • Vulnerability of lines of communication and the communications infrastructure to disruption by attack, sabotage, or acts of popular resistance

Attacking or exploiting any one of these strengths or weaknesses alone will not bring down the regime, but addressing them as a set does have that potential.

The resistance has already demonstrated substantial capabilities for engaging in both armed and unarmed opposition. It has produced combat forces in at least seven of Syria's fourteen provinces, with combatants numbering from about seven to ten thousand -- and many more potentially available if provided arms. For its part, the unarmed opposition has shown incredible resilience in eleven months of sustained struggle with the regime. It can organize hundreds of demonstrations involving tens of thousands of people across the country on any given day, and it conducts an active media campaign exposing the violent actions of the regime. These are capabilities that can be built on. Even so, if the resistance is to remain potent and eventually bring down the regime, it will need considerable help in the spheres of military operations, sabotage, political warfare, and civil resistance.

The United States and others counting themselves among the "friends of Syria" are capable of providing these kinds of assistance. And the sooner these "friends" act, the better, as the Assad regime is taking aggressive measures to end the rebellion.

Enhancing Methods of Resistance

A host of indirect methods have been used in the past to undermine unpopular regimes, all of which require significantly fewer resources than direct military intervention. These indirect methods fall into roughly four categories:

  1. Building effective combat forces. Strong combat forces constitute the most important aspect of armed resistance. Through indirect intervention, the United States and others could provide weapons and training for resistance fighters, targeting advice and intelligence, and assistance in coordinating operations beyond the local level. Additional small arms would allow for the arming of more personnel and the creation of more resistance combat groups, forcing the regime to spread its already stretched forces even thinner. Antitank weapons and mortars would help reduce the regime's advantage in heavy forces. Overall, stronger combat forces would enable the resistance to oppose regime operations more effectively, prompting further attrition in regime forces and demoralizing those who remain, and permit expanded attacks on the regime's command and control and logistical infrastructure. Resistance combat forces are already engaging in these kinds of acts with some effect. With assistance, they could do more.

  2. Building enhanced capabilities for sabotage operations. Such operations would be directed against important regime capabilities, including military, security, and economic targets, as well as the personal assets of regime supporters (businesses, homes, vehicles). The beginnings of a sabotage campaign already exist. "How to" instructions have been posted on Syrian social media sites for blocking roads, attacking logistics vehicles -- including tank transporters and fuel trucks -- cutting coaxial communications cables servicing airfields, and destroying telecommunications towers, sabotaging engines of combat and other vehicles used by government forces (by "sugaring" the fuel tank), and attacking railways and pipelines. And evidence suggests that these instructions are being carried out. Sabotage actions could be made more effective through better planning, coordination, explosive devices, targeting, and techniques. Assistance in each of these areas could be provided by any number of intelligence services and Special Forces units. Sabotage inflicts damage on the regime, hampering its ability to rule and forcing it to further stretch its forces.

  3. Supporting a campaign of political warfare. Such a campaign would be aimed at further undermining the regime's ability to rule. Actions could include information and psychological operations directed at the regime, the jamming of Syrian government communications (radio, television, military), and the undermining of loyalties to the regime through financial or personal security inducements (e.g., exemption from prosecution, visas, and offers of asylum).

  4. Building more effective civil (unarmed) resistance. At present, civil resistance is mostly involved in media activity and demonstrations. But a coordinated civil resistance campaign could have much greater scope and effect. As with sabotage, such a resistance campaign already has a basis in Syria, including general and local strikes, opposition media activities, and widespread demonstrations. On February 17, 2012, the Local Coordination Committees organization in Syria counted more than six hundred demonstrations against the regime on that day. The organizations responsible for this activity should be supported with funding, means of secure and reliable communications, and whatever other tools might be useful. In addition, other groups and even individuals in Syria's economic sphere could be activated to organize work slowdowns and strikes, or to disable financial mechanisms, destabilize the currency, and disrupt road and rail traffic. Directions outlining how to take part in these kinds of actions have already been disseminated to the public anonymously over Syrian social media, but more can be done.

The goal of these methods is to wage a coordinated and sustained campaign that creates cascading effects that reinforce one another, making the regime's position increasingly difficult and eventually causing it to break.

Prospects

Even if such a campaign were mounted, the desired outcome could not be guaranteed. Indirect intervention, as outlined here, would take time to work and undoubtedly face setbacks. The usual cautions about unintended consequences must be given, including the possibility of exacerbating the situation in Syria, which could degenerate into a prolonged and bloody stalemate and ultimately a civil war. And those intervening would confront risks: exposure of operations, penetration of activities, losses in personnel and material, and collateral damage to civilians.

But inaction also has costs. In Syria, the war against the people is on. The regime and its allies are fighting to win -- to crush the armed and unarmed opposition, whatever the human and material costs. The international community should not let fear of possible outcomes prevent it from taking action now, given the dire situation.

A campaign of indirect intervention is less sure to succeed than direct intervention but perhaps more doable. It would also likely be slower to achieve effects than direct intervention, but it would essentially enable Syrians fighting the regime to liberate themselves. This type of campaign would allow the United States and its partners to shape, not determine, the conflict's outcome. It would help set conditions for direct intervention if the international community decides such a course is necessary. And in the absolute worst case, if the regime prevails, indirect intervention would provide the means to continue the struggle thereafter.

Jeffrey White, a former senior intelligence officer, is a defense fellow at The Washington Institute, specializing in the military and security affairs of the Levant and Iran.