أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

تحليل السياسات

صفحات رأي ومقالات

كيف يمكن لترامب أن يعيد محادثات السلام في الشرق الأوسط إلى مسارها الصحيح

دينيس روس

متاح أيضاً في English

"نيويورك ديلي نيوز"

25 أيلول/سبتمبر 2017


في الأسبوع الماضي التقى الرئيس ترامب مع رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو والرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس في اجتماعين منفصلين في نيويورك. وأعرب مجدداً عن تفاؤله بوجود "فرصة جيدة" لتحقيق ما يراه كـ"الصفقة النهائية".

وكوني أحد المفاوضين القدامى حول الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي، أُشيد بالجهود المبذولة لتحقيق السلام. إلّا أنني متنبّهٌ أيضاً بأن أي ضغط في هذا الاتجاه يجب أن يكون مترسّخاً في الاحتمالات الممكنة، لأنّ أي فشلٍ آخر لن يؤدي سوى إلى تعميق التهكّم الذي يشعر به الإسرائيليون والفلسطينيون.

وفي الوقت الحالي، قد تبدو أي مبادرة جديدة مهمة حمقاء. فنظراً إلى ظروفهما السياسية الراهنة، أي اعتماد نتنياهو على جناح اليمين في حكومته وابتعاد عباس عن جمهوره، ليس هناك استعداد من قبل أي من الزعيمين للنظر في تقديم تنازلات الواحد للآخر. ومع ذلك، لا يرغب أي منهما أن يُلام على عرقلة احتمال التوصل إلى سلام.

لذلك، يعتمد إحراز أي تقدّمٍ على امتلاك كل منهما تبرير لاتخاذ خطوة نحو الآخر. ولن تأتي التغطية من الولايات المتحدة، بل قد تأتي من الدول العربية. ويمكن لنتنياهو أن يبرر اتخاذ خطوةً نحو الفلسطينيين أمام جمهوره وحكومته إذا كان واضحاً أنه ينال شيئاً من الدول العربية في المقابل، وخصوصاً من المملكة العربية السعودية، يُظهر أنّ المنطقة تتجاوب مع إسرائيل. أمّا بالنسبة إلى عباس، فبإمكان الدول العربية أن تتحمل مسؤولية الخطوات التي يتخذها.

إلّا أن المشكلة تكمن في أنّ الدول العربية، والمملكة العربية السعودية بشكلٍ خاص، غير متحمسة للاضطلاع بهذا الدور. فخلافاً لما حدث في عام 2002، أي قبل حرب العراق وفي ذروة الانتفاضة الفلسطينية الثانية، مع انفجار القنابل في إسرائيل وفرض هذه الأخيرة تدابير صارمة على الفلسطينيين رداً على ذلك، كان انتباه العالم منصب على هذا الصراع - [مما أدى] إلى قيام صاحب السمو الملكي، ولي العهد السعودي الأمير عبدالله، بعرض ما أصبح يُعرف بـ"مبادرة السلام العربية".

أمّا اليوم فقد أصبح تركيز العالم والسعودية على تهديدات أخرى. فالسعودية ترى إيران واستخدامها للميليشيات الشيعية كتهديدٍ وجودي. إذ تراها تتقدّم [نحوها]، مروّجةً للأعمال الإرهابية في المحافظة الشرقية، وتبني ممراً برياً من إيران إلى لبنان، وتؤجج الحرب في اليمن.

وفي ما يمكن أن يُطلق عليه "الربط المعاكس"، فإنها لا تتعامل مع المسألة الفلسطينية التي سوف تقرّب بين السعودية والولايات المتحدة، بل إن الولايات المتحدة هي التي تظهر أنها سوف تتصدى للتهديد الإيراني في المنطقة، حتى وإن كانت تتوقع من السعودية أن تتخذ خطوات ملموسة في قضية السلام يمكن أن تستقطب إجراءات فاعلة دعماً لجهود إدارة ترامب. وبالطبع، سوف تحتاج المملكة إلى خطوات إسرائيلية تجاه الفلسطينيين لتبرير مد يدها لإسرائيل أمام الجمهور السعودي والعربي ككل. لكنّ المحفّز بالنسبة لهم يكمن في رؤية أنّ الولايات المتحدة جادة بالفعل على المستوى العملي، وليس البلاغي فقط، في الحد من أعمال إيران المزعزعة للاستقرار في المنطقة.

وفي هذا المعنى، يبقى أمام إدارة ترامب الكثير من العمل للقيام به. ففي الوقت الحاضر، يبقى تركيزها الكامل منصبّ على تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية» في سوريا والعراق، في حين تهيئ إيران نفسها لملء الفراغ الذي سيظهر بعد هزيمة «داعش». وإذا كانت السياسة الأمريكية على استعداد للقبول بهذا الواقع، وأن الولايات المتحدة لا تمنع حدوثه الآن بأي شكل، فيتعين عليها أن تفهم أيضاً أنّ السعوديين والإماراتيين وغيرهم لن يصدروا سوى بيانات عامة وجميلة حول السلام الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني.

ولنكون منصفين، فحتى لو قررت إدارة ترامب أن تُبلغ أنها سوف تلجأ إلى استخدام قوتها الجوية المتفوقة لمنع إيران والميليشيات الشيعية من التوسع في سوريا بشكلٍ أكبر، فإن السعوديين والإماراتيين وغيرهم لن يعمدوا إلى تطبيع علاقتهم مع إسرائيل. ومن أجل ذلك، سيكون من الضروري حل المسائل النهائية مثل قضية القدس. وبالتأكيد في هذه المرحلة، إن القادة الإسرائيليين غير مستعدين لوضع قضية القدس على الطاولة.

بيد أنّه لا يزال بالإمكان العمل في هذا الصدد. فيمكن أن يُطلب من السعوديين أن يعلنوا أنهم سيرسلون وفداً إلى إسرائيل لمناقشة التهديدات المشتركة في المنطقة والضمانات الأمنية تحت عنوان "مبادرة السلام العربية". وفي المقابل، بإمكان إسرائيل أن تعلن أنه نظراً لالتزامها بحل الدولتين، فإنها لن تقدم على بناء المستوطنات خارج الكتل الاستيطانية وتتنازل عن السيادة في المناطق التي تقع شرق الحاجز الأمني​​ - أو ما يصل إلى 92 في المائة من الضفة الغربية.

وهنا، سوف يؤدي السعوديون وغيرهم دوراً منتجاً للفلسطينيين ويمكنهم الانضمام إلى الولايات المتحدة في الضغط على الفلسطينيين لوقف سعيهم إلى نزع الشرعية عن إسرائيل في المحافل الدولية، وإنهاء المساعدات الاجتماعية التفضيلية المقدمة لعائلات الأشخاص المنخرطين في أعمال العنف ضد إسرائيل، والاعتراف بوجود حركتين وطنيتين وهويتين وطنيتين - يهودية وفلسطينية - وهو السبب وراء قبول إسرائيل بحل الدولتين.

ولن يحدث أي من المذكور أعلاه من تلقاء نفسه. فمن الضروري استخدام الدبلوماسية الهادئة من أجل تسيير هذه التفاهمات وإعلانها في وقت واحد - ربما عند استئناف المفاوضات. وقد لا تكون هذه "الصفقة النهائية" التي يروج لها الرئيس ترامب ممكنة، بيد أنها قد تكسر الجمود الحالي وتُظهر أن إدارة ترامب قد أحرزت تقدماً لم تتمكن من تحقيقه الإدارة الأمريكية السابقة.

 

دينيس روس هو مستشار وزميل "ويليام ديفيدسون" المتميز في معهد واشنطن.

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Policy Analysis

Articles & Op-Eds

How Trump Can Get Mideast Peace Talks Back on Track

Dennis Ross

Also available in العربية

New York Daily News

September 25, 2017


To garner support for a return to Israeli-Palestinian negotiations, Washington needs to show that it will counter the Iranian threat in the region even as it coordinates tangible first moves by Saudi Arabia and the two parties.

Last week, President Trump met separately with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas in New York. He again expressed his optimism that there was a "good chance" to achieve what he sees as the "ultimate deal."

As a long-time negotiator on the Arab-Israeli conflict, I applaud the effort to pursue peace. But I'm also wary of the fact that any push must be grounded in what is possible, because another failure will only deepen the cynicism that both Israelis and Palestinians feel.

And right now, on the surface, any new initiative would seem a fool's errand. Given their political circumstances -- Netanyahu's dependence on the right-wing in his government and Abbas' alienation from his public -- neither leader is willing to consider concessions to the other. Still, neither wants to be blamed for blocking the possibility for peace.

Progress, therefore, depends on each having an explanation for taking a step toward the other. The cover won't come from the United States but could come from the Arabs. Netanyahu can justify a move toward the Palestinians before his public and government if it is clear he is getting something from the Arabs, and especially the Saudis, that shows the region is responding to Israel. For Abbas, the Arabs can assume responsibility for the moves he makes.

The problem is the Arabs, in particular the Saudis, are not itching to play this role. Unlike in 2002, before the Iraq war and at the height of the second intifada, with bombs going off in Israel and Israel imposing tough measures on the Palestinians in response, the world's attention was riveted on this conflict -- and the putative Saudi leader, Crown Prince Abdullah, proposed what became the Arab Peace Initiative.

Today, the focus internationally and in Saudi Arabia is on other threats. The Saudis see Iran and its use of Shia militias as an existential threat. They see it on the march, fomenting acts of terror in its eastern province, creating a land corridor from Iran to Lebanon, and fueling war in Yemen.

In what might be termed "reverse linkage," it is not dealing with the Palestinian issue that will draw the Saudis closer to the United States; rather, it is the U.S. showing it will counter the Iranian threat in the region, even as it expects tangible Saudi moves on the peace issue, that can elicit active measures in support of the Trump administration's efforts. Yes, the Saudis would still need Israeli moves toward the Palestinians to explain their outreach to Israel to their own and other Arab publics, but the driver for them is seeing that the U.S. is serious practically, not only rhetorically, in limiting Iran's de-stabilizing moves in the region.

In this sense, the Trump administration has lots of work to do. Presently, it remains riveted on ISIS in Syria and Iraq, while the Iranians are positioning themselves to fill the vacuum that will emerge after Daesh's defeat. If U.S. policy is willing to accept that reality -- and we are not now preventing it -- we should also understand that the Saudis, Emirates and others will only offer nice-sounding generalities on Israeli-Palestinian peace.

To be fair, even if the Trump administration decides to convey that it will use our superior air power to prevent the Iranians and Shia militias from expanding further in Syria, the Saudis, Emirates and others are not going to normalize relations with Israel. For that, the resolution of final status issues like Jerusalem will be required. And, certainly at this point, Israeli leaders are not ready to put Jerusalem on the table.

But that still leaves room for action. The Saudis could be asked to announce that they will send a delegation to Israel to discuss common threats in the region and security assurances under the rubric of the Arab Peace Initiative. In return, Israel could announce that because of its commitment to two states for two peoples, it will not build outside the settlement blocs and will forswear sovereignty in the areas that are east of the security barrier -- or what amounts to 92% of the West Bank.

Here, the Saudis et al would be producing for the Palestinians and could join the U.S. in pressing them to stop seeking to delegitimize Israel in international forums; to end preferential welfare payments to the families of those who engaged in violence against Israelis; and to recognize that there are two national movements and national identities -- Jewish and Palestinian -- which is why they accept two states for two peoples.

None of this will happen by itself. Quiet diplomacy should be employed to orchestrate these understandings and have them announced simultaneously -- presumably at the time negotiations are resumed. This may not be the "ultimate deal" the President touts as within reach, but it would break the current stalemate and show that the Trump administration has made progress that eluded its predecessor.

Dennis Ross is the counselor and William Davidson Distinguished Fellow at The Washington Institute.