أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

رواية الإعلام الغربي المضللة عن قناة "الجزيرة"


متاح أيضاً في English

22 آذار/مارس 2018

في 5 حزيران/يونيو 2017، اندلعت أزمة خطيرة أخرى في الشرق الأوسط: قررت الرباعية العربية المؤلفة من السعودية والإمارات والبحرين ومصر قطع العلاقات الدبلوماسية مع دولة قطر المجاورة. وأتى ردّ وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية والغربية إزاء هذه المسألة محيّرًا إن لم نقل مضللًا: حيث أشارت خطأً إلى المقاطعة بأنها "حصار"، ويبدو أن محطات الأخبار الأمريكية والغربية تتبنى موقف قطر الذي يعتبر أن طلب الدول العربية الأربع بإغلاق قناة "الجزيرة" المملوكة للدولة القطرية يشكّل مسعىً لقمع حرية التعبير. وإن تقديم الصراع بهذا الشكل ينذر بالخطر ليس لأن اتهامات قطر وحديثها عن انتهاكات هو نفاق فحسب، بل أيضًا لأن التغطية بحدّ ذاتها تدعم استراتيجية "فرّق تسد" التي تنتهجها الدوحة وتعجز عن تحديد بعض أهم العوامل الكامنة وراء الأزمة، على غرار الحملة الدعائية برعاية قطر.  

وإن الادعاء، كما تفعل الدوحة على ما يبدو، بأن الصراع بشأن "الجزيرة" يتمحور حول الحق في حرية التعبير، ليس خاطئًا فحسب، بل مثير للسخرية إلى حدّ كبير أيضًا. فغير أنها بعيدة كل البعد عن حرية التعبير، تُعتبر "الجزيرة" - الناطقة باسم العائلة الملكية القطرية - متعهدة الإسلام المتطرف والجهادي والسلفي. فمن بين أمور أخرى، بثّت القناة مقابلةً مع قائد "جبهة النصرة"، وهي أحد فروع تنظيم "القاعدة". فضلًا عن ذلك، وفي مرحلة ما، أعلن أحد الضيوف في البرنامج الحواري الذي يتمتع بنسبة مشاهدة عالية "الاتجاه المعاكس"، وهو نسخة عن البرنامج الأمريكي "كروس فاير" (Crossfire)، ولاءه لقائد "الدولة الإسلامية" أبو بكر البغدادي. ولم يكن من المفاجئ أنه خلال أحداث "الربيع العربي"، لم تقف "الجزيرة" في صف الثوار بل انحازت إلى الإسلاميين.  

وبشكل عام، ليست قطر في موقع يخوّلها إعطاء محاضرة عن الديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان. فمنذ فترة ليست ببعيدة، حكمت السلطات القطرية على شاعر قطري بالسجن لمدة 15 عامًا لإلقائه قصيدة تنتقد أمير قطر السابق حمد آل ثاني. وتجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أن هذا الأمير السابق، وهو والد حاكم قطر الحالي تميم، تولى السلطة فعليًا بعدما أطاح بوالده في انقلاب من داخل القصر. وصدق القول "الابن سرّ أبيه"، فقد حذا حمد حذو والده خليفة الذي بدوره انتزع العرش من ابن عمه أحمد.  

لهذه الأسباب، من غير الصائب التحدث عن "الجزيرة"، وهي جوهرة إمبراطورية الإعلام القطري، باعتبارها صوت الذين لا صوت لهم ومنصة ًلترويج الديمقراطية وسيادة القانون والتنوّع والتسامح. ففي الواقع، تستخدم الدوحة قناة "الجزيرة" لتشريع السياسة المتعرجة في خضم الأزمة الحالية. لكن هذا التكتيك ليس بجديد البتة. فخلال الحرب التي قادتها الولايات المتحدة على العراق، على سبيل المثال، كانت القناة تمثّل الناقد الأكثر شراسةً للولايات المتحدة ومساعي الحرب، غير أنها لم تأتِ مطلقًا على ذكر أن الطائرات الحربية الأمريكية كانت تشنّ غاراتها في العراق انطلاقًا من قاعدة عسكرية مقرها في قطر. علاوةً على ذلك، وفي حين اعتمدت نبرةً حزينة عند الحديث عن إصابات وضحايا الحرب، قدّمت "الجزيرة" أيضًا للرئيس العراقي السابق صدام حسين منصةً إعلامية متعاطفة، حيث أحجمت عن ذكر السجل الإرهابي الكبير للدكتاتور الراحل. ويمكن أن نعذر المشاهدين إذا عجزوا عن تحديد الجانب الذي وقفت في صفه "الجزيرة".      

إذًا قطر هي ببساطة دولة مستبدة غنية بالنفط وتتطلع - رغم صغر مساحتها - إلى ترسيخ مكانة لها في الساحة الإقليمية والدولية. ومن أجل تحقيق هذه الغاية، لا ترحب بوجود قواعد عسكرية أجنبية على أراضيها فحسب، بل تتصرف أيضًا بطريقة مخادعة تجاه الدول المجاورة. وبالفعل، اعتادت قطر على طعن نظيراتها العربية في الظهر، داعمةً الجماعات المتمردة التي تحاول الإطاحة بحكومات بلادها ومستخدمةً البترودولارات للتدخل في شؤون تلك الدول. وعليه، لا يحق لقطر الادعاء بأن هذا الحظر هو اعتداء على سيادتها. فعند الحديث عن السيادة، لا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أن قطر تموّل وتسلّح وتدعم وتحتضن الميليشيات والمنظمات الإسلامية في ليبيا وتونس واليمن وسوريا والعراق، والأهم في مصر.   

ومع ذلك، ورغم أن الدعم الشائع والموثّق الذي تقدمه قطر إلى التطرف بكافة أشكاله وصوره ساهم في اندلاع الأزمة الحالية، لعبت عوامل أخرى، تغاضت عنها وسائل الإعلام الغربية، دورًا مهمًا في المسألة. فمنذ فترة طويلة، كانت قطر تزرع بذور الانشقاق والخلاف والانقسام في أوساط الدول الأعضاء في "مجلس التعاون الخليجي" الذي يضمّ الإمارات العربية المتحدة والسعودية والبحرين والكويت. وقد تطوعت الدولة العضو الوحيدة في المجلس غير المشاركة في النزاع، ألا وهي الكويت، للاضطلاع بدور الوسيط بين الرباعية العربية وقطر. لكن وللمفارقة، واستنادًا إلى أحد أبرز المسؤولين الإعلاميين الكويتيين، كانت الكويت فعليًا ضحية الحرب الإعلامية التي شنتها قطر بقيادة قناة "الجزيرة" لأكثر من اثنتي عشرة سنة. وبالطبع، إن الكويت ليست الدولة الوحيدة على الإطلاق التي تستهدفها قطر. فمصر هي الدولة الأخرى التي غالبًا ما تكون موضع انتقاد قناة "الجزيرة". واستنادًا إلى تقارير (مشكوك فيها) صادرة عن القناة، إن نظام الرئيس السيسي هو دائمًا على شفير الانهيار والمجتمع المصري مشؤوم (في هذا السياق، لا بدّ من ذكر أن قطر هي أحد حلفاء جماعة "الإخوان المسلمين"، وهي منظمة تتهمها السلطات المصرية بالتواطؤ في حرب إرهابية كبرى خبيثة ضدّ الجيش والشرطة والشعب في مصر).

وعليه، يبدو أن قطر اعتمدت استراتيجية السياسة الخارجية الإيرانية القائمة على فكرة أنه من الأسهل أن تحافظ على قوتك عندما تكون الدول المجاورة ضعيفة ومنقسمة. ولسوء الحظ، حين يتعلق الأمر بقطر، تميل الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من الدول الغربية إلى الاكتفاء بالحديث وعدم دعم أقوالها بأفعال. وفي حين يحض الغرب الدوحة على التوقف عن دعم الإرهاب وتمويله، فإن قطر قادرة مع ذلك تفادي الوقوع في المشاكل من خلال الاستثمار في الأسواق الغربية والموافقة على استقبال قواعد عسكرية أجنبية. لكن في الوقت الذي تواصل فيه قطر ضخ الأموال في مراكز الفكر ومنظمات الضغط الأمريكية، تسير "الجزيرة" قدمًا بأجندتها الانقسامية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Western Media Misguided Narrative about Al Jazeera


Also available in العربية

03-22-2018

On June 5, 2017, yet another dangerous crisis broke out in the Middle East: The Arab Quartet, whose members are Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Egypt, decided to cut diplomatic ties with neighboring state Qatar. The response of American and Western media to the affair has been perplexing, not to say misguided: Erroneously referring to the boycott as a “siege,” American and Western news outlets seem to adopt Qatar’s stance, according to which the Quartet’s demand to shut down the state-owned channel Al Jazeera constitutes an attempt to suppress free speech. Such representation of the conflict is alarming not only because Qatar’s accusations and talk of infringements are hypocritical, but also because the coverage itself bolsters Doha’s divide and conquer strategy and fails to identify some of the important factors behind the crisis, like Qatari-sponsored propaganda.

To argue, as Doha seems to do, that the dispute over Al Jazeera revolves around the right to free speech, is not only wrong but also highly ironic. Far from being a champion of free speech, Al Jazeera, a mouthpiece for the Qatari monarchy, is a purveyor of Islamist extremism, jihadism, and Salafism: Among other things, the channel has aired an interview with the leader of Jabahtu Alnusra, an al-Qaeda offshoot. Moreover, at one point, a guest on the popular show The Opposite Direction, a copy of the American Crossfire, has pledged his allegiance to IS leader, Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. Not surprisingly, during the events of the Arab Spring, Al Jazeera did not side with the revolutionaries, but rather with the Islamists.

In general, Qatar is hardly in a position to lecture on democracy and human rights: Not long ago, Qatari authorities have sentenced a Qatari poet for fifteen years in prison for reciting a poem criticizing the former Emir Hamad al-Thani. It is also worth mentioning that this former Emir, who is the father of the current ruler Tamim, actually rose to power after dethroning his own father in a palace coup. Like father like son, Hamad followed in the footsteps of his father, Khalifa, who himself usurped the throne from his cousin, Ahmad.

For these reasons, it would be wrong to speak of Al Jazeera, the Crown Jewel of Qatar’s media empire, as a voice for the voiceless and a platform for promoting democracy, rule of law, diversity, and tolerance. As a matter of fact, Doha uses Al Jazeera to enact the zigzag policy at the heart of the current crisis. This tactic is far from new: During the U.S.-led war on Iraq, for example, the network was the most vociferous critic of the United States and the war efforts, never mentioning the fact that American warplanes were launching their sorties in Iraq from a military base located in Qatar. Moreover, while adopting a lamenting tone in its reporting of the war’s casualties and victims, Al Jazeera also provided former Iraqi President Saddam Hussein with a sympathetic media platform, failing to mention the late dictator’s abysmal record of terror. Viewers would have had to have been forgiven if they couldn’t figure out whose side Al Jazeera was on.

Qatar then is simply an oil-rich autocracy, which – despite its small size – is nonetheless desperate to carve out a place for itself in the regional and international arena. To this end, it does not only welcome the presence of foreign military bases, but also acts in a deceptive manner towards its neighbors: Indeed, Qatar is in the habit of backstabbing fellow Arab countries, supporting insurgent groups attempting to topple their governments, and using petrodollars to meddle in their affairs. Thus, it is preposterous for Qatar to claim that the boycott amounts to an attack on its sovereignty: While speaking of sovereignty, Qatar funds, arms, promotes and embraces Islamist militias and organizations in Libya, Tunisia, Yemen, Syria, Iraq, and most of all in Egypt.

Nonetheless, although Qatar’s well-known, well-documented support of extremism in different shapes and forms has contributed to the formation of the current crisis, other factors, which were overlooked by Western media, have also played an important role in the affair: For a long time, Qatar has been sowing the seeds of dissent, discord, and division  among  fellow members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), which includes the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and Kuwait. The only GCC member that is not a party to the conflict, Kuwait has volunteered to act as mediator between the Arab Quartet and Qatar Ironically enough though, according to one prominent Kuwaiti media official, Kuwait  has actually been on the receiving end of Qatar’s propaganda war, spearheaded by Al Jazeera, for over twelve years. Of course, Kuwait is far from being the only nation in Qatar’s sights. Another nation often in the crosshairs of Al Jazeera in Egypt, a frequent target of criticism. According to (questionable) reports by the network, President el-Sisi’s regime is constantly on the verge of collapse and Egyptian society is plagued by misfortune (in this context, it is worth noting that Qatar is an ally of the Muslim Brotherhood, an organization accused by the Egyptian authorities of being complicit in a vicious all-out war of terror against Egypt’s military, police and people).

It seems, then, that Qatar has adopted Iran’s foreign policy strategy, which is guided by the notion that it is easier to stay strong when your neighbors are weak and divided. Unfortunately, when it comes to Qatar, the United States, along with other Western nations, tends to talk the talk without walking the walk. While the West does urge Doha to stop supporting and funding terrorism, Qatar is nonetheless able to stay out of trouble by investing in Western markets and agreeing to host foreign military bases. But, as Qatar continues to pump money into American think tanks and lobbying organizations, Al Jazeera moves forward with its divisive agenda.

Customize your RSS Feed