أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الدور المحوري لقضايا المرأة ما بعد الربيع العربي في شمال أفريقيا


متاح أيضاً في English

تتنوّع مطالب المرأة في شمال أفريقيا أكثر فأكثر وتتعدد الأصوات المناشِدة بها، إذ تبرز جهات معنية وفاعلة جديدة في ميدان السلطة العام. وتُغذّي هذا التنوّع قيمٌ جديدة، ككرامة المواطنين جميعهم كلهم في الميدان العام، ونُهُجٌ جديدة، كاستخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وشبكات التواصل العابرة للأمم. وتتمحور هذه الديناميات حول قضايا المرأة وحقوقها؛ تمامًا كالسابق. ومع أن الربيع العربي لم يستهدف قضايا المرأة بالتحديد، فبفضل العقود التي أمضتها النساء في كفاحهنّ لنيل حقوقهنّ، تصدّرت بعض المسائل كالتعليم والرعاية الصحية جدول أعمال تظاهرات الحشود. وعلاوةً على ذلك، كانت ثقافة الاحتجاج التي غرستها الناشطات العلمانيات في الميدان العام هي التي فتحت الأبواب أمام التظاهرات الواسعة النطاق.

ونظرًا للسرعة التي تجري فيها الأحداث والتغيرات، نحتاج اليوم إلى رؤية تاريخية وآنية على حد سواء لفهم ما يحدث. وتولّد قضايا المرأة ما سأسميه في ما يلي "المحور"، وهو المجال الوسَطي الإيديولوجي بين نماذج العلمانية التي تزداد عدائيتها (الفصل بين الدين والسياسة) والإسلاموية (استخدام الدين في الدولة) في شمال أفريقيا ما بعد الثورة. إنه مجالٌ تجري فيه إعادة تشكيل النطاق الاجتماعي: وإنّ "المحور" نفسُه ثابت، لكنّ الأوجه التاريخية والآنية فيه متحرّكة. وترتكز إعادة التشكيل هذه حول الثنائييْن المتجانسيْن: محافظ/متحرر وإسلاموي/علماني.
ووُلد الانقسام بين محافظ ومتحرر في شمال أفريقيا خلال حقبة الاستعمار. وفي حين أن الطرفين دعما القومية، إلا أنهما اختلفا كثيرًا في ردّتيْ فعلهما إزاء الغرب والحداثة. فعارض المحافظون أي تأثير من الغرب، لا سيّما في العائلة والقضايا الاجتماعية، ونظر المتحررون إلى الغرب على أنه رمز التقدم. ومنذ السبعينات، ومع تفشي الإسلاموية السياسية في الخلفية، تطور الانقسام بين محافظ ومتحرر إلى انقسام بين علماني وإسلامي. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذا التطور الجديد لم يحل مكان الانقسام الأولي بين محافظ ومتحرر بل سيّسه وبالتالي قسّمه إلى قطبيْن وزاد من تعقيده. وفي السياسة، يميل المتحررون إلى دعم العلمانيين ويميل المحافظون إلى دعم الإسلاميين، مع أنّ هؤلاء ليسوا بالضرورة ضد الحداثة وقد يدعم بعضهم العلمانيين.

ويُثار اليوم في "المحور" عددٌ من القضايا المتعلقة بالمرأة على غرار: الخطاب الإسلاموي الذي يهدف إلى تقويض إنجازات المرأة في ميدان الحقوق، وتصاعد العنف الجنساني تماشيًا مع تصاعد الإرهاب في المنطقة، والعنف العائلي، والاغتصاب، والتحرش الجنسي، إلخ. وفي معالجة هذه القضايا، تحاول بعض القوى النسائية العلمانية أخذ المبادرة. فتندرج حقوق المرأة أكثر فأكثر ضمن "أطر عمل للمساءلة المتبادَلة" بين جهات مانحة وجهات متلقية للمساعدة في المؤسسات الحكومية بهدف تنظيم الحوار السياسي والمساعدات والتجارة والأوجه الجنسانية والعلاقات الاقتصادية الأوسع نطاقًا.

ويتمتع "المحور" بالخصائص الآتية: ما من قيادة واضحة له؛ وهو يتجاوز حدود الانقسام العلماني-الإسلاموي؛ ويستخدم وسائل الإعلام التقليدية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؛ وله منافذ، أي أن له حدود مفتوحة غالبًا ما تتغير وغير مرسومة بوضوح. لذلك، قد تتواجد في هذا المجال وتتحادث من دون أن تتلاقى وجهات نظر تبدو متضاربة كالعلمانية والإسلاموية في آن واحد. وبالتالي، لا بد من أن يكون "المحور" معقّدًا ومتعدد الأوجه لأنه يعالج جوانب مهمة ومختلفة من واقعٍ معقّد وسريع التغيّر. ومن الناحية العملية، يتعدّى "المحور" حركات الإصلاح في العقدين الماضيين، فلا يقع بسهولة ضمن أطر العمل الأنجلو-أمريكية أو الأوروبية الغربية لما يشكّل "محورًا سياسيًّا" بسبب توسّع قاعدة الإصلاح الاجتماعي والعلاقات غير المباشرة مع السياسة.

ونظريًّا، تختلف طريقة تطبيق العلمانية والإسلاموية من بلدٍ إلى آخر في شمال أفريقيا (والعالم العربي-المسلم على مستوى أوسع)، لأنه على الرغم من أن كل البلدان العربية-المسلمة تعتبر الإسلام كدين دولة وكمرجع قانوني (إذًا كجزء من السياسة والدين في آن) لا يؤدي الإسلام الدور السياسي نفسه في كل بلد. فنشأت الاختلافات في خلال مراحل بناء الدول عندما اختار كل بلد مذهبًا محدّدًا كإطارٍ مرجعي يناسب بنيته السياسية. فعلى سبيل المثال، اختار المغرب المذهب المالكي لأن هذه المدرسة تعترف بسلطة الحاكم الدينية، فكانت ملائمة لبلدٍ متعدد الإثنيات واللغات كالمغرب. وبمعنى آخر، تختلف الطريقة التي تعمل بها السلطات السياسية والدينية في البلدان ذات الأغلبية المسلمة، كما تختلف وسائل تطبيق الشريعة ودرجاته في أنظمتها القانونية. وفي المغرب، لا يرى العلمانيون إجمالًا أن موقفهم يعارض الإسلام، لكنهم يرونه يعارض الإسلاميين في سياقٍ شامل حيث يحكم النظام الملكي (الذي من المفترض أن يحمي كلتا النزعتين). وبالفعل، بين العلمانيين والإسلاميين في المغرب قواسم مشتركة سطحية واختلافات كامنة عميقة. كذلك، فيما نفهم جميعنا ما تعني العلمانية نظريًّا، تختلف صيغتها بحسب طبيعة كل بلد التاريخية والاجتماعية السياسية. ففي نظام الحكم المغربي، حيث تندرج السلطة العليا الدينية والسلطة العليا السياسية في آن ضمن صلاحيات الملك، لا تعترض أغلبية القوى العلمانية والإسلاموية على هذا الواقع. وبالطبع، لكل طرفٍ نسختان خاصتان به إحداهما معتدلة والأخرى متطرفة، لكن بشكلٍ عام يقر كلا الطرفين العلماني والإسلاموي بسلطة الملك العليا والمطلقة للفصل في قضايا الخلافات بين الأحزاب، كما يقران بصفته كمصدر للاستقرار.

وفي إطار العمل هذا، تشكّل قضايا المرأة وقودًا حقيقيًّا في ساحة المعركة بين الأفكار. ويستخدم السياسيون (من رجالٍ ونساء) هذا الوقود لأهداف سياسية محددة، بينما تستخدمه الحركات النسائية لتحقيق المزيد من الأرباح. وقد تؤدي الدوافع المتبدلة إما إلى جمع النساء العلمانيات والإسلاميات معًا على أساس أنهن يحاربن لنيل الحقوق نفسها، وإما إلى تفريقهنّ حين يتم تسييس الحقوق إلى حدٍ كبير.

ويبدو أنه على المدى الطويل سيسمح "المحور" لحركات حقوق المرأة بتوسيع قاعدة الدعم، عبر إشراك ناشطات شابات جديدات ونساء من المناطق الريفية والمدنية الفقيرة. وتشكّل المبادرات لجعل برامج التنمية ترسّخ المساواة بين الجنسين ومشاركة المرأة نقطة انطلاق قيّمة. إلا أنه ثمة شعور متنامٍ بأن العائق الأساسي أمام هذه الأهداف هو بروز حركات متطرفة في المنطقة وفشل الإسلام السياسي في إدارة السياسة وتحقيق الشمولية في الحوكمة.
وفي الختام، أودّ أن أقول إنه مهما كانت القيود، في حالة شمال أفريقيا، إنّ استخدام نوع الجنس كعدسة تُحلَّل من خلالها عمليات تحديد الهوية المسيسة الصاعدة هو حقل تحقيق واعد يجمع آراء المفكرين المتنوعة في المنطقة والعالم ككلّ. ويسمح ذلك بدوره بوضع سياق للحبكات السائدة في المنطقة بعد الثورة – كالدور العام للإسلام، وأدوار المرأة، والإصلاحات الأخيرة المتعلقة بالوضع القانوني للمرأة، إلخ. وإنّ السياسة الجنسانية مهمة جدًّا في تأليف هذه الحبكات، وتجسّد بالتالي كيف تمّ تفعيل محاور الهوية الثلاثة – أي الدين والعرق والجنس – في لحظة الثورة وكيف تمت تغذيتها في أعقاب الثورة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Central Role of Women’s Issues in Post-Arab Spring North Africa


Also available in العربية

Women’s demands in North Africa are increasingly diversified and polyvocal as new actors and agents gain visibility in the public sphere of authority. This diversification is being nourished by new values, such as all citizens’ dignity in the public sphere, and new approaches, such as the use of social media and transnational networking. Women’s issues and women’s rights are at the center of these dynamics; just as they have been before. Although the Arab Spring did not specifically target women’s issues, it is thanks to decades of women’s struggle for their rights that issues like education and health care were top on the agenda of the mass protests. Furthermore, it was the protest culture that secular women’s activists instilled in the public sphere that opened the door to large-scale demonstrations. Given the rapidity with which events and changes are taking place, we need both a diachronic and a synchronic perspective to understand what’s happening. Women’s issues are creating what I will refer to as the «Center».

I define the Center as an ideological middle-ground space between the increasingly antagonistic paradigms of secularism (separation of religion and politics) and Islamism (use of religion in politics) in the post-revolution North Africa. It is a space in which a reconfiguration of social space is taking place: the Center itself holds, but with diachronic and synchronic aspects that move. This reconfiguration is based around the twin dichotomies of conservative/modernist and Islamist/secular.

The conservative-modernist dichotomy in North Africa was born during the colonization period. While both trends supported nationalism, they significantly differed in their reactions to the West and modernity. Conservatives opposed any influence of the West, especially in family and social matters, and modernists viewed the West as a symbol of progress. From the 1970s onward, and with rampant political Islamism in the background, the conservative-modernist dichotomy developed into a secularists-Islamists one. It is important to note that this new development did not supplant the initial modernist-conservative dichotomy but politicized, and thus polarized, the dichotomy and rendered it more complex. In politics, modernists tend to support secularists and conservatives tend to support Islamists, although the latter are not necessarily against modernity and some of them may support secularists.

A number of women-related issues are now raised in the Center: Islamist rhetoric that aims at rolling back women’s achievements in terms of rights, the escalation of gender-based violence pursuant to the escalation of terrorism in the region, domestic violence, rape, sexual harassment, etc. In addressing these issues, secular feminist forces are trying to gain initiative. Women’s rights are increasingly included in “mutual accountability frameworks” between donors and aid recipients in governmental institutions with the aim of regulating political dialogue, aid, trade, gender aspects, and wider economic relations.

The Center exhibits the following characteristics: it does not have a clear leadership; it transcends the boundaries of the secularist-Islamist dichotomy; it uses conventional and social media; and it is porous, i.e. has open boundaries that are often variable and not clearly delineated. Hence, seemingly incompatible standpoints, like secularism and Islamism,  may co-exist and converse without converging in this space. Subsequently, the Center is bound to be complex and multifaceted because it addresses different important facets of a complex and quickly changing reality. In practical terms, the Center expands beyond the reform movements of the 1990s-2000s and as such, does not easily fall in the Anglo-American or Western European frameworks of what constitutes a “political center” because the base of social reform is expanded and the relationship with politics is not direct.

Theoretically speaking, the way secularism and Islamism are applied varies from country to country in North Africa (and the Arab-Muslim world at large) because although all Arab-Muslim countries consider Islam a state religion and legal reference (thus part and parcel of politics and religion) Islam does not play the same political role in every country. The differences were constructed during the state-building phases when each country chose a specific madhab as a frame of reference that fitted its political structure. For example, Morocco chose the Maliki madhab because this school acknowledges the religious authority of the ruler and hence suited a multi-ethnic and multilingual country like Morocco. In other words, the way political and religious authorities function in Muslim-majority countries, as well as the means and degrees of the application of shari’a law in their legal systems, varies. In Morocco, secularists do not in general see their stance as opposing Islam, but they see it as opposing Islamists in an overarching context where monarchy (expected to protect both trends) rules. Indeed, the secularists and Islamists in Morocco exhibit surface commonalities and deep underlying divergences. In sum, while we all understand what secularism means theoretically, it is tailored to the specific historical and sociopolitical nature of each country. Within the Moroccan ruling system, where both the supreme religious and political authorities are prerogatives of the king, the majority of the secular and Islamist forces do not contest this reality. Of course each trend has its own moderate and extremist versions, but in general both secular and Islamist forces acknowledge the position of the king as the supreme and ultimate arbiter in cases of clash between parties, as well as a source of stability.

Within this framework, women’s issues constitute genuine fuel in the battlefield of ideas. This fuel is used by politicians (men and women) for specific political aims, whereas women’s movements use it to score more gains. The moving grounds may either bring secular and Islamist women together on the premise that after all they are fighting for the same rights, or separate them when the rights are too much politicized.

It seems that in the long run the Center will allow a broadening of the support base for women’s rights movements, through engaging new youth activists and women in rural and urban slum areas. Initiatives to transform development programs that embed gender equality and women’s participation are a valuable start. However, there is a growing feeling that the chief obstacle to these goals is the rise of fundamentalist movements in the region and the failure of political Islam to manage politics and be inclusive in governance.

By way of conclusion, I would say that whatever the constraints, in the case of North Africa, the use of gender as a lens through which emerging politicized identification processes are analyzed is a promising field of inquiry which brings together various intellectual  voices in the region and across the globe. This in turn allows a contextualization of the dominant post-revolution narratives in the region - the public role of Islam in women’s roles, recent reforms regarding women’s legal status, etc. Gender politics is crucial in forging these narratives, and hence, exemplifies how the three axes of identity—religion, ethnicity, and gender— were activated during the revolution moment and nourished in the aftermath of the revolution.

 

03/08/2017

Customize your RSS Feed