أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

إمكانيات الإصلاح في الكويت


متاح أيضاً في English

21 نوفمبر 2016

إذا بقيت الحركات السياسية المستقبلية "من دون تنظيم"، قد تعود إلى القيادة الإسلامية القبلية الأكثر تنظيمًا وألفةً التي تنافسها المجموعات اليسارية.

عند إلقاء نظرة سريعة على التاريخ السياسي في الكويت، يبرز استنتاج واحد لا لبس فيه: فقد كان الاستبداد والفساد سببًا بنشوء جميع حركات المعارضة السياسية، ولم تكن هذه الحركات يومًا مبنية على التبعيات أو الإيديولوجيات الأجنبية. فقد حكم آل صباح منذ سنة 1752، إلا أن الاستبداد لم يدخل للثقافة الكويتية إلا في عام 1896. عائلة آل صباح لم تأخذ مقاليد السلطة بالقوة، لكن الشعب هو من اختارها لتتولى مهام الحراسة والقضاء والحكم. إضافة إلى ذلك، كانت الحكومة الكويتية حينئذٍ فقيرة وتعتمد بشكل كامل على الرسوم الجمركية المفروضة على التجار الأغنياء الذين أرادوا دعم دولتهم. لذلك كان من المستبعد أن يبرز حاكم مستبد من بيت آل صباح. وبقي هذ التصور صحيحًا أقلّه حتى عام 1896، عندما قام مبارك الصباح بقتل شقيقيْه الأكبر منه واغتصب الحكم، ما أثار أول حركة احتجاج سياسي مسجلة في تاريخ الكويت. لكن الاستبداد والقمع بلغا ذروتهما في عهد حفيده أحمد، الذي وصل إلى السلطة عام 1921، فرأينا للمرة الأولى القتل والتعذيب والسجن والاضطهاد لدوافع سياسية بحق المعارضين لنهج الحاكم.

جاء عبد الله خليفةً لأحمد، وبعد بضع سنوات من الاضطراب السياسي رضخ وقامت الكويت بانتخاب مجلسها التأسيسي لصياغة الدستور الأول في البلاد عام 1962. ومنذ ذلك الوقت تمتعت البلاد بديمقراطية جزئية وحرية تعبير ملحوظة نسبةً إلى الدول المجاورة لها. وفي الحقبة الدستورية شكّلت حركة قومية تقدمية كتلة المعارضة الأولى في البرلمان. وللحد الاستقطاب المتنامي لهذه الحركة، دعمت الحكومة المجموعات الإسلامية، واضعةً الإخوان المسلمين في طليعة الحياة السياسية.

منذ عام 2006 بلغ الفساد وانعدام الكفاءة مستويات غير مسبوقة في الكويت، ما دفع أطياف المجتمع كلها إلى الانخراط حركة معارضة، وحققت هذه الحركة نتائج غير مسبوقة في سنة 2011، فأزاحت رئيس الوزراء والخليفة المفترض للحكم من منصبه، كما أنعشت في الوقت نفسه الحركات القومية والشيوعية التي كانت قد شارفت على الانقراض، دعّمت الحركة الاشتراكية ذات الشعبية الكبيرة التي تعاني من ضعف التنظيم، وأعادت تنشيط الحركات الإسلامية المزدهرة. وتراجعت هذه الحركة منذ ذلك الحين ولكن مع ازدياد فساد الحكومة وعجزها لا شك بأن هذه الحركة ستعود وتزداد نشاطًا. ومن المنطقي طرح السؤال الآتي: ما هو الشكل الذي ستتخذه الحركة التالية، ومن سيقودها؟

للإجابة على هذين السؤالين، يجب وضع بعض الثوابت. أولًا تتألف الأغلبية الساحقة من الكويتيين من المسلمين وليس الإسلاميين. ثانيًا، يربط معظم الكويتييين الماضي المجيد للبلاد بالحركات التقدمية اليسارية في الستينات والسبعينات. وثالثًا، يشكل فرع "الإخوان المسلمين" في الكويت الحزب السياسي المنظم الوحيد الذي يحظى بعدد كبير من الأتباع. فالأحزاب الأخرى إما تفتقر إلى التنظيم والبنية وإما إلى العدد الكبير من المؤيدين. كما تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الموجة الأخيرة من الاحتجاجات السياسية لم يقدها الإسلاميون ولم يحرّضوا عليها، مع أنهم أدوا دورًا مهمًا في تأمين الحشود. وقد كانت أغلبية المحتجين، سواء من الإسلاميين أو من غيرهم، ذات خلفية قبلية وجذور سعودية، وهي أكثر عرضةً للتأثر بالتحرير الراهن الذي يفرضه النظام الملكي في المملكة المجاورة. مما يفسح المجال للحركات الليبرالية الناشئة للوصول إلى أعداد كبيرة من الشباب القبليين. كما سيخلّص انخفاض أسعار النفط شعوب الخليج من لعنة الثراء التي شلّتها لعقود.

تسبب الاستبداد والفساد بنشوء حركات المعارضة كلها، إلا أنه في تاريخ الكويت الذي يمتد على 264 عامًا لم تسعَ أي فصيلة أبدًا إلى الإطاحة بحُكم آل صباح. وحتى اليوم، يرغب حوالى عُشر الكويتيين فقط في الحصول على ديمقراطية حقيقية مع نظام ملكي دستوري يحافظ على مكانة الأسرة الحاكمة. ويُفضّل عُشرٌ آخر أن يعيش تحت الحكم الملكي المطلق، فيما تسعى الأغلبية المتبقية إلى درجات متنوعة من الإصلاح للنظام الحالي الذي سيحافظ نوعًا ما على الوضع الراهن. وممكن إرجاع أسباب ذلك إلى الثراء، والخوف من التغيير، وغياب النماذج الإيجابية عن الدول الديمقراطية في المنطقة.

إزاء هذه الخلفية، ما زال من الممكن أن تكون الأحزاب المستقبلية التي ستقود التغيير الاجتماعي السياسي ليبرالية وعلمانية، وليس إسلامية أو ملكية. فخسارة عائلة آل صباح للشعبية والدعم بين الكويتيين أمرٌ واقع، ويقلّص التخويف من "الإخوان" وتخلف السلفيين فرص الإسلاميين بقيادة المستقبل السياسي في البلاد على المدى الطويل. إلا أن الاستعداد على أرض الواقع يمنح "الإخوان" الفرصة الأكبر للاستفادة من التغيير الاجتماعي السياسي عند حدوثه. وعلى غرار أفريقيا الشمالية، ربما من المقدَّر للإسلاميين أن يكونوا البوابة التي تعبر منها الديمقراطية إلى الخليج. إذا بقيت الحركات السياسية المستقبلية "من دون تنظيم"، قد تعود إلى القيادة الإسلامية القبلية الأكثر تنظيمًا وألفةً التي تنافسها المجموعات اليسارية. ولا تحظى الأحزاب الليبرالية على غرار تلك المتواجدة بالغرب بفرصة حقيقية، إلّا إذا رعى الغرب المجموعات الأصغر ودعمها. الظروف سانحة لزرع بعض البذار الليبرالية السحرية في المنطقة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Prospects for Reform in Kuwait


Also available in العربية

If left 'unmanaged,' future political movements in Kuwait may fall back to the more familiar and well-organized tribal Islamist leadership rivaled by leftist groups.

A quick glance at the political history of Kuwait leads to one unmistakable conclusion: all political opposition movements have been triggered by tyranny and corruption, and they were never based on foreign affiliations or ideology. Al-Sabah have ruled since 1752, and yet tyranny was not introduced to Kuwaiti culture until 1896. The House of Sabah did not take power by force, but were rather chosen by the people as watchmen, judges, and rulers. Moreover, the Kuwaiti government at the time was poor and totally dependent on customs and tariffs levied on wealthy merchants who wanted to support their new nation. This made it unlikely that a tyrant would rise from the House of Sabah. That was true, at least, until 1896, when Mubarak al-Sabah killed his two elder siblings and usurped the throne, triggering the first recorded political protest in Kuwait's history. However, it was during the era of his grandson Ahmed, who came to power in 1921, that tyranny and oppression climaxed and we first saw politically motivated killings, torture, imprisonment, and persecution of political dissidents.

Ahmed was succeeded by Abdullah, who succumbed after a few years of political unrest, and Kuwait elected its founding council to draft the country's first constitution in 1962. Since then, the country has enjoyed partial democracy and significant freedom of expression relative to its neighbors. In the constitutional era, a progressive nationalist movement formed the first opposition bloc in the parliament. However, to counter this movement's growing appeal, the government supported Islamist groups, thrusting the Muslim Brotherhood into the forefront of political life.

Since 2006, corruption and incompetence have reached unparalleled levels in Kuwait, which stirred an opposition movement by all shades of society. The movement achieved unprecedented results in 2011, removing a sitting prime minister and a presumptive heir to the throne, and along the way revived the all but dead nationalists and communists, galvanized the popular yet unorganized socialists, and reenergized the thriving Islamists. The movement has since receded, but with the increased government corruption and incompetence it is bound to rekindle and gain momentum. However, it is fair to ask: what form will the next movement take, and who will lead it?

To answer these questions, we need to establish some underpinnings. First, the vast majority of Kuwaitis are Muslims but not Islamists. Second, most Kuwaitis associate the glorious past of the country with the progressive leftist movements of the 1960s and 1970s. Third, Kuwait's branch of the Muslim Brotherhood is the only organized political party with a substantial following. Other parties either lack organization and structure or have only a small number of subscribers. It's also worth noting that the last wave of political protests were neither led nor incited by Islamists, though they did play a significant role in providing crowds. And the majority of the protesters, Islamists or not, were of tribal background with roots in Saudi Arabia, and are more prone to be affected by the current monarchy-forced liberalization of the neighboring kingdom. This will grant emerging liberal movements greater access to larger numbers of tribal youths. In addition, low oil prices will rid the Gulf's populations of the curse of affluence, which has paralyzed them for decades.

All opposition movements have been triggered by tyranny and corruption, yet never throughout the 264-year history of Kuwait has any faction sought to overthrow the rule of al-Sabah. Even today, roughly only a tenth of Kuwaitis desire true democracy with a constitutional monarchy preserving the status of the ruling family. Another tenth prefer to live under absolute monarchy, while the remaining majority seek varying degrees of reform to the current system that would more or less preserve the status quo. This may be attributed to affluence, fear of change, and a lack of positive examples of democracies in the region.

Against this backdrop, it is still possible for future parties leading the sociopolitical change to be liberal and secular, and neither Islamist nor monarchist. It is a fact that the House of Sabah is losing its popularity and support among Kuwaitis, and the demonization of the Brotherhood and the outdatedness of Salafists diminish the Islamists' chances of leading the political future of the country in the long run. However, readiness on the ground puts the Brotherhood at an advantage to capitalize on the sociopolitical change when it happens. Perhaps, similar to North Africa, Islamists are destined to be the gate through which democracy makes its debut in the Gulf. If left "unmanaged," future political movements may fall back to the more familiar and more organized tribal Islamist leadership rivaled by leftist groups. Western-style liberal parties do not stand a chance, unless smaller groups are cultivated and supported by the West. The conditions are ripe to plant some magic liberal beans in the region.

Customize your RSS Feed