أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

هل يجب على الأكراد الاعتماد على حلفاء غير مؤكدين؟


متاح أيضاً في English

9 آذار/مارس 2018

كان لدى غالبية الأكراد أمل كبير في أن أكراد العراق وسوريا سيتمتعون بمستقبل سياسي أفضل بعد هزيمة تنظيم "داعش" في الموصل والرقة، حيث نجح الأكراد في منع الأكراد الإرهاب العالمي من الانتشار. ولم ينتظروا شيئًا في المقابل، بل أملوا في أن تُحترم حقوقهم الأساسية كأمّة. وقد أشيد بجهود قوات البشمركة و"وحدات حماية الشعب". وأمل كل كردي ولا يزال يأمل في ألّا يغدره المجتمع الدولي. فهل سيتم التخلي عن الأكراد بالرغم من كل كفاحهم ضد الإرهاب العالمي حتى يتمكن الناس من التنقل في المترو والرقص في حفلة موسيقية أو التمتع بمباراة كرة القدم في لندن وباريس وواشنطن أو ستوكهولم؟

ومع ذلك، أخشى أن يكون لدى الأكراد أسباب للخوف من حصول ذلك مرة أخرى. فبعد أربع سنوات من الحرب ضد "داعش"، لم يحقق الأكراد أحلامهم، بل يشعر كل كردي بقلق كبير الآن على أكراد سوريا لأن كارثة استفتاء إقليم كردستان لا تزال حاضرةً في أذهانهم. وإذا كان الأكراد لا يستطيعون الاعتماد على الدعم الخارجي، ربما ينبغي أن يعتمدوا أكثر على مغتربيهم للحصول على مشورة حكيمة في التعامل مع العديد من المعضلات الأجنبية والمحلية.

عاد بعض الخريجين والسياسيين والمثقفين الأكراد المندثرين في الشتات إلى إقليم كردستان بعد عام 1992 لأنهم رأوا إمكانيةً للمساعدة في بناء دولة كردية. ولكن عندما عادوا، بدأت الحقائق تنجلي. فإن وجودهم في "أرض المعركة " يختلف كليًا عن العمل من أجل كردستان من الخارج وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة إلى الصراعات التي قد يُحتمل حدوثها. واشتكى الكثيرون من هؤلاء المتطوعين من أنّ لا أحد أصغى إليهم أو أخذ بمشورتهم، وقرر قسم كبير منهم العودة.

إلا أنه اليوم، يدرك الجميع أن هناك حاجة إلى كل القوى الجيدة أن تمنع التحديات الحقيقية التي يواجهها الأكراد، وبخاصة الحرب التركية ضدهم في سوريا. وقد تكون كل من المعرفة والعلم المكتسب في الشتات مفيدًا جدًا في أجزاء كردستان المختلفة. ويمكن أن يسهما في بناء هياكل ديمقراطية أكثر عمقًا، وتحقيق حرية التعبير والمساواة ونظام قانوني مستقل بكل ما للكلمة من معنى. والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو ما إذا كانت القيادة الكردية الحالية (والمستقبلية) ستدرك أهمية الشتات وتستفيد منه بالكامل.

الحسابات الكردية العراقية على كل جبهة

ومما يؤسف له أن الأحداث الأخيرة ليست مشجعة جدا في هذا الصدد، حيث تجاهلت "حكومة إقليم كردستان" النصائح الخارجية وسارعت بإجراء استفتاءً بشأن الاستقلال في 25 سبتمبر/أيلول 2017.   لكن الفرحة لم تدم طويلًا. ففي 16 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول، استولى الجيش العراقي المدعوم من الميليشيا الشيعية العراقية وقوات مستشارين عسكريين إيرانيين على مدينة كركوك الغنية بالنفط. وقد أصيب الاكراد بالصدمة حين خسرت "حكومة إقليم كردستان" كل المناطق المتنازَع عليها التي استعادوها من "داعش" على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية. لقد عشت هذا النوع من الحزن مرتين في حياتي: في عام 1975 وفي عام 1991 عندما غُدر أكراد العراق من قبل إدارتين أمريكيتين مختلفتين.

فبعد الصدمة والحزن، طُرحت أسئلة كثيرة. كيف يمكن للرئيس مسعود بارزاني في إقليم كردستان أن يسيء الحكم على صعيد رأي المجتمعين الدولي والمحلي ودعمهما عندما قرر إجراء الاستفتاء؟ كيف كان بإمكانه، وبدون دعم من أي قوى عظمى مثل الولايات المتحدة، أن يتحدى الدول المجاورة مثل العراق وإيران وتركيا وسوريا؟

وقد كتب وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون رسالةً وديةً للغاية إلى الرئيس الكردي بارزاني عن الدولة الكردية المستقلة. وطالب تيلرسون "حكومة إقليم كردستان" بتأجيل الاستفتاء لمدة عام واحد فقط بسبب الحرب ضد "داعش". ومن المحتمل أن برزاني إمّا لم يقرأ أو أنه لم يفسر هذه الرسالة بالطريقة الصحيحة. وإذا كانت الولايات المتحدة غير مستعدة لدعم استفتاء الأكراد، كان ينبغي أن يأخذ بارزاني ذلك في عين الاعتبار.

وكان تقييم حكومة إقليم كردستان لتركيا ورئيسها رجب طيب أردوغان غير صحيح أيضًا. ولأسباب اقتصادية، ولتجنب الصراعات مع قوى دولية عدة، تظاهر أردوغان بأنه صديق للرئيس بارزاني ولـ “حكومة إقليم كردستان". فبعد محاولة الانقلاب العسكري في يوليو 2016، ألغى أردوغان معظم الحقوق الممنوحة للأكراد أو استرجعها في بداية رئاسته في عام 2002. إنّ العلاقة الأمريكية مع أردوغان – التي يعروها الجمود - لا تعني بالضرورة أن الولايات المتحدة ستخاطر بعلاقاتها مع تركيا، حليفة للناتو، ولا ترغب الولايات المتحدة في أن تضطر إلى الاختيار بين تركيا والأكراد.

وحتى العلاقات بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق لم يتم التفكير فيها مليًا من قبل الاكراد. فحقيقة أن بغداد هي دمية في أيدي آيات الله في طهران لا يعني أن الولايات المتحدة ستدعم الأكراد تلقائيًا في صراعهم مع بغداد. فشئنا أم أبينا، تملك الولايات المتحدة أجندةً خاصة بها وتريد أن يعاد انتخاب رئيس الوزراء العراقي الحالي حيدر العبادي في أبريل/نيسان 2018 لأن منافسه نوري المالكي يميل أكثر إلى تلبية رغبات إيران من العبادي. فكيف يمكن لسياسي شيعي عراقي الفوز في الانتخابات بعد أن كان قد قبل بدولة كردية مستقلة قبل أشهر قليلة؟

لم تكن أيضًا الاستعدادات المحلية جاهزة لإجراء الاستفتاء الكردي، وحتى في العاصمة السويدية ستوكهولم، حيث أعيش، كنت أسمع يوميًا أن الأعضاء الرئيسيين في "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" وحزب "كوران" (التغيير) لم يقدموا دعمهم الكامل للاستقلال الكردي. ولم يكن سرًا أن "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" قد عقد اجتماعات عدة مع ممثلين عراقيين وإيرانيين، وكانت النتيجة أن قوات البشمركة التابعة لـ “حزب الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" لم تطلق رصاصة ًواحدة في كركوك عندما وصلت الميليشيات الشيعية إلى هناك. وعندما رأيت قوات البشمركة الكردية تبكي خارج كركوك، فهمت أن حلم استقلال كردستان قد تم تأجيله.

ومن أهم تداعيات الاستفتاء الكردي أنه تم تقليص حجم إقليم كردستان بشكل كبير، وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة إلى الدخل الناشئ عن صادرات النفط. ويذكر أن ميزانية بغداد المخصصة للأكراد انخفضت إلى 12 في المئة، وتم منحها للمحافظات الكردية، وليس لحكومة كردستان الاتحادية. وما من إجماع يُذكر في إقليم كردستان. إذ تأتي مصالح الحزب قبل المصالح الوطنية. وبطبيعة الحال، في السياسة المفاجآت واردة. ولكنني أعتقد أن الأمر سيستغرق وقتًا طويلًا لكي يصبح أكراد العراق شركاء أقوياء في التفاوض مع بغداد. أولًا، يجب أن ينتهي كل من الفساد والمحسوبية في "حكومة إقليم كردستان". ثانيًا، يتعين على الحكومة بناء مؤسسات ديمقراطية وتطوير الديمقراطية بنظام متعدد الأحزاب والالتزام بالدستور.

التشابه مع موقف الأكراد في سوريا

وهناك مشاكل مماثلة، حيث كان للاعتماد المفرط وغير الجدير بالثقة على القوى الخارجية، اثاره السلبية على الأكراد في سوريا المجاورة اليوم. كما أن "حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي"، وهو أكبر وأقوى حزب، والذي يسيطر على جزء كبير من سوريا، لم يسمح له بعد بالمشاركة في محادثات السلام السورية في جنيف. والأسواء من ذلك، أزعجت النجاحات الكردية في سوريا أردوغان الذي يهدد الأكراد في سوريا كل يوم تقريبًا، حتى أنه شنّ عمليات عسكرية ضد "وحدات حماية الشعب" (الفرع العسكري لـ “حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي") في محافظة عفرين شمال سوريا. لكن ما يريده الأكراد في سوريا أكثر من أي شيء آخر هو اعتبارهم جهة سياسية فاعلة، وليس جنودًا في انتظار الأوامر فحسب. ومع ذلك، فإن المصير النهائي للأكراد في سوريا هو بين أيدي روسيا والولايات المتحدة، ولا يستطيع سواهما التوصل إلى اتفاق يسمح ببناء دولة فدرالية كردية في سوريا. وإذا أراد الأكراد في سوريا تأسيس دولة اتحادية أو أن يصبحوا دولةً مستقلة، يتعين عليهم بناء مؤسساتهم وإرساء الديمقراطية من خلال نظام متعدد الأحزاب. كما هو الحال في العراق.

التغيرات المنتظرة في إيران والمسألة الكردية

ومع ذلك، وعلى المدى الطويل، قد تقدم التغييرات في إيران بعض الأمل للأكراد هناك، وكذلك في العراق وسوريا المجاورين، حيث اندلعت احتجاجات ومظاهرات عدّة في كل مدينة وبلدة في إيران في ديسمبر/كانون الأول ويناير/كانون الثاني من هذا العام. ولم يحتج المتظاهرون على أسعار المواد الغذائية أو المشاكل الاقتصادية أو حقوق الإنسان الأساسية فحسب. فقد أظهروا علنًا كراهيتهم تجاه إدارة آية الله. كما طالبوا بإصلاح سياسي في إيران يقوم على نظام علماني. وقد خفتت الاحتجاجات في الوقت الحاضر ولكن قد تنشب مرةً أخرى بسبب الاستياء العارم.

فإذا أخذت السياسة المنحى العلماني، قد تتغير موازين القوى في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وبين المنافسة الشيعية السنية. وفي حال حصل هذا التغيير، سيُسرّ القادة السياسيين في إقليم كردستان والمناطق الكردية في سوريا، فضلًا عن سكانها. وإذا ضعفت إيران ستضعف العراق وسوريا أيضًا. وستزداد احتمالات استعادة كركوك والمناطق المتنازع عليها في كردستان العراق بشكل كبير. وقد يعني ذلك أيضًا أن الأكراد في سوريا سيصبحون قادرين على أن يكونوا دولة اتحادية من دون سفك الدماء. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا الأمل البعيد، الذي يعتمد على احتمالات هشة وبعيدة عن التغيير الجوهري داخل إيران، بمثابة شهادة على المصير المزعج جداً للأكراد في كلا من سوريا والعراق اليوم.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Must Kurds Still Count On Uncertain Allies?

Also available in العربية


The majority of Kurds had serious hopes that Kurds in Iraq and Syria would have a better political future when Islamic State was defeated in Mosul and Raqqa. Kurds had prevented the spread of global terrorism. They did not expect a gift, but they hoped that their basic rights as a nation would be respected. Will Kurds be abandoned, despite all they have done in the fight against global terrorism so that people can take the subway, dance at a concert or enjoy a football match in London, Paris, Washington or Stockholm?

I am afraid that Kurds have reasons to fear that yet again. After four years of war against IS, Kurds have not realized their dreams. Almost every Kurd is now worried about the Kurds in Syria because the disaster of last fall’s Kurdish independence referendum in Iraq is still fresh in their memory. If Kurds cannot count on outside support, perhaps they should rely more on their own expatriates for wise counsel in dealing with their many foreign and domestic dilemmas. 

Some graduates, politicians, and intellectuals in the Kurdish diaspora returned to Iraqi Kurdistan after autonomy was established there (under U.S. air cover) in 1992, seeing a possibility to help build a Kurdish state. But once there, realities kicked in. Being ‘on the ground’ is not the same thing as having worked for Kurdistan from the outside, so conflicts were perhaps bound to occur. Many of these diaspora volunteers complained that their advice was not heeded, and a number decided to leave.

Today though, there is a realization that all good forces are needed to counter the very real challenges that the Kurds are facing, not least the Turkish war against the Kurds in Syria. Knowledge and education gained in the diaspora could be very useful in different parts of Kurdistan. It could contribute to deeper democratic structures, more freedom of speech, equality and a truly independent legal system. The question is if the present (and future) Kurdish leadership will realize the importance of the diaspora and fully utilize it.

Iraqi Kurdish Miscalculations, on Every Front

Unfortunately, recent events are not very encouraging in this regard. Disregarding outside advice, the Kurdistan Regional Government in Iraq (KRG) held the Kurdish independence referendum on September 25, 2017However, the joy was short-lived when the Iraqi army, supported by Iraqi Shia-militia, and Iranian military advisers took over the oil-rich city of Kirkuk on October 16, 2017. The Kurds were shocked when the KRG lost all the so-called disputed areas that they had taken from the Islamic State. I have experienced this kind of sorrow twice in my life: in 1975 and in 1991 when Iraqi Kurds were betrayed by two different U.S. administrations.

After the shock and sorrow, many questions were raised. How could  KRG President Masoud Barzani misjudge international and domestic opinion and support? How could he - without support from superpowers like the U.S. - challenge the Kurds’ neighbors of Iraq, Iran, Turkey, and Syria?

U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson had written a friendly letter to Barzani asking the KRG to postpone the referendum for just one year because of the war against IS. Barzani did not read or he did not interpret this letter correctly. If the U.S. was not ready to support a Kurdish referendum, Barzani should have considered this fact.

The KRG's assessment of Turkey and its president, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, was also incorrect. For economic reasons, and to avoid conflicts with many international powers, Erdogan pretended to be a friend to Barzani and KRG. But after the July 2016 military coup-attempt, Erdogan rescinded most of the rights extended to the Kurds at the beginning of his rule in 2002. 

And the rocky American relationship with Erdogan does not mean that the U.S. would risk its relations with Turkey,  a NATO ally. The U.S. does not like to have to choose between Turkey and the Kurds.

Even the Kurdish analysis of relations between the U.S. and Iraq was not thought through. If Baghdad is a plaything in the hands of ayatollahs in Teheran, this does not mean the U.S. will automatically support Kurds in a conflict with Baghdad. The  U.S. has its own agenda and wants the present prime minister in Iraq, Haidar al Abadi, to be re-elected in May 2018 because his rival, Nouri al Maliki, is much more of an Iranian slave than Abadi. How could an Iraqi Shia-politician win an election after having accepted an independent Kurdish state?

The domestic preparations were also not adequate for the Kurdish referendum. Even in the Stockholm, where I live, I heard on a daily basis that key individuals in two major parties, the PUK and Goran, had not given their wholehearted support to Kurdish independence. The PUK had many meetings with Iraqi and Iranian representatives after the referendum. Then the PUK Peshmergas did not fire a single shot in Kirkuk when Shia-militia arrived there. When I saw other Kurdish Peshmerga crying outside of Kirkuk, I understood that the dream of an independent Kurdistan had been postponed.

As a result, the military in the  KRG has lost a lot of its good reputation the territory of the KRG has been reduced considerably, as has its income from oil exports. Baghdad’s budget for Kurds has been reduced to 12 percent and may be delivered to Kurdish provinces, not to a federal KRG. There is little consensus inside the KRG. Party interests still go before national interests.

Surprises do, of course, occur in politics, but I believe it will take a long time for Kurds in Iraq to become a strong partner in negotiating with Baghdad. First of all, corruption and nepotism in the KRG must end. Secondly, the KRG must build its institutions, develop democracy with a multi-party system and abide by the constitution.

Parallels with the Kurds in Syria

Similar troubles, along with equally heavy but unreliable dependence on outside powers, afflict the Kurds in neighboring Syria today. The PYD, the largest and strongest Kurdish party, which controls a large part of Syria, is still not allowed to participate in Syria peace talks in Geneva.

Worse yet, Kurdish successes in Syria have greatly annoyed Erdogan. He threatens Kurds in Syria almost every day and has begun a major military operation against the YPG (the military branch of the PYD) in the northwestern Syrian province of Afrin. What Kurds in Syria want more than anything else is to be regarded as a political player, not just foot soldiers waiting for orders. However, the fate of Kurds in Syria is in the hands of Russia and the U.S. Only these two superpowers can reach an agreement that would allow Kurdish federal states in Syria. In addition, at the internal level, if Kurds in Syria are to have a federal state, they must build their institutions and establish democracy with a multi-party-system -- as in Iraq.

Eventual changes in Iran and the Kurdish question

Nevertheless, in the longer term, changes in Iran might offer some hope for Kurds there, as well as in nearby Iraq and Syria. Many protests and demonstrations took place in almost every city and town in Iran last December and January. Protesters did not just protest food prices or economic problems or for basic human rights. They openly showed their hatred toward the ayatollahs’ regime.  They asked for political reform in Iran toward a secular system. Protests have diminished for the time being but may start again because dissatisfaction is so widespread.

A political change in a secular direction could alter the power balance throughout the Middle East and in the Shia - Sunni competition. A change in Iran would delight the political leadership in the KRG and in Kurdish parts in Syria, as well as their inhabitants. If Iran weakens, then Iraq and Syria will also weaken as states. Chances to take back Kirkuk and disputed areas in Iraqi Kurdistan would increase considerably. It may also mean that Kurds in Syria can have a federal state without spilling more blood. Yet this remote hope, based on fragile, distant prospects for fundamental change inside Iran, is testimony precisely to the very troubling near-term fate of the Kurds in both Syria and Iraq today.

Customize your RSS Feed